No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Briery Wood Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ambleside Road , Windermere, LA23 1ES
Located within the heart of the English Lake District, Briery Wood Country House Hotel offers the ideal location to explore this area of Cumbria's National Park. It is the perfect place to simply relax and enjoy a country house atmosphere with all the comforts of home, while surrounded by dramatic landscape of lakes, fells, valleys and coastline.

Situated on the A591 between Windermere and Ambleside, the hotel sits near the East shores of Lake Windermere, Britain’s largest inland body of water, and is set in 7 acres of secluded gardens and woodland.

The hotel offers comfortable accommodation and provides dinner, bed and breakfast, serving good food and has a fully licenced bar. The hotel is also licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies and receptions, and has conference facilities, and is also open during the Christmas and New Year holidays.

The location of the hotel provides easy access to the charming villages of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside, all of which have an excellent selection of places to eat.

Briery Wood often has late availability with special deals and midweek breaks throughout the year.
Picture of Windermere Briery Wood Hotel, Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very understanding, when my dad was taken ill and I had to leave a day early.

Reviewed by
r bryant

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional and very pleasing.
This hotel has all the luxury's of a country house, sumptuous sofa's and lounges with cosy firesides.
The meals were superb, the service very good and the staff friendly and helpful. One point of excellence was the cleaning of the room which was carried out during breakfast. Will certainly visit again.

Reviewed by
John M

From Tyne and Wear, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice, our bedroom was beautiful and food was good.
Just as a constructive criticism, the downstairs area could do with a bit more character, I found it a bit bland and I thought it would benefit from some redecorating.

Reviewed by
L Ash

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice relaxed stay !
A beautiful hotel set in it's own grounds & lake Windermere just across the road, made for a totally relaxing stay. The room was clean & the en-suite nice, with piping hot water for a nice bath & a powerful shower to wake & refresh one in the morning ! The breakfast was nice & the service was good, with a relaxed feel to the start of you're day. Also a nice touch was morning papers being made available for the guest who likes a read at the breakfast table. All in all, I would go back to the Briery Wood hotel & will recommend it to family & friends for a relaxing break etc.

Reviewed by
A HESMONDHALGH

From PRESTON, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast was late if you wished to leave early if you where going walking for the day as breakfast was served at 08:30 until 09:30 but id only looking in to windermere or ambleside was not a problem has most shops did not open until after 10am

Reviewed by
B Blakelock

From Wingate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greta experience
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the staff were so helpful.

Reviewed by
D Hillyard

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room perfect for a couple of one active DOG who like us was made very welcome by all the staff we met at the Hotel. A comfortable hotel in a good location.
.

Reviewed by
Robert Hadfield

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfy and great location
Lovely grounds and very comfortable, roomy family room with double bed, proper single bed and bed settee and still plenty of room. Nice ensuite with jacuzzi bath and shower. Yes, the hotel is quite dated as rather like an old people's home, but it is not at all shabby just out of date. It is clean and set in fabulous grounds in an excellent location. We have stayed in several hotels and b&bs in the Lakes and this is the only one hate would return to.

Reviewed by
J Larkin

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place shame about some of the staff
Fantastic little hotel. Great Location. Free parking and Wifi. Food was brilliant and the room was spotless. Only let down was the member of staff who 'greeted me'! Looked down his nose at me upon arrival, I can only assume that he owned the hotel as his contempt for me, when I asked if I could get a packed lunch instead of breakfast (as I would be leaving early in the morning), was nothing short of disgraceful. Needless to say, there was no packed lunch for me in the morning! No apology and no discount for not having breakfast. No hesitation in recommending the hotel and if I stay there again I will give that young gentleman a wide birth.

Reviewed by
Nik B

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible value for money
I am not a one for complaining of a service usually, and can always give people the benefit of the doubt, but in this circumstance our experience was terrible. From the moment we checked in to our room I was disappointed. My brother and his wife were staying in the same hotel and their room was to a different standard altogether. Our shower was very temperamental: The water spurted out the shower-head and there was no constant flow. In addition the temperature fluctuated between scalding hot and freezing cold and very rarely had a stable temperature. The cleaning staff were disgraceful in the mornings and it is not an exaggeration to say they were screaming outside our room early in the morning making it impossible to get back to sleep after been awaken. We did flag this up with some hotel staff but nothing was actioned. To add insult to injury, when i checked out i found some drinks had been added to my bill from another hotel, when I wasn't aware this could be done. Overall, I was expecting a far better service and standard of room. I look forward to your response. Kyle

Reviewed by
Kyle Clarkson

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next