Reviews - Windermere Briery Wood Hotel


Ambleside Road, Windermere, LA23 1ES

Price From 209.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (20)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Flannery

  • September 2015

Superb September stay

We had a lovely stay at Briery Wood, Windermere.

We received a very warm welcome from the lady on reception, She was very friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room which was very clean. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast which was delicious. We stayed in for the evening meal and the young girls working behind the bar and in the restaurant were superb. However, we were disappointed with the evening meal as we did not get served until 1 hour after it was booked and I thought it was very expensive for what we had.

  • Paul D

  • September 2015

Stop over at Briery Wood

A lovely hotel stayed in room 21 to the side of the hotel very large bed.

Spacious room, tea & coffee,

furniture was a bit dated but very clean & tidy. Some of the carpets around the hotel were a little worn.

But the discounted price was brilliant!!

  • M Haris

  • September 2015


Lovely place to stay with welcoming staff .

Finding the hotel was a bit hard as the post code takes you to wrong location. The bed provided was not a one piece double bed but instead two single beds were put together which was not comfortable for a couple.

  • John M

  • August 2015

Just Back

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • k cook

  • August 2015

top break

good location only about 1 and half mile walk to amble

nice hotel friendly staff and hotel grounds very nice

  • Valerie G

  • August 2015

Short break in lake district

An enjoyable stay at Briery Wood.

We were made to feel very welcome. Thank you.

  • vince s

  • July 2015

Bizarre morning behaviour.

The hotel, the room and the location are very, very good.

However, for £140.00 per room - despite being in the Lakes, but not a guest house price, I would have expected longer than an hour on a Sunday morning for breakfast. this was clearly a problem to the hotel as everyone appeared together, and we were left waiting after the close of breakfast for our hot plate, along with other tables.

Also our bedding was changed for the next guests whilst we were at breakfast. Bizarre. With over an hour to check out are we then meant to stand up until checkout. In reality, at a weekend, I imagine a good number of guests will want a further lie down and the next guests in will get less than pristine linen.

No notice in the room to tell us about this, just a small note in the information sheet, and how many people read that. Again for the price paid, I would expect staff to keep out of the room until after we had checked out. I have never experienced that before in the many hotels I stay in. but to repeat, lovely hotel overall with friendly attentive staff.

  • Julie Carpenter

  • July 2015

Windermere Briery Wood Hotel


  • H Parkes

  • March 2015

Excellent break!

Having stayed before at both sister hotels I was not disappointed with the Briery wood hotel, personally greeted on arrival, reservation card as I walked into reception without having to introduce myself.

Shown to lovely double bedroom although single occupancy booked with views over the pretty garden. Spotlessly clean nice toiletries and huge white towels. Breakfast was a good choice and very nice. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive without being overbearing, exceptionally good value and a lovely break.

  • Lee N

  • January 2015

Windermere Briery Wood Hotel

Windermere Briery Wood Hotel.