Reviews - Windermere Briery Wood Hotel


Ambleside Road, Windermere, LA23 1ES

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (19)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Joan K

  • September 2014

Lovely hotel in well kept gardens.

We had a room looking down to the lake, good size with jacuzzi bath, everything we could have wished for. All the staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble. Dinner and Breakfast superb. Will definately be back.

  • Barbara C

  • July 2014

A one night stay.

We booked in for a night here and would have stayed for another one but the hotel was full the next day with a conference.

Our room was fine. Very clean. Bathroom was modern but quite small. Our room overlooked part of the gardens. I think it was room 8. It was on the ground floor. Staff were very obliging. The room would benefit from having a larger television. Breakfast was ok but not a great deal of choices. Public area carpet needs replacing - threadbare in places. Overall this hotel is in the middle range of hotel accommodation in the Lakes. We paid £100 for a double room with breakfast. The Lakes are notoriously expensive in peak times so this was quite a bargain. Pleasant hotel with nice grounds and helpful staff.

  • Karen P

  • July 2014

Lovely overnight family stay in Ambleside

Unpretentious, lovely old house and we had a very comfortable room.

Staff efficient and friendly. Hotel manager very kindly accommodated our request to change room. Great breakfast although only served between 8.30-9.30 which may be a problem if you wanted an early start. Would definitely visit again.

  • Nick Critchley

  • July 2014

Excellent hotel close to lakes

Freindly staff and very nice rooms, neat modern en-suite and the quiteness of my garden room made for a relaxing stay.

Food was very good and nicely presented. All in all a very pleasent hotel.

  • B Gray

  • June 2014

Brillant location

Hotel just on edge of lake Windermere.

Beautiful location, friendly staff & excellent breakfast . Just didn't get staying long enough.

  • Carole D

  • May 2014

Asked for a buffet breakfast to be left out for me as I had a 5am start the next day, and was disappointed to find just fruit juice, yoghurts and cereal.

had expected at least a croissant to get me going for my morning shoot!

  • victoria S

  • May 2014

Very Nice Hotel

Booked this Country House Hotel as a last minut bank holiday one night away break for me and my partner, very nice hotel in a good location easy to find.

Room was cleaned to a good standard and staff helpful on arrival and departure. Plenty of parking and stunning grounds which are well maintained. Would recommend.

  • kate lenton

  • April 2014

Had our wedding reception there in 2006 and the place is still wonderful

  • M Chambers

  • January 2014

A happy new year

Looked after really well by outstanding staff team.

Even down to giving us a lift to their sister hotel for New Year's Eve celebration. Thanks everyone.