No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairwater Head Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Hawkchurch , Axminster, EX13 5TX
Offering panoramic views, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking and an Award-Winning Restaurant, this classic Edwardian Country House Hotel is ideally set amidst unspoilt Devonshire Countryside. Tucked away in peaceful Hawkeschurch, the Village of Roses, the Fairwater Head Hotel is just 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic Coast, making it the ideal base for visit to the areas attractions. The Hotel has two acres of beautiful gardens that provide a perfect spot in which to relax and enjoy the serene surroundings.
All of the light and airy en-suite bedrooms have views over the hotels extensive gardens, some rooms also having views of the spectacular Axe Valley. Rooms offer sumptuous and comforting furnishings, including soft white duvets and Egyptian cotton towels, while a range of modern amenities, including Free view TV and radio allow you to relax with home-from-home comforts during your stay.
The on site restaurant offers the best produce Devon has to offer, all expertly prepared by the hotels award-winning chefs. Only local ingredients are used to ensure the utmost freshness and quality. With menus ranging from modern Brasserie to traditional Roast Lunch, the excellent cuisine offers something for every palate.
The spacious gardens and restaurant make the ideal setting for an intimate wedding venue, with marquees available for use on the grounds for larger parties. Attentive staff and photogenic surroundings offer the opportunity to enjoy your dream wedding with friends and family. The hotel also offers excellent facilities for business events. The Hotels central location is ideal for conferences and small events, while full sit down meals or buffets are available to meet your requirements.
The hotel is idyllically placed in the open countryside of Devonshire, just a short distance from several local attractions. The world famous Jurassic Coast is just 5 miles away - England's first Natural World Heritage Site, with rocks recording up to 185 million years of Earth's history covering 95 miles of stunning coastline. Nearby Lyme Regis is an unspoilt and historic seaside resort with excellent fishing at the famous Cobb Harbour, while the city of Exeter is just over 30 miles away, offering interesting historical sites including Exeter Cathedral. Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall's popular River Cottage is just 10 minutes away, where you can add to your stay by enjoying one of his famous dining experiences.
Picture of Fairwater Head Hotel, Axminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have liked our towels changed during our stay. Felt the drink prices were too expensive. Otherwise staff very friendly and facilities fine.

ManagementResponse

We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback about your stay. I apologise if your towels were not changed during your 3 night stay. We do have environmental notices in the bathrooms asking guests to leave their towels in the bath/shower if they would like them changed, otherwise housekeeping will place them on the heated towel rails to dry. Having checked your room I can see the notice had fallen off the wall behind the towel rail which is why you would not have been aware to leave the towels in the bath. A new sign has been displayed in the bathroom to avoid this happening again.

Reviewed by
Val Twomlow

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely venue for our anniversary break.
Quite location off the beaten track. Lovely gardens with views of surrounding countryside to match. Meal in Brazzerie was excellent in quality, quantity and service. Will stay again!

Reviewed by
Gary Quesnel

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in a nice setting.....but
Let down by the small but significant points for a hotel that charged £125.00 per night.
1. No draught beer is kept at the establishment - only bottled beer! And even the bottled beer was warm! 2. The barman doubles up as the waiter in the restaurant - so if he is busy serving diners, you have to wait until he is free to serve at the bar. 3. Very poor offering for Breakfast! Everything pre-cooked and serve yourself. Poor quality bacon and sausage and no choice of how you want your eggs (come scrambled only). 4. En-suite bathroom - fully fitted carpet?? Extremely unhygienic! 5. No mobile signal at the hotel - beware using bedroom phone. I used it for 11 seconds only to find out an answer machine kicked in. Did not leave any msg and was charged £0.72p for my trouble!

ManagementResponse

We keep a good range of “local” bottled beer, ales and cider as we are very keen to support local businesses and these are very popular with our guests. All of the bottles are chilled in a fridge at the optimum temperature for drinking so we cannot understand how the beer could have been warm, although the weather was particular warm at this time so it may have warmed up quickly once served. We staff the restaurant in line with the number of guests dining and as we had only 5 guests for dinner, we only required our Restaurant Manager at that time of the evening to take the orders and serve in the bar. We have a bell in a prominent position on the bar which the guests enjoy using if the barman has stepped away to serve other guests. As well as the choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juices, at busy times we offer a cooked buffet breakfast rather than ordering from the menu. This includes locally produced award winning Old English Pork Sausages and Dry Cured Smoked Back Bacon as well as local & free range eggs supplied by Silverthorne Farm and as per the notice by the buffet you can ask the waiting staff for your eggs to be cooked to your liking. We receive very positive feedback from our guests about our breakfast so we are sorry to hear you felt it was a poor offering. We have started replacing the carpet in the bathrooms with lino or tiles as we appreciate it is a little dated to have carpeted bathrooms. The signal from mobile phone providers is unfortunately outside of our control. If a call is connected regardless of whether this is answered by a person or a machine there is a cost involved in making this call and our charges are clearly displayed in the bedroom folder. I am sorry you had some concerns about your stay and we are disappointed they were not raised at the time so we had the opportunity to rectify them.

Reviewed by
Roger C

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful. A hidden gem.
Will return.

Reviewed by
A Knibbs

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place. Professional service. Excellent food.

Reviewed by
M Riley

From Unterseen, Switzerland
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairwater Head Stay
We really enjoyed our brief stay at this lovely friendly hotel, and excellent food too.

Reviewed by
P Horton

From Nr. Broadway, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
Choose the hotel as booked onto a local course with a well known chef close by! The main hotel was beautiful as it retained the original features of an Edwardian property - did not go into the new build. A hotel is not just the building but the approachable and friendly staff - we were impressed by the gentleman on duty for our stay who was attentive but not intrusive. The food was good quality; the cheese selection superb and the wine choice varied - worth staying in for.

Reviewed by
Tim B

From Launceston, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday night travel stopover
The ordinary parking area is deceptive and a much nicer prospect awaits at the hotel entrance. There's a genuine warm welcome inside, a comfortable bar and good unpretentious but carefully presented food in the restaurant. Our room in the main house looked out over grazing sheep and a clear view west for 20 miles of countryside. Glad we found this hotel. Nice breakfast too, eggs properly cooked and the tomatoes too. That's rare!

Reviewed by
Paul J

From Esher, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquil Country Retreat
This hotel is well off the beaten track and most rooms have lovely views over lush countryside. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a drink before and after dinner, pretty gardens in the foreground and beautiful sunsets over the distant hills.
The "Brasserie style" food was good and the service very friendly.
The only minus point was the very slow WiFi connection but that's often a problem when you're "off the beaten track"!

Reviewed by
Dave Pick

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Comfortable and welcoming hotel in a lovely location.

Reviewed by
Alan T

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next