No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbeydale Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
1-3 Cobden Road , Chesterfield, S40 4TD
Quality Accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Town Centre with free private parking free WiFi and flat screen televisions in all rooms.

The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from Chesterfield town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. For business people Abbeydale Hotel is not only located close to the town centre but with easy access to the A61 North & South and the M1 North & South, it is an ideal place to relax and wind down, after a busy business day or a day of exploring. The house of the Abbeydale Hotel dates back to 1892, where part of it was a vicarage. The house was converted into a Hotel with ample free car parking in 1988, and has all the modern facilities needed by business & leisure traveller alike. In the restaurant Else and Finn, the owners, prepare and serve the dishes available on the small but exciting menu, every dish boasting a quality and charm only found in home made food. Due to high demand, guests wishing to dine on a Friday or Saturday night should prebook a table.

All bedrooms are individual in their decor and style offering comfort and modern facilities. Whether on business or leisure you are guaranteed a pleasant stay. All rooms have Flat Screen colour TV with teletext, direct dial telephone, radio, hair dryers, tea & coffee making facilities with biscuits, fresh fruit, and mineral water.

In the intimate Restaurant & Bar you have the chance to relax and unwind. We serve dinners every night except Sunday offering a wide choice of food & wine from an exciting menu, which changes on a daily basis, using seasonal and local market produce. The food is prepared & cooked by Else & Finn (the owners) and is a mixture of Danish and continental cuisine. Fresh, cooked to order breakfasts are also available every morning.
Picture of Abbeydale Hotel, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once inside it is a charming hotel. Very nice room décor and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and the owners friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
M Minhall

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Chesterfield
Excellent and friendly hotel - recommended.

Reviewed by
C Atkinson

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value comfortable accomodation
Due to some confusion amongst the staff I ended up (briefly) sampling 2 rooms, a twin and then a single. The rooms are fairly small, but everything was clean and tidy. Good value for a brief stay with off-street parking.

Reviewed by
Glen C

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
The room and bathroom were decent, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The location is convenient for the town centre.
The down side is that they only offer breakfast until 9.30am on a Sunday and checkout is 10.30am. I would mainly be wanting to use this place to stay after a night out and I really don't think I could stand having so little sleep again. For that reason only I'm not sure if I would return.

Reviewed by
B Carr

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly owners
I had probably the smallest room I've slept in since a was a child....however it was perfectly formed and comfortable. Still preferable to some anon. chain. The owners make you feel welcome and are very interested in their guests.

Reviewed by
Sue B

From Walmer, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable getaway
A very clean, comfortable Inn well worth a visit. We enjoyed the hosts.and fine meal.

Reviewed by
Ronald D

From Fresno, USA
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
We stayed over night ....Clean Hotel and room ...Staff Brill ...food was lovley
Room was a bit small but was well equiped

Reviewed by
P Reid

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional personal attention
I am sure we have never been so well cared for before. from the moment we arrived, to the morning of our departure, the proprietors and their staff made it their mission that we would enjoy our stay.The quality of the food and its delivery was exceptional. The interest shown in where we went and what we did were not intrusive but genuine concern that we were having a good time. in short, we were for a week made to feel part of the family.

Reviewed by
P Cross

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay in Chesterfield.
The best friendliest hotel we have stayed in for a long time quick attentive service clean rooms excellent value.

Reviewed by
T Harber

From Cranleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight before a meeting
Very clean and service good. Didn't dine at the hotel, however the staff advised of where else to go.

Reviewed by
Ray Ewart

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next