No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Rectory Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Lowe Hill Road, Wem , Shrewsbury, SY4 5UA
Georgian elegance in the heart of Shropshire. Set within 3.5 acres of tranquil grounds with stunning views over shropshire. Short distance from Shrewsbury, Telford, Chester and Ironbridge where you will find good theatres, shopping, walks and museums
Picture of Old Rectory Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accomadation
Really enjoyed our overnight stay. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
paul read

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room poor breakfast
The room was good value for money, although there was an issue with doors banging very loudly from about 6am. The only real issue was the very poor service at breakfast, we waited about 60 minutes for breakfast but the toast arrived within 5 mins of ordering. This meant that when the breakfast did arrive the toast was cold.

Reviewed by
R Knight

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location avoid the food
Really nice hotel and the staff excellent. Unfortunately let down by room and food. Our room (No11) was a twin above the kitchen so the extractor fan came on early evening and early morning which certainly wakes you up. Avoid rooms 9-11 at the rear of the hotel, view is poor and you will have the kitchen fan issue. Mentioned it to reception but all they had left was more expensive rooms.
We tried the restaurant but the menu was limited nothing like the online sample menu. We decided on ribeye steak, thin, fatty and not much meat, very poor for the price. Came with large chips which were stacked like lego, the vegetables consisted of corn, swede and carrot in a wrap of leak. Not at all filling. I will avoid the restaurant in future.
Hotel in walking distance of Wem (2 mins) which has plenty of good pubs serving real ale so overall had a nice relaxing break

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel is very well decorated in keeping with the architecture. The room was decent size with large functioning(!) sash window.
Food was excellent and the staff were all very helpful and courteous.
The water pressure in the showers left a little to be desired. But that really is the only negative I could find. I would heartily recommend this hotel to any of my friends, family and colleagues!

Reviewed by
Nick J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent comfortable accomodation
We very much enjoyed our stay very friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and good food.

Reviewed by
Tony H

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We stayed at The Old Rectory for one night and had a great time. The Hotel is set within beautiful gardens and the Georgian rooms downstairs are very impressive. We stayed in Room 5 which is the "cosy" room, and it was more than adequate for our one night stay. The room overlooks an area being renovated but we knew this from the website and it did not bother us, other rooms must have lovely views. Staff were friendly and we had a great breakfast. Would definitely recommend, great value for money and lovely to stay in a hotel with real character.

Reviewed by
V Tilston

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel with nice restaurant
Good Hotel, and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
R S B

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend Visit
The Old Rectory Hotel, Wem is an apparently Georgian building in it's own grounds. We approached from Whitchurch, following the directions on the website and found our destination easily. From this approach, the hotel appears to be in the middle of a housing estate (not the semi-rural location I had expected) an initial disappointment. However, the sweeping gravel driveway through mature trees and the charm of the building itself soon dispelled any disappointment.
On entry I got an immediate impression of "old country house" atmosphere. The hotel lives up to it's name, the fixtures, fittings and furniture give it a feel of faded grandeur. Personally, I loved it.
The receptionist was extremely pleasant and apologised for any inconvenience caused us by the wedding celebrations being held there the evening of our arrival. We were obliged to eat out as the restaurant was unavailable, but having determined our choice of cuisine, the receptionist obtained us a table at The Tilley Raven a short drive away. The hotel staff had given their non-wedding party guests the exclusive use of the lounge, so we could have avoided much of the noise created by the party had we returned early from our meal.
Our room had everything we needed and was clean. My criticisms would be the bed, which creaked and secondly, our view over the rear of the property included not only the pleasant gardens, but also a utility area with rubble and unwanted items. Unseen work in progress??
The breakfast was very good. Self service for juices, cereals, fruit salad, prunes, yoghurt, cheeses and conserves. Fresh tea and coffee was brought to the table along with your choice from the cooked breakfast menu and a choice of toast or croissants.
We had a very comfortable stay and felt we got value for money. We would return if visiting the area again.

Reviewed by
Christine R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room. Sunshine pouring through sash window in afternoon, overlooking garden. Powerful shower

Reviewed by
B Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Character House
The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very welcome. We did not eat in the restaurant as we arrived too late but went to and Indian restaurant in Nidd which was very nice.
The breakfast was buffet style with everything you would expect on offer. The cooked breakfast was of a could quality.
A filter Coffee was only £1.50 which was very good value served in a pot.

Reviewed by
Roy A

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next