Reviews - Old Rectory Hotel


Lowe Hill Road, Wem, Shrewsbury, SY4 5UA

Price From 119.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Maurice H

  • October 2015

Our stay.

Well appointed accommodation, friendly staff, excellent food.

  • I Walker

  • August 2015

Full of Olde Worde Charm

Stayed here for a business trip to Shrewsbury as Town centre hotels full because of flower show.

Hotel is full of charm from a bygone age, beautiful decor, fabulous curtains & ceilings. Food is very well prepared and presented, with fine wine and draught/bottled beers. Makes a welcome change from Bog Standard mid market hotel chains. Well recommended

  • ian roue

  • July 2015

great stay

stayed at old rectory for 3 nights with my wife ,could not have felt more welcome ,nothing was too mutch trouble.rooms were clean food good but could do with more choice for dinner.great place to stay to explore shropshire and wales.will stay here again


  • July 2015

Night stop

A really good experience, with staff both helpful and efficient.

A building which is a little old fashioned, but that adds to its charm. Really very good.

  • Norman MacLeod

  • June 2015

Shropshire Lair

Pleasantly at the result of something we booked at the last minute.

  • L Brookes

  • May 2015

Good room, TV a tad small for the size of the room, shower wasnt very powerful.

But the stay was good value.

  • D Finlay

  • May 2015


The Old Rectory is a splendid building in attractive (and extremely well kept) grounds in a pleasant village in a beautiful part of the country.

Room 2 is small but very nicely furnished and was spotless when I arrived. The two members of staff I met were charming and helpful. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Lawrence Pendleton

  • April 2015

Charming hotel

This is a charming hotel in a convenient location.

The Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The evening meal and the breakfasts were delicious. Overall, good value for money. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Elizabeth Ford

  • April 2015

Our stay at the Old Rectory Hotel, Wem

My husband and I stayed here for one night over the Easter bank holiday along with our three year old daughter.

We booked it with a few days to go after we couldn't find anywhere in Shrewsbury which we were visitng. I was a bit dubious about its suitability for families with young children from the pictures but I telephoned the hotel in advance who assured me that they cater for children and have a children's menu which does not appear on their website. This place is a real find and no more than a 20 minute drive from Shrewsbury and makes a pleasant change to all of the chain type establishments that seem to dominate the main cities. Our room was lovely and overlooked the front of the house. We have stayed in hotels before where we have had to ask for bedding and a towel for our daughter despite her being on the booking but her bed was made up on arrival and as well as her own hand and bath towel she had been given her own toiletries, glass, cup and complimentary tray of goodies so they clearly pay attention to detail. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good and price reasonable and they did do a children's menu. Our room was very comfortable and stocked with everything you would expect including a mini bar. The range of foods on offer for breakfast was in my opinion very good compared to other establishments we have stayed at. I thought it was good value for money. We also left something in our room and the hotel were very quick to contact us and return it in the post.

  • D O'Neill

  • February 2015

The "Superb" Old Rectory

We had a truly fantastic time at the old rectory.

From the moment we arrived to when we left , the service was brilliant.

The room was excellent and all you could want. Food, well what can I say, The Rib-Eye Steak was to die for.

One person that stood out was "Natalie" attentive to the last, a credit to the hotel. It is worth a visit, you will not be disappointed at the Old Rectory.