No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hundred House Hotel

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Bridgnorth Road Norton, Telford, TF11 9EE
The Hundred House Hotel is situated a short distance away from the worlds
famous Ironbridge, the Hundred House Hotel is central to all local
attractions. Just a short journey away from Telford, Wolverhampton and
Shrewsbury, the hotels location is ideal for the perfect getaway. The hotel
offers lavishly decorated bars with beamed ceilings and is oozing with
quirkiness from the moment of entry. With ten bedrooms all unique in
design, offering patchwork, lavender scented sheets and some even have a
velvet covered swing! The oldest part of the hotel is the 14th Century
half-timbered thatch barn, which was once used as a courthouse in medieval
times. The food has been awarded many a time and currently stands as a 2AA
rosette restaurant. The hotel also offers facilities to cater for
conferences and parties, large and small the hotel meets all your
requirements under one roof.

Each and every bedroom is unique in design with half testers, four poster,
period furniture and most even have the hotel's renowned velvet covered
swing! All rooms are en-suite and have every modern day amenity. All
bedrooms have an en suite bathroom, colour TV, direct dial telephone, clock
and radio alarm, tea and coffee making facility, iron and ironing board plus
full central heating. Superior rooms are larger and more sumptuously
furnished with period pieces, including some with half-tester beds and some
with the famous swings.

Stuart's food is widely recognised as being some of the most forward
thinking, and delicious in the area. As a food critic said recently it is
"fresh, local, seasonal and of good provenance. As well as growing a vast &
unusual array of herbs in Sylvia's Garden, the owners have spent many years
building relationships with suppliers of quality meat and vegetables in
Shropshire's fertile hills. They supply ultra sweet lamb, aged marbled beef,
free range Hereford ducks, traditional Gloucester Old Spot Pork, Bobbington
Wild Boar, Cox's apple juice, asparagus, summer fruits, pheasant, venison,
fish from Brixham etc. which makes dining in the restaurant a wonderful
occasion.

The world's first, internationally most famous, and locally largest iron
bridge is that which gives its name to the town of Iron Bridge in the south
of Telford and is the town's most famous feature. It was built across the
River Severn in 1779 by local ironmaster Abraham Darby III to demonstrate
the quality of the iron now produced by the process his grandfather invented
to smelt iron using coal rather than coke. Immediately, it was world-famous,
President Thomas Jefferson of the USA being one of the first to buy an
engraving of it!
Picture of Hundred House Hotel, Telford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely qwirky old hotel
Had a lovely stay. Staff were all very welcoming. Bar stocked the beers that my other half likes so he was happy! Booked a table in the restaurant on the evening, which was excellent. My only little criticism would be that I feel it is a little over priced. I booked for my other half's birthday as a special treat. Would normally be out of my price range.

Reviewed by
Patricia S

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very small.
The Hotel was good but it needs a little TLC. The room we had was very small and was not worth the £99 maybe £65 at a push. Shower flooded and the bed was much much too soft - one turns over the the other almost gets thrown out !
The service was very slow at the bars and we had a little problem with the language barrier (International Staff).
The wedding reception we were at was spot on. The food was second to none. Every course was lovely. The room it was held in was just right for the 55 guests.
Will go again for a meal, but they do need to give the place some TLC and replace the old mattresses....

Reviewed by
Phillip Robins

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

looked after very well. 100% would go back. staff very helpful and friendly and room was lovely

Reviewed by
L Elliott

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hundred House Hotel. A great and quirky place to stay.
We really liked this hotel and I would rate it as one of the best I have stayed in . Could not fault the friendly staff, or standard of room - which included a massive four poster bed, huge bath, provision of toiletries, hairdryer, extra bedding, tea and coffee including a cafetiere and other thoughtful supplies. The red velvet covered, rose adorned swing in the room was a great touch! The gardens of the hotel are also splendid and well worth a stroll through. We dined in the restaurant and enjoyed an excellent meal. Breakfast was lovely too. I would definitely recommend this hotel and am already planning another visit.

Reviewed by
A McQuillan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional Food
The chef deserves the awards he has won. We loved the flavours that were in each dish.
The "querky" reviews were justified and helped to make a stay really different in the best possible way. Walking round the gardens was also an experience we shall remember and tell others about.

Reviewed by
Richard Cain

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
Hotel itself is quirky and really lovely. Our room was very pretty . Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Gardens are really lovely both the herb and flower garden. Only a couple of negatives- firstly shower is over bath in what was our bedroom (Tarragon) Shower not really user friendly due to location of taps which resulted in me catching my leg on the taps and resulted in a large wound and bruise. Secondly I felt that the evening meal was very much overpriced and presentation did not reflect price. I frequently eat out at top quality restaurants and did not feel that the evening meal and choice of menu lived up to price and apparent reputation. However, breakfast was very good. All in all a relaxing few days, however I think presentation, choice of menu and price needs to be addressed.

Reviewed by
Sandra L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An experience,caused some hilarity afterwards.
Hotel reception area rather dark and hobbit-like. Room light and chintzy, but much too small for the overpowering high brass bed, idiosyncratic, but very difficult to get into for someone with little legs! Daunted after sliding off in the night, difficult to get in again, Victorian bed-steps would have helped. Easy chairs in room by contrast, were too low to get out of comfortably. Traffic noise . Difficult to discern step into bathroom because so very close to the bed.
Food was lovely, delicious and informal atmosphere suited us, but decor rather gloomy.
Restful, interesting garden, and herb garden.
Quirky, but found the room was not as convenient as expected from the description.

Reviewed by
Stephanie Dakin

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Hotel was brilliant room was quirky with a swing in the room but it worked, The staff couldn't ask for better very helpful nothing was'nt too much. The food was of a high standard and plenty of it.
All in all I would stay there again a good base to get around the area

Reviewed by
D Davies

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unusual, characterful, friendly, informal yet efficient, beautiful gardens, excellent food.
A lovely stay at a difficult time - we suffered a bereavement whilst here and the reception staff were quietly sympathetic and helpful. We would like to return at a happier time!

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded Expectations
I was a little nervous when I booked as the talk about this hotel was 'quirky' but once we arrived, yes, it was indeed quirky but we absolutely loved it!! The swing was a little extra touch to the room also!!

Reviewed by
Peter Wigglesworth

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next