Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Keswick Hotels > The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels)

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Station Road , Keswick, CA12 4NQ
Only moments away from the bustling market town of Keswick, this elegant Victorian hotel stands proudly in 4 acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the Latrigg and Skiddaw mountains. The Keswick Country House Hotel prides itself of professional, yet friendly service. Dining in our beautiful Lonsdale restaurant is truly a memorable experience. Our talented chefs delight in preparing daily menus with the emphasis on flavoursome dishes using local produce when possible. Comfortable yet stylish accommodation is available in a selection of room types, with our lounge bar available for pre-dinner drinks, we aim to make your stay in the English Lake District a memorable one!
Picture of The Keswick Country House (Choice hotels), Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Country Retreat
Tasteful accommodation and courteous staff with elegant dining - silver service which is a treat these days.

Reviewed by
M W

From Wrexham, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Staff were friendly and helpful and efficient. Our stay was relaxing and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Brian Booth

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
This was an excellent hotel. The food was absolutely fantastic, more like 4* than 3. The grounds are beautiful, with views to die for.

Reviewed by
Cynthia Carroll

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff & food are good - owners not so good
The staff at the hotel are friendly, helpful and professional. Restaurant was very good - meals very tasty.
However we were disappointed with the room - the ceiling needed repairs, signs of dampness in walls. View from windows would have been beautiful but we couldn't see it properly because of mucky windows - I hasten to add that the insides of windows were clean so the cleaning staff were doing their job - however they were absolutely filthy on the outside.
Obviously the management are too tight to spend money on hiring window cleaners and on renovating the rooms.
The hotel was built in 19th century but should really be updated with air-con etc.
I've frequently stayed at guest houses with better amenities. If hotels insist on charging three times as much as a guest house the accomodation should justify the additional costs to the guests.

Reviewed by
Colin K

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dog Friendly lovely old Hotel in Keswick

Reviewed by
joan BOARDMAN

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

most enjoyable stay
Xcellent food friendly hardworking staff great location

Reviewed by
Joseph W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality and comfort
lovely relaxing hotel in magnificent setting

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience
Stayed on dinner, B&B bases in a superior room and found every aspect of our stay to be very good.

Reviewed by
James G

From Melrose, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a grand night away
The hotel was up to all expecations and food was spot on would return to stop
Here again .

Reviewed by
m brown

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional service
Even though we turned up a week early after a traumatic period in our lives the hotel - without quibble or question - managed to change our date for the same special offer price so that we could stay in one of their three remaining rooms on the night we had turned up!!! Exceptional service!

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From Appleby in Westmorland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next