No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Vine Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
7 Salter Street , Stafford, ST16 2JU
The Vine Hotel carries the accolade of being the oldest pub in Stafford. Located in the centre of the town, tucked down one of the many narrow side streets, the Vine offers a wealth of ‘olde worlde’ character to its guests. It is within walking distance of all the main attractions including the GatehouseTheatre, the Ancient High House and the Shire Hall Gallery. Our 27 rooms were refurbished in Spring 2008 to a high standard and have luxurious bedding, flatscreen digital TVs and free WiFi throughout.

Our pub has a traditional feel, with cosy corners, food served all day and a fantastic range of drinks from the bar. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and you are assured of a great stay whether for business or pleasure.
Picture of Vine Hotel by Marstons Inns, Stafford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vine Hotel Stafford
Hotel staff were very welcoming and very helpful. Rooms were spacious and shower was good. Soap dispenser in shower was empty and actual toilet space was a bit cramped.
Beer was superb and cheap (£2.75 a pint).

Reviewed by
Malcolm F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
My recent stay at the Vine hotel by Marstons Inns was a very pleasant experience. Our room was very well appointed and clean but staying in the summer month of July made this room a little warm the only way to expel the warm air was to open a window but the aircon fan outside made for a noisy night. Saying that the staff were friendly and the food was exceptional. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this fine establishment

Reviewed by
Darryl Healey

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel, Would Recommend.
Very nice and competitively priced. Would definitely choose this hotel again if I were to stay in the surrounding area in the future. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Nathan P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
For a short stay the accommodation is basic. Minor repairs could be made to curtains and loft hatch. Ensure staff replace empty soap dispensers.

Reviewed by
Julie L

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
This was a book somewhere quick at a cheap price hotel. Very average, nothing special, ok for the price, wouldn't go again

Reviewed by
Melanie T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in a small twin room that was clean and perfectly comfortable for a short stay. The staff were pleasant and we enjoyed the pub meal for supper (the light bite options were enough for us) and a good breakfast. It was good to be so close to the centre of town with free car parking and little noise even on a Saturday night. The only downside were the fire doors which closed noisily on the slow hinges outside our room - so we were safe but with sound!

Reviewed by
Joanna F

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive and poor quality
After paying 97 pounds I was expecting a charming pub and room - it was neither! The room was basic and furnished with 1980s style decor. The bed was poor quality. The floors creaked terribly with every step - and the same from the people above. Food was adequate. Not good value for money. Pointless complaining the lady in charge had only been there afew days.

Reviewed by
Tom C

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room hadent been hoovered,the bed was appalling didnt sleep all night have stayed in better travel lodges.complained the next morning,they said they had not had any complaints from other people staying in that room, they did knock off ten pounds.breakfast was ok asked if sausages were grilled or fried,as i cannot have any fat was told they were grilled,but when they arrived it had been deep fried.there was no toast and all the guests were told that there was no bread so thought that was not acceptable.would not stay there again

Reviewed by
Janine Robinson

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
In a good central location and a lovely old hotel, but in need of a facelift. On arrival on the Friday evening the heating in our part of the hotel was turned down and our room was cold. We asked Reception if this could be fixed and it was. The thermostat was turned down was the explanation. The next evening the same thing happened. You would think in December the heating would be on and you would not have to ask for it. On Sunday morning the Shower was not working. There was no hot water. Food was good. Overall it was disappointing

Reviewed by
R Bell

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stafford weekend stay
The hotel is right in the centre of town and with free parking it makes this hotel an ideal spot to stay if you want a central location. A lovely old fashioned type of pub and a warm welcome from the staff. The room was absolutely fine and nicely decorated and had all the facilities you would expect at a very reasonable price. If I was to come back to Stafford I would certainly stay at the Vine Hotel again

Reviewed by
R Unsworth

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next