No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Seafront,Torbay Road, Torquay, TQ2 6NT
The 4 star, Grand Hotel occupies pride of place on the Torbay seafront, commanding majestic views over the bay and out to sea. Since being purchased by the Richardson Group in 2001, it has undergone a sympathetic restoration that has exposed its magnificent Victorian and Art Deco architectural characteristics. Whatever the weather, the comfort and luxury of the Grand has something to offer everyone. For the more active, there is the Grand Leisure Suite with its 15m swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and sun shower as well as a multi-gym.
In the summer, there's the pleasure of an outdoor pool, complete with fountain, children's area and plenty of space in which to soak up the sun's rays from the comfort of a sun lounger.With friendly and welcoming staff Its the perfect place for families and those wishing to relax in the leisure club or beauty salon.
Picture of Grand Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed was a bit hard but that's probably just personal preference

Reviewed by
GARY B

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, good service. Would stay again
The Hotel location is just outside of the Town centre/harbour but close enough to access - pleasant10min walk. Perfect if you travel by train, as train station adjacent to Hotel. If driving, there is parking at the Hotel, but first come, first served so you may need to wait for a bay to become available.
We ate in the Brassiere the first night and the food was good and service excellent. Breakfast was also good.
I would definitely recommend a stay in this Hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed by
H Powell

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent atmosphere and friendly staff

Reviewed by
jon h

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel I have ever stayed in by far.
My stay was very relaxing and the hotel was beautiful and very clean. The staff including domestic staff were very friendly and polite. Most mornings if I passed staff waiting to get in the rooms, they said good morning and smiled, it was refreshing and made the whole experience very pleasing. I would love to go back and stay there again.

Reviewed by
donna p

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Location
Customer Service, Food, Choice of beer and Quality of Rooms were Extremely Good! Location Fantastic! The only thing that let the weekend down was the entertainment on the saturday night, which was more like a very bad karaoke singer than an Entertainer for a 4 Star Hotel! But I do believe that the original singer cancelled at the last minute!
The restaurant food was of excellent Quality and sensibly priced!

Reviewed by
Nigel Weaver

From Tenbury Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend away, hotel was out of this world with a lovely scenery and food was amazing

Reviewed by
E Hurley

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Trip
Excellent. The room was very warm, with poor outlook straight onto a brick wall. Unable to open the windows fully especially in the bathroom, this would not stay open at all. However, exceptionally hot weather and a fan was provided.

Reviewed by
A Wilson

From TAUNTON, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was a bit small
otherwise good value food;pool ,great

Reviewed by
paul woodheaD

From weston s mare, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
I actually stayed in two rooms after complaining about the cleanliness of the first room, and was immediately given an upgraded room. Larger, with front of hotel view and clean.
I cannot fault the restaurant and bar area, the evening meals with a £5 voucher for the 1881 restaurant was a bargain and the meals were exceptional with likewise service and well placed table (on my request). Only small comment was the dessert parfait was slightly hard but I was offered a replacement.
Overall great dining area but the accommodation area and gym/pool in need of updating and decor. Need to remove old information about beauty treatments no longer on site and maybe improve Broadband wireless quality.
Great location, walking distance of beach and marina, next to train station and ample parking.

Reviewed by
S Purmessur

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decor very dated, furniture tired, TV extinct, dusty and tea stains

Reviewed by
steve b

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next