No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Masons Arms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
41 Lower Odcombe, Lower Odcombe, , Yeovil, BA22 8TX
My partner and I had been running pubs together for ten years as managers for various breweries before we found The Masons Arms. We instantly fell in love with the pub and knew we had to buy it. We were then overwhelmed by the welcome we received from the villagers who have helped us in so many ways since our arrival; from John, our unconventional vicar, who broadcast details of the opening night from the pulpit to Sheila, our local artist, who has allowed us to use her beautiful paintings of the pub; not to mention help with websites, posters, all matters chicken-related, and provision of local honey, fish and vegetables all from talented and generous customers/villagers. We now have 6 rooms, situated next to the garden and away from the road, not that there is much traffic in Odcombe! Our rooms have recently been refurbished to luxury standard: We believe that a pub should always be a pub not a restaurant and we therefore offer a blackboard menu with traditional favourites such as Ham, Egg and Chips and Sausage and Mash alongside a daily changing a la carte menu. Both choices are available to you wherever you decide to sit, either inside the pub or outside in the pretty garden (weather permitting!). We serve a sumptuous breakfast of cereals, patisseries, full English using local produce and freshly laid eggs (possibly by our own chickens) accompanied by juice, tea and coffee. It's a meal sure to set you up for your day. If your trip is for business or pleasure we are only minutes away from Yeovil which is served by two train stations and we are only 5 minutes from the A303. There is a wealth of things to do in the area including market towns such as Sherbourne, many National Trust properties, excellant walking and the beaches of the Jurassic coast are only 45 minutes away. You are assured of a warm welcome and we aim to ensure your stay with us is a memorable one that will make you want to come again!
Picture of The Masons Arms, Yeovil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thatched hiden gem
Great spot in small village. Good sized well finished rooms, a friendly hotel and country pub, good food. Cannot fault the place

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Very helpful staff. A great atmosphere in the pub where they brew their own beer. I enjoyed a couple of pints of "Roly Poly". The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable and it was nice to have cold water in the mini fridge.

Reviewed by
John Robertson

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find
Excellent accommodation, nice friendly pub,

Reviewed by
Ray Smalley

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Great place to stay. Super service. Friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Michelle M

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food, very welcoming pub, very cosy room. Excellent value for money. would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
caroline r

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and a lovely room

Reviewed by
Janet S

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just staying over night
Found this place when going to visit relatives in Yeovil. We had never been here before but had a lovely surprise. We had dinner on the evening we checked in. The food was first rate and the room was lovely, clean and comfortable with really nice bathroom and shower. Had breakfast the next morning prior to leaving which once again was first rate. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
T Foreman

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place and fantastic location
Having returned to the area for short trip this was always my first place to stay. Great location just outside Yeovil and fantastic food, great hosts and always helpful and friendly staff. Food is fantastic and all locally sourced. Has its own brewery too.

Reviewed by
Jon C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Masons Arms
Wifi is advertised as being available but it is very hit or miss in receiving a good signal.

Reviewed by
j woods

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall ambience
This is a lovely country pub with excellent accommodation,lovely comfy bed and luxury top end fixtures and fittings, altough these are a bit tired now. When we visited 4 years ago, the rooms had just been fitted. But we witnessed refurbishing in one of the rooms, which looked like a complete re-fit. The gentleman doing the work told us he was going right through the rest of the rroms, closing one room off at a time. Food is excellent and is all sourced locally. Beer is also brewed on site! Paula and Drew who own and run this pub are lovely friendly people.

Reviewed by
Derek B

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next