No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Rectory Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Lowe Hill Road, Wem , Shrewsbury, SY4 5UA
Georgian elegance in the heart of Shropshire. Set within 3.5 acres of tranquil grounds with stunning views over shropshire. Short distance from Shrewsbury, Telford, Chester and Ironbridge where you will find good theatres, shopping, walks and museums
Picture of Old Rectory Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel and surrounding garden.
It was our first visit so we were a bit apprehensive but as soon as we entered the hotel we were welcomed by the staff. They showed us to our room which was warm and welcoming.
The breakfasts were delicious and dinner was outstanding, with an unusual selection of fresh vegetables.
It was central to the historical sites we wanted to see so very convenient.

Reviewed by
M Coupe

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable, one night stay in a homely, relaxing and traditional hotel, in beautiful surroundings
We really enjoyed our stay in the Rectory. It is full of character in a beautiful setting. Food and service was very good and our bedroom was quaint, comfortable and clean with a view overlooking the garden. I was attracted by the furnishings, pictures etc and the downstairs ladies powder room.

Reviewed by
Carol Turner

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country house
Although on the edge of Wem the Old Rectory has the feel of a country house. For a weekend stay in North Shropshire it would be difficult to find better. Lovely building, friendly and helpful staff and within easy walking distance for the centre of Wem.

Reviewed by
J Fell

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed in the single Esby room, which although 'cosy' in size had everything I needed, including bottled water and good free wifi. Service on reception and at meals was prompt and attentive. Public rooms have a lovely individual 'retro' feel.
One of the best hotel breakfasts I have had, with home- made muesli , marmalade and jam on offer, and a variety of cooked options. A very comfortable stay in an unusual and individual small hotel.

Reviewed by
Wendy C

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accomadation
Really enjoyed our overnight stay. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
paul read

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room poor breakfast
The room was good value for money, although there was an issue with doors banging very loudly from about 6am. The only real issue was the very poor service at breakfast, we waited about 60 minutes for breakfast but the toast arrived within 5 mins of ordering. This meant that when the breakfast did arrive the toast was cold.

Reviewed by
R Knight

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location avoid the food
Really nice hotel and the staff excellent. Unfortunately let down by room and food. Our room (No11) was a twin above the kitchen so the extractor fan came on early evening and early morning which certainly wakes you up. Avoid rooms 9-11 at the rear of the hotel, view is poor and you will have the kitchen fan issue. Mentioned it to reception but all they had left was more expensive rooms.
We tried the restaurant but the menu was limited nothing like the online sample menu. We decided on ribeye steak, thin, fatty and not much meat, very poor for the price. Came with large chips which were stacked like lego, the vegetables consisted of corn, swede and carrot in a wrap of leak. Not at all filling. I will avoid the restaurant in future.
Hotel in walking distance of Wem (2 mins) which has plenty of good pubs serving real ale so overall had a nice relaxing break

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel is very well decorated in keeping with the architecture. The room was decent size with large functioning(!) sash window.
Food was excellent and the staff were all very helpful and courteous.
The water pressure in the showers left a little to be desired. But that really is the only negative I could find. I would heartily recommend this hotel to any of my friends, family and colleagues!

Reviewed by
Nick J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent comfortable accomodation
We very much enjoyed our stay very friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and good food.

Reviewed by
Tony H

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We stayed at The Old Rectory for one night and had a great time. The Hotel is set within beautiful gardens and the Georgian rooms downstairs are very impressive. We stayed in Room 5 which is the "cosy" room, and it was more than adequate for our one night stay. The room overlooks an area being renovated but we knew this from the website and it did not bother us, other rooms must have lovely views. Staff were friendly and we had a great breakfast. Would definitely recommend, great value for money and lovely to stay in a hotel with real character.

Reviewed by
V Tilston

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next