No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - REX HOTEL

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Promenade , Whitley Bay, NE26 2RL
Located directly on the promenade overlooking the sea in the thriving town of Whitley Bay and just 20 minutes drive to Newcastle. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi, onsite parking, restaurant and bar.

The property is perfect for the young and young at heart, there has been a total overhaul of the
entertainment facilities which now include 3 of the most exciting and modern bars and a nightclub situated within the hotel, the nightclub is open
Thursday - Saturday plus Sundays on a Bank holiday weekend from 10:00PM - 3:00AM. Also centrally located for all of the town's amenities, makes this the ideal base for a break on the North East Coast.

Each bedroom is comfortably styled and furnished and designed with the convenience of the guest foremost in mind. Many bedrooms offer commanding
panoramic sea views and provide the ideal base to explore and enjoy the surrounding area.

The Restaurant offers the ideal place to have something to eat, with a varied menu offering something for every taste using the freshest
ingredients you will be able to enjoy a delicious meal whilst looking out at the wonderful seaview. Please note, the restaurant is now closed Sunday -
Thursday until further notice. Sunday lunch will still be available.

The seaside town of Whitley Bay has been popular with generations of visitors, the iconic St. Mary's Lighthouse which is now a visitor centre
stands on its own island and features a nature reserve and wetland habitat. Guests also visit from all over the UK to sample the nightlife and certainly don't leave disappointed. Newcastle and the wider area is made up of a diverse variety of towns, cities, coast and countryside offering a huge selection of things to do whatever your tastes. From relaxing at the coast to soaking up world-class culture in the city centres, from getting back in-touch with nature at a woodland retreat to shopping at Europe's largest indoor shopping and leisure complex, (Metrocentre). It's rare to find anywhere so diverse that amazes visitors at every turn with its dialogue
between ultra-modern and ancient, with award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture makes up a
destination like no other.

Please note the hotels lift is currently out of order for the next few weeks.
Picture of REX HOTEL, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap n cheerful
Nice reception staff- warm welcome at the Rex.

Reviewed by
Jane L

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Rex hotel is very dated, the lift was out of order so had to go up 3x flights of stairs to get to my room. The carpets throughout the hotel were thick of dust, mostly the stairs that looked like they hadn't been hovered in about 5 years. The corridor smell was awful, the radiator in my room had so much dust gathered I could barely see through the gaps and the bedroom light didn't work.
The lady on reception was lovely but she was the only nice thing about this hotel. Hotel from hell avoid like the plague.

Reviewed by
T Leatt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on arrival the hotel appeared to grand, which I think it was, back in the day
Carpets worn etc, in dire need of a refurb.room was very big, two double beds.
En suite had not been cleaned before we arrived.
Breakfast wasnt too bad but we were one of the later ones down,the table was covered in crumbs, half a pot of milk.

Reviewed by
r hansford

From romsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay nice hotel

Reviewed by
Russell M

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outdated. Shabby and overprice hotel prices for a b&b stay. Night club underneath noisy. Carpets theeadbare. Lift broken. £10 deposit required for TV remote!!! Would definitely avoid

Reviewed by
chantel mullen

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday in Whitley Bay
I remembered being at the Rex Hotel about 50 years ago at a dance - it was in much better shape then but still shows signs of former glory today. Definite signs of wear and tear over the years but it is clean; the room was spacious and comfortable. The Full English Breakfast was very good - the only cooked meal they serve and is included in the price ! The staff were very pleasant and helpful - making the overall experience a pleasure.

Reviewed by
James McCallum

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely clean sheets and towels nice friendly staff cosy homely feel

Reviewed by
j lane

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be a jewel
We stayed over in Witley Bay, on our way up to Scotland. It's quite a while since my last visit, and was dismayed at the way the resort has deteriorated in those years, compared with the neighbouring resorts.
The Rex Hotel reception staff were friendly, and helpful. The lobby area looked clean, and newly refurbished, as did the recreation, and dining areas. But once in the corridors, and stairways, although clean, the carpets were threadbare, and fitments looked tired and dated. The lift up to the upper floors, was most definitely tired, as it struggled to make the distance.
The bedroom, again needed decorating, with new fixtures, and fittings, although this is not to say that the room wasn't clean, it most definitely was. The En-suite bathroom was small, but well tiled, both floor, and walls, and it was nice to have the choice of shower, or bath.
We only stayed on a Bed & Breakfast option, and I must say, the breakfast certainly set us up for the day ahead.
I think that the hotel as a whole was good value for money, and with a little TLC, could become an excellent hotel. Unfortunately, the resort needs a little more than TLC, to bring some life back to Witley Bay.

Reviewed by
D Wild

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great couple of nights over the Whit Bank holiday. We were both delighted with the room which was enormous and had a huge bay window overlooking the sea. It would have been easy to sit there all day watching the waves but we enjoyed getting out and exploring the beautiful coast line.

Reviewed by
D Wright

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Good value for money room clean and tidy. great breakfast, would stay here again

Reviewed by
r barnes

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next