Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Playhouse Hotels > Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
PICARDY PLACE , EDINBURGH, EH1 3JT
Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. . A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a free buffet breakfast and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower. You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas. It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station and the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre makes keeping in touch a breeze. The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a short stay
The hotel was very similar to the Holiday Inn Express in Cowgate in terms of room layout. We were 3 adults and the room was just big enough for us- not enough room for all of us to unpack but because we were only there 2 days it wasn't a big deal. The beds are adequate. The bathroom and the rest of the room were clean. Breakfast was a nice buffet including hot items such as eggs and sausage. The location was convenient to reach most places of interest on foot.
My only substantial complaint is that the stairs leading into the hotel make it very difficult to bring in and take out luggage. There was neither a ramp nor hotel personnel available to help.

Reviewed by
Laura A. B

From USA
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!

Reviewed by
Penelope C

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean good sized room and comfy beds also very good location

ManagementResponse

Dear k devlin, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of cleanliness, comfortable rooms and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Lera P IHGCare

Reviewed by
k devlin

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Arrived to very friendly staff with lots of information. Room had everything we needed, was clean and comfortable. Lovely hotel great location close to lots of interesting places. Breakfast was lovely too.. Overall a great hotel.

Reviewed by
L McGrattan

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
Stayed here with my two friends overnight. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious, the staff courteous and helpful and it is in an excellent location. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Clare C

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
lee hodgson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
Very happy with the price and service from the hotel staff. The room was warm and clean and better than we expected.

Reviewed by
Mark U

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Edinburgh short break
We were visiting Edinburgh for a two night break. We really enjoyed our stay and felt we were lucky to find such a good hotel, in a very nice central part of the city. The room was a good size, clean and you got a breakfast included. Its close to the Railway Station, the shops, the Playhouse theatre. There are plenty of places to go for an evening meal. Would definitely recommend as a place to stay, and use again.

Reviewed by
Edward K

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value business hotel
The hotel was clean and tidy and is in an excellent central location. Great value and perfect for short business trips.

Reviewed by
J Nicholls

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good central location
This is a well placed Edinburgh hotel, very convenient for the Playhouse and bus and rail stations. It is surprisingly quiet for a hotel on Leith Walk and even Saturday night was quiet.

ManagementResponse

Dear Anthony C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you liked our hotel facility and location. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs. Sincerely, Lera P IHGCare

Reviewed by
anthony c

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next