No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queen's Head

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Townhead , Troutbeck, LA23 1PW
The Queen's Head Hotel is an historic 17th Century Coaching Inn, situated in the heart of Troutbeck Valley, just 3 miles from the shores of Lake Windermere.
Stunning solid oak beams, stone flag floors and roaring log fires provide a cosy and traditional welcome, with an Elizabethan four poster bar,
deriving from one of the bedroom's at nearby Appleby Castle, one of the Inn's many unique features.
Each en-suite bedroom has been comfortably furnished and comprises flat screen TV with Freesat digital TV and radio package, tea and coffee making facilities and our very own homemade shortbread.
Picture of The Queen's Head , Troutbeck at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away
I booked the Queens Head Inn as a belated Valentine's Day for myself and my husband. We arrived half an hour before check in time (3.00pm) and were able to have a drink at the bar whilst we waited for our room to be ready. Our room was lovely overlooking the fells, with a four poster bed that was so comfortable, I wanted to take it home with me. Our evening meal at the Inn was outstanding, the food was cooked fresh to order but was worth the wait and the presentation was of Michilen Star quality. I aslo recommend the cocktails especially the Manhattan!
The staff were extremely polite and friendly without being obstrusive and the service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. And our cooked breakfast the next morning was lovely using local produce.

Reviewed by
N Caig

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Myself and my partner were very pleased with the accommodation, the food, rooms and staff were lovely.
cannot wait to visit again!!!!
one of the best accommodations we have stayed in.

Reviewed by
M Donaldson

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Only booked in for 1 night but could of happily stayed a week.
Quality food and service, lovely old coaching inn.

Reviewed by
R Philp

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Queen's Head
Good location and lovely views from room. Room was small and furniture and decoration was old. But was well equipped (tea,coffee, tv etc). Enjoyed the meal and atmosphere in the pub and the staff were all very friendly.

Reviewed by
Steven L

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay. Fantastic food.
Booked as a last minute birthday surprise for my husband. Room very nice and clean
Bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The staff were all very attentive and friendly nothing seemed too much trouble. The menu was very different but lots of choice. I had been told the food was great and we weren't disappointed. It was fantastic not cheap but worth it. The breakfast menu was also lovely. We had a great short stay and hope to go back soon.

Reviewed by
C Prescott

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Super stay at this friendly and charming hotel. Its a lovely place but the staff are fantastic. My wife has serious problems with food allergies. The staff were fantastic.

Reviewed by
A Cross

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We grabbed a last minute deal, at this hotel we stayed only one night the room was a bit dark but was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The whole place had character with stuffed animals and birds and what looked like torture object hanging from the walls, I was convinced I would be woken through the night by something spooky but the only thing that woke me was the sound of a hooting owl which was nice. The hotel staff were very friendly it was obvious they were all rushed off there feet, as there was never anybody around when waiting at the bar which you use to checking in and out plus ordering drinks and food. I felt the drinks were a little over priced at £10 for a small glass of wine and a pint of larger. I would happily stay again at the price we payed.

Reviewed by
D Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Excellent service, fantastic food, lovely restaraunt, the staff where superb and nothing was too much trouble. I cannot recomend this hotel enough and will be staying again without a doubt.

Reviewed by
CHRIS SMALLEY

From Preston, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not sure if I liked the two teddy bears dressed in white pyjamas sitting on the bed with three copies of the bible located in the room. Staff were nice though.

Reviewed by
Jordan U

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely excellent in every way!
The hospitality was second to none. The pub is amazing with fantastic interior design. The room was very comfortable with lovely extra touches such as fresh homemade shortbread dally. The food served in the restaurant was awesome and the best food I have had for years and I travel a lot. I highly recommend this, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Deborah T

From Weston super mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next