No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Briery Wood Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ambleside Road , Windermere, LA23 1ES
Located within the heart of the English Lake District, Briery Wood Country House Hotel offers the ideal location to explore this area of Cumbria's National Park. It is the perfect place to simply relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by dramatic landscape of lakes, fells, valleys and coastline.

Situated on the A591 between Windermere and Ambleside, the hotel sits near the East shores of Lake Windermere, Britain’s largest inland body of water, and is set in 7 acres of secluded gardens and woodland.

The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and provides dinner, bed and breakfast, serving good food and has a fully licenced bar. The hotel is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies and receptions, and has conference facilities, and is also open during the Christmas and New Year holidays.

The location of the hotel provides easy access to the charming villages of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside, all of which have an excellent selection of places to eat.

Briery Wood often has late availability with special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year.
Picture of Windermere Briery Wood Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful hotel and surroundingd let down by cold showers

Reviewed by
P Stanaway

From Whitehaven, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
We had a wonderful stay. On arrival there was a warm friendly welcome with an explanation of arrangements within the hotel. The room was clean and welcoming with tea/coffee and biscuits at our disposal. It was pleasant to sit out with our coffee, on the patio of our room, in the peace and quiet of the grounds, Breakfast was well presented and served by very pleasant staff. We could not fault the staff or hotel in any way and hope to return.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words of the Briery Wood Hotel and for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the breakfast, which I have to agree is delicious and sets you up for the day! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Rachel Connolly Front of House Staff

Reviewed by
M Hudson

From Lairg, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation. Staff extremely courteous and helpful. Room very spacious with welcoming door to garden area.
Breakfast was one of the finest I have ever had whilst travelling, woul ddefinately stay again if in the area

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are thrilled with the comments we received. All the staff here work very hard to maintain our high standard of service. Our gardener ensures all of our 7 aches of gardens are kept in top condition for our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Rachel Connolly Front of House Staff

Reviewed by
Anthony Gledhill

From Todmorden, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff. clean, nice food. located in a nice area. we loved it. Thanks to all staff

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Mirfield, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel lived up to all the reviews I had read before I went. The only reason I didn't give the accomodation top marks was that for the price paid thought there would have been four beds not bed settee and put u up. Otherwise staff were excellent, hotel was clean and well presented and we had a great time on our short break.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at the hotel. All our family rooms have either sofa beds or a fold away bed. All have a proper sprung mattress and for £10 per child per night to include breakfast we do feel it is good value. We hope to see you return to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Roger Benson Hotel Manager.

Reviewed by
C Dawson

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
I've stayed before & this stay was better than the last! My room was much larger & the bathroom was great. Will definitely stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do read all peoples comments and take on board your feedback. With regards to mobile reception unfortunately that is out of our hands as it is down to the local planning board not allowing masts to be erected in the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Roger Benson. Hotel Manager.

Reviewed by
Yvonne W

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Great place, very quiet, nothing too much trouble

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Roger Benson. Hotel Manager.

Reviewed by
Chris Hughes

From Gateshead, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 2012
Welcoming staff. Room was spacious, comfortable & clean. Breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Roger Benson. Hotel Manager.

Reviewed by
g eccles

From Bury, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and welcome stay and a great location to explore the Lakes
We had an enjoyable 2-night break at this lovely country house hotel. The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. The family room for 2 adults and 2 children was very large and consisted of a large king size bed and 2 single foldable beds for our kids. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and decor was in keeping with the traditional country house style. Breakfast was delicious and consisted of croissants, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, full english (served fresh to order), toast etc. Tables in the breakfast room were reserved for each family/group staying in the hotel, it was lovely to join the rest of our family for breakfast around our own table of 8 (nice touch). It was great not to have to wait for a table to become available as we've had to do so many times before in larger chain hotels. Breakfast was served 0830-0930 hrs, which I think is a narrow time frame, I think this should be changed to 0730-1000 hrs to cater for early and late risers. We didn't dine in the hotel for dinner so I cannot comment on this. The hotel is in a great location between Ambleside and Windermere and very central to explore all areas of the Lakes. If you have kids I would definitely recommend the Tree Top Trek arial woodland challenge at Brockhole Visitor's Centre, 5-10 mins walk from the hotel, it's very similar to Go Ape, our kids loved it! I would definitely stay at Briery Wood Hotel again it was a very pleasant break.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your comments on the hotel. The staff do read the reviews from our guests and take on board any comments. We glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Roger Benson. Hotel Manager.

Reviewed by
Tracey K

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing break
Had a lovely relaxing stay here recently. As a lone traveller I appreciated being made to feel very welcome by staff and was looked after very well. I enjoyed a meal in the hotel restaurant on the first night but found it a little too expensive to eat there on both nights (£17.95 for a 1 course meal). Found the choice of lounges both cosy and comfortable and felt able to sit and read at any time of day. The hotel was situated midway between Ambleside and Windermere so made for a perfect base for sightseeing. The room was a good size for a single person and the double bed a definite bonus and incredibly comfortable. However, the windows didn't close completely which meant the noise made by the sheep close by was very noticeable in the early hours of the morning. My only other minor disappointment was the inability to use my mobile phone in the room as there was no service and despite having free WiFi in the lounges found reception unreliable. Overall I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely return again.

Reviewed by
Jayne W

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4