Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Playhouse Hotels > Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
PICARDY PLACE , EDINBURGH, EH1 3JT
Enjoy the best of Scottish hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre,a fully non-smoking hotel located 25 minutes from Edinburgh Airport. . A striking historic building in Edinburgh's Georgian New Town, Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is well placed for exploring the Scottish capital on foot. It's a leisurely walk to iconic Edinburgh Castle and the atmospheric Royal Mile. Enjoy a free buffet breakfast and relax in your comfortable Guest room with free wireless Internet and a refreshing power shower. You'll find plenty to do in the lively New Town. Indulge in some serious shopping on nearby Princes Street and watch big-name stars tread the boards at the Playhouse Theatre opposite Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. If you need inspiration, our friendly 24-hour Front Desk staff are full of ideas. It's a 5-minute walk to Waverley Train Station and the financial district around George Street and St. Andrew Square. Edinburgh International Conference Centre is just 5 minutes' drive from the hotel. Our 24-hour Business Centre makes keeping in touch a breeze. The comfortable booths and whisky selection in our stylish Lounge Bar welcomes you back to your home from home after a day's sightseeing. Children under 18 stay free with their parents, making Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre a good-value choice for family breaks.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, EDINBURGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh day away.
Staff extremely helpful and efficient.

Reviewed by
Freda F

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and central
Even though this hotel is central and across the street from the playhouse you don't hear a peep from outside and we were at the front of the building. Room is spacious and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back soon.

Reviewed by
K Marshall

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Very relaxing and enjoyable. Only fault was that there was poor TV reception.

Reviewed by
D Dingwall

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, comfy bed, great shower. Excellent place to stay if going to the Playhouse.
The hotel got a bit noisy when some foreign students returned to their rooms late at night. Hotel staff were contacted and they acted swiftly to quieten them down. All in all great hotel to stay at fairly central for shops and was the first/last stop for the tram. Would definitely book again. Thanks Late Rooms 😊

Reviewed by
H Dickie

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean rooms for an overnight stay bar is clean and modern with the prices ok for Edinburgh city
Breakfast is adequate with standard scrambled egg beans. And sausage on the hot section. Could be expanded slightly eg mushrooms plumb tomatoes . I would definitely go back as its good value for money

ManagementResponse

Dear A Wilson, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is our pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with the clean rooms and adequate breakfast. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
A Wilson

From Larkhall, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast was very busy , food very basic , staff running about .
Breakfast better layout of tables and sign about food and etc .

ManagementResponse

Dear M Cobb, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the breakfast service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
M Cobb

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not cheap but if you can afford it's worth it
Cracking hotel for hogmanay. Beds are huge, breakfast is awesome after a few ales the night before. Front of house staff were the best I have ever experienced.

Reviewed by
andrew pontin

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value!
£59 for a double room with breakfast made our visit across the road to the playhouse more enjoyable. Nice modern clean hotel!

Reviewed by
ANDREW R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
excellent location friendly reception by staff, room was spacious and clean.

Reviewed by
maurice h

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Great location ,really clean and reception staff
Really nice .only down side was breakfast :)
Their was not enough variety 😞but would stay
Here again 👍

Reviewed by
p gallagher

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next