Old Rectory Hotel

3

Lowe Hill Road, Wem, Shrewsbury, SY4 5UA

Price From 108.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Brookes

  • May 2015

Good room, TV a tad small for the size of the room, shower wasnt very powerful.

But the stay was good value.

  • D Finlay

  • May 2015

Charming

The Old Rectory is a splendid building in attractive (and extremely well kept) grounds in a pleasant village in a beautiful part of the country.

Room 2 is small but very nicely furnished and was spotless when I arrived. The two members of staff I met were charming and helpful. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Lawrence Pendleton

  • April 2015

Charming hotel

This is a charming hotel in a convenient location.

The Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The evening meal and the breakfasts were delicious. Overall, good value for money. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Elizabeth Ford

  • April 2015

Our stay at the Old Rectory Hotel, Wem

My husband and I stayed here for one night over the Easter bank holiday along with our three year old daughter.

We booked it with a few days to go after we couldn't find anywhere in Shrewsbury which we were visitng. I was a bit dubious about its suitability for families with young children from the pictures but I telephoned the hotel in advance who assured me that they cater for children and have a children's menu which does not appear on their website. This place is a real find and no more than a 20 minute drive from Shrewsbury and makes a pleasant change to all of the chain type establishments that seem to dominate the main cities. Our room was lovely and overlooked the front of the house. We have stayed in hotels before where we have had to ask for bedding and a towel for our daughter despite her being on the booking but her bed was made up on arrival and as well as her own hand and bath towel she had been given her own toiletries, glass, cup and complimentary tray of goodies so they clearly pay attention to detail. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good and price reasonable and they did do a children's menu. Our room was very comfortable and stocked with everything you would expect including a mini bar. The range of foods on offer for breakfast was in my opinion very good compared to other establishments we have stayed at. I thought it was good value for money. We also left something in our room and the hotel were very quick to contact us and return it in the post.

  • D O'Neill

  • February 2015

The "Superb" Old Rectory

We had a truly fantastic time at the old rectory.

From the moment we arrived to when we left , the service was brilliant.

The room was excellent and all you could want. Food, well what can I say, The Rib-Eye Steak was to die for.

One person that stood out was "Natalie" attentive to the last, a credit to the hotel. It is worth a visit, you will not be disappointed at the Old Rectory.

  • C Gilmore

  • February 2015

Wonderful, friendly staff and sumptious room.

I've never known such helpful and polite staff.

They just couldn't do enough for you. The room was amazing, even better than the photos. Just blown away by it all really.

  • S Pennells

  • December 2014

Good overnight

We came, changed and left to go to a party some miles away.

No problem coming back late in the evening. Breakfast next morning was possible after 08.00 eucharist at the parish church.

  • Carol Turner

  • November 2014

An enjoyable, one night stay in a homely, relaxing and traditional hotel, in beautiful surroundings

We really enjoyed our stay in the Rectory.

It is full of character in a beautiful setting. Food and service was very good and our bedroom was quaint, comfortable and clean with a view overlooking the garden. I was attracted by the furnishings, pictures etc and the downstairs ladies powder room.

  • M Coupe

  • November 2014

Beautiful hotel and surrounding garden.

It was our first visit so we were a bit apprehensive but as soon as we entered the hotel we were welcomed by the staff.

They showed us to our room which was warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious and dinner was outstanding, with an unusual selection of fresh vegetables. It was central to the historical sites we wanted to see so very convenient.

  • J Fell

  • October 2014

Country house

Although on the edge of Wem the Old Rectory has the feel of a country house.

For a weekend stay in North Shropshire it would be difficult to find better. Lovely building, friendly and helpful staff and within easy walking distance for the centre of Wem.