No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Briery Wood Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ambleside Road , Windermere, LA23 1ES
Located within the heart of the English Lake District, Briery Wood Country House Hotel offers the ideal location to explore this area of Cumbria's National Park. It is the perfect place to simply relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by dramatic landscape of lakes, fells, valleys and coastline.

Situated on the A591 between Windermere and Ambleside, the hotel sits near the East shores of Lake Windermere, Britain’s largest inland body of water, and is set in 7 acres of secluded gardens and woodland.

The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and provides dinner, bed and breakfast, serving good food and has a fully licenced bar. The hotel is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies and receptions, and has conference facilities, and is also open during the Christmas and New Year holidays.

The location of the hotel provides easy access to the charming villages of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside, all of which have an excellent selection of places to eat.

Briery Wood often has late availability with special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year.
Picture of Windermere Briery Wood Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night stay.
We booked in for a night here and would have stayed for another one but the hotel was full the next day with a conference. Our room was fine. Very clean. Bathroom was modern but quite small. Our room overlooked part of the gardens. I think it was room 8. It was on the ground floor. Staff were very obliging. The room would benefit from having a larger television. Breakfast was ok but not a great deal of choices. Public area carpet needs replacing - threadbare in places. Overall this hotel is in the middle range of hotel accommodation in the Lakes. We paid £100 for a double room with breakfast. The Lakes are notoriously expensive in peak times so this was quite a bargain. Pleasant hotel with nice grounds and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely overnight family stay in Ambleside
Unpretentious, lovely old house and we had a very comfortable room. Staff efficient and friendly. Hotel manager very kindly accommodated our request to change room. Great breakfast although only served between 8.30-9.30 which may be a problem if you wanted an early start. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
Karen P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel close to lakes
Freindly staff and very nice rooms, neat modern en-suite and the quiteness of my garden room made for a relaxing stay. Food was very good and nicely presented. All in all a very pleasent hotel.

Reviewed by
Nick Critchley

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant location
Hotel just on edge of lake Windermere. Beautiful location, friendly staff & excellent breakfast . Just didn't get staying long enough.

Reviewed by
B Gray

From Draperstown , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Asked for a buffet breakfast to be left out for me as I had a 5am start the next day, and was disappointed to find just fruit juice, yoghurts and cereal. had expected at least a croissant to get me going for my morning shoot!

Reviewed by
Carole D

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Hotel
Booked this Country House Hotel as a last minut bank holiday one night away break for me and my partner, very nice hotel in a good location easy to find. Room was cleaned to a good standard and staff helpful on arrival and departure. Plenty of parking and stunning grounds which are well maintained. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
victoria S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had our wedding reception there in 2006 and the place is still wonderful

Reviewed by
kate lenton

From Carnforth, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A happy new year
Looked after really well by outstanding staff team. Even down to giving us a lift to their sister hotel for New Year's Eve celebration. Thanks everyone.

Reviewed by
M Chambers

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakes at a favourable price
Unfortunately the satnav could not locate the Hotel even after several inputs
Hotel was excellent value for money although the Bar did not stock my wife's tipple Martini Rosso
The shower in the room was unless hardly no water pressure at all
The reasons above are why the Hotel scored 5 instead of 6 but never-the-less we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
James Francis

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very understanding, when my dad was taken ill and I had to leave a day early.

Reviewed by
r bryant

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next