No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Briery Wood Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ambleside Road , Windermere, LA23 1ES
Located within the heart of the English Lake District, Briery Wood Country House Hotel offers the ideal location to explore this area of Cumbria's National Park. It is the perfect place to simply relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by dramatic landscape of lakes, fells, valleys and coastline.

Situated on the A591 between Windermere and Ambleside, the hotel sits near the East shores of Lake Windermere, Britain’s largest inland body of water, and is set in 7 acres of secluded gardens and woodland.

The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and provides dinner, bed and breakfast, serving good food and has a fully licenced bar. The hotel is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies and receptions, and has conference facilities, and is also open during the Christmas and New Year holidays.

The location of the hotel provides easy access to the charming villages of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside, all of which have an excellent selection of places to eat.

Briery Wood often has late availability with special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year.
Picture of Windermere Briery Wood Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Fantastic hotel, Alex Polizzi the hotel inspector would struggle to pick fault with this hotel.
All brilliant.

Reviewed by
Carl Seal

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel...
This is a handy stopover in the Lake district and I have stayed here many times before. Always good value and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Yvonne W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
What an excellent hotel close to Lake Windermere. Staff could not have been more friendly. Food excellent and a good choice of local bottled ales. Sam my black labrador was made especially welcome.

Reviewed by
Iain M

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable place to stay
this was an excellent comfortable hotel,we all enjoyed.enjoyable place to stay.

Reviewed by
f barlow

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, comfortable beds and a great place for a weekend break
We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding at its sister hotel just down the road. The staff let us check in earlier than the 2pm check-in time which was great so we could get ready for the wedding. So a massive thumbs up for the customer service. The rooms were decent with big comfortable beds. All in all, it was great value for the price. It's location is also great within walking distance of the lake. The only downside is that the taxi company the hotel uses seems to be rather pricey (though I have no other taxi company in the area to compare it to). A 2 minute drive to its sister hotel Cragwood Country Hotel cost £6 whilst the return leg cost £9!

Reviewed by
J Chan

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
My room was excellent and the breakfast was too.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel with nice grounds and a enjoyable stay.
as above -only one note that the hotel carpets were quite worn and in need of replacement

Reviewed by
graham smith

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for young family
We had an amazing stay at the Briery Wood Hotel. Had a large lovely room with large ensuite bathroom. DInner tin the restaurant was delicious 3 course meals with excellent service- catered easily to our baby's needs.

Reviewed by
Stacey R

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3