No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Seafront,Torbay Road, Torquay, TQ2 6NT
The 4 star, Grand Hotel occupies pride of place on the Torbay seafront, commanding majestic views over the bay and out to sea. Since being purchased by the Richardson Group in 2001, it has undergone a sympathetic restoration that has exposed its magnificent Victorian and Art Deco architectural characteristics. Whatever the weather, the comfort and luxury of the Grand has something to offer everyone. For the more active, there is the Grand Leisure Suite with its 15m swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and sun shower as well as a multi-gym.
In the summer, there's the pleasure of an outdoor pool, complete with fountain, children's area and plenty of space in which to soak up the sun's rays from the comfort of a sun lounger.With friendly and welcoming staff Its the perfect place for families and those wishing to relax in the leisure club or beauty salon.
Picture of Grand Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Good room & good leisure facities - particualry the pool. Room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Reception staff very good. The bar did not have the many of the beers that were shown on the pumps which was a dissapointment and the bar meal I ordered was very average. I was offered sauces to accompany the meal and requested mayonaisse however it never turned up so I was left with a dry burger and chips.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful Room
I booked this hotel as I had a very important meeting at 9am and live in South Wales. Unfortunately I would have been better off staying home and travelling to Torquay a 6am. The room was small and not worth £90. The bed was so uncomfortable that I only managed one hours sleep! I can't stress how uncomfortable it was!! The room number number was 120, it was above the hotel's garage and had lorries delivering through the night, it was next to the main road and opposite the train station. As for the hotel, it was average. If you were considering a romantic break however, it suits an older age group. If you are under 50 then you really stand out (I'm 31).

Reviewed by
L Morgan

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware of Room 130
We have stayed at the Grand on 2 occasions previously without a problem. This time our stay was for 1 night only, we were allocated room 130.
The room is an irregular shape, smallish with inward views of what appears to be an enclosed area in the center of the Hotel. If you look upward you can just see the sky. The view was awful and the area outside the window was dirty.
At night the room was hot, a Fan was available in the room and the Shower was very small. The carpet was dirty in the corners and there were old, rough, brown Blankets on the bed.
We thought the Hotel must be full for them to allocate this room and as we were staying for 1 night only we didn't complaint but we should have because we found that the Hotel wasn't full and to allocate that room when there were others available was not acceptable. We were told the room had been partially refurbished but we couldn't see any evidence of refurbishment. If it has been refurbished it must have been very bad before.
On a brighter note customer service was good, reception staff were helpful when we asked about places to eat out and the Breakfast was also good.
If you stay at the Grand beware of Room 130

Reviewed by
John F

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
4 star hotel , amenities second to none , room clean and spacious , excellent value for money .
staff go out of there way to be helpful.

Reviewed by
leighton j

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel - love it !
The staff could not of been more friendly, probably the best service I have had in the past ten years staying in hotels. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and warm and the bed extremely comfortable, all this made up for the fact that the room was a bit dated but an absolutely lovely stay and I have booked to stay again next time I am in the area.

Reviewed by
Deborah Jones

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom cleanliness
bath tiles need cleaning and around bath

Reviewed by
john a

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel is as its name suggests very grand. The actual hotel and its staff are excellent, but it is greatly let down by the quality of the room my husband and i stayed in. We were in room 120 which appeared to be directly below the delivery point. We were awakened at what seemed to be every hour by an assortment of delivery vans, doors slamming, shutters being closed noisily and refrigerator vans being left outside with the motor running. The actual room, though clean was clearly in need of redecoration, being a very drab beige colour. As the saying goes, the devil is in the detail, although the bed linen was clean, there were stains on the bedspread. The wallpaper had scuff marks over it and the upholstery on one of the chairs was in need of repair. A request to reception to see if there were any other rooms available (as we kind of needed to sleep at some point) resulted in our being shown a room which was even more depressing than the one we had.
On the plus side though the hotel foyer, dining room and conference rooms were quite impressive and without exception the staff were courteous and helpful. So overall - 4 star hotel, 2 star rooms!

Reviewed by
L Watts

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place for almost everyone
The photo was nicer on the website, on the web i will give it 5*,
In reality is 4*
Still had a fab time and i will go back again.

Reviewed by
Adele M

From Purley, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In Wales we have a top class Hotel called Celtic Manor The Grand is the Celtic Manor of Torquay
Only stayed for the one night but having stayed in many top hotels I would say this must be the best Hotel In Torquay.

Reviewed by
R MAYERS

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All you need
Offers what one fundamentally needs, together with friendly service and very relaxing ambience. It is always my first choice in Torquay.

Reviewed by
J Williams

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next