No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
great hotel, well placed for all attractions. Breakfast was great value but order the day before as it's cheaper. Very helpful staf and nice clean, large family room fitted us all in well.

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Friendly Hotel
Great hotel, friendly staff and lovely food. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Dave S

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money
Some of the bedding, although clean, was stained badly. The breakfast was good (although extra) but the room price is too high for the accommodation features on offer - I personally would not stay here again. Ibis and Holiday Inn Express offer better accommodation and facilities for less money generally

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what we needed
We came to the area to spend the day at Alton Towers and didn't want to drive the 4 hours back home at the end of the day so we looked for an inexpensive hotel nearby. We found Tollgate Hotel and Leisure which is about a 20 minute drive from Alton Towers. We were very happy with it overall and it was the perfect place to spend the night after a long (and very wet) day! We have three young children and they gave us a family room with a double bed for us and three single beds for the children. I was really pleased about that because at other hotels we normally only get a small cot bed for our youngest. We would definitely book Tollgate in Stoke again if we decide to visit Alton Towers again in the future!!

Reviewed by
M Fenn

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely everything we needed!!
Lovely room as a family of five so nice to find a hotel which we can all stay in, will definitely use again, can't comment on the food as we were up and out due to visiting alton towers.

Reviewed by
C Boswell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay while visiting Alton Towers
Close to Alton Towers and spacious family room. Dining room staff couldn't do enough to ensure children were happy.

Reviewed by
Sandy G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for Alton Towers
Had a lovely stay at the Tollgate. Very friendly staff made the time very enjoyable and easy. Beds are comfy too. Thanks very much.

Reviewed by
J Casson

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommended
lovely room and really nice staff on duty excellent customer service will definately go again.

Reviewed by
s clayton

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accomodation
the hotel provides excellent facilities with good food and very friendly staff

Reviewed by
D Martin

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have already left a review for this hotel, so I don't know what happened to it.
This is a good not-many-frills hotel and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. My room was on the ground floor and I could park right outside the door which was great - usually with a budget type hotel I am stuck at the top of the building with umpteen stairs and corridors to negotiate with heavy luggage.
My room was large with a beautifully clean and comfy bed, lovely squashy pillows (most important!) and a decent flat screen TV which was not stuck high up on the wall for once, which results in one having to be a contortionist to watch it. The bathroom was absolutely huge, but I discovered afterwards I was in a designated disabled room so that explains that - it was meant to accommodate a wheelchair. But it was nice to have so much room. There was both a shower and a bath and the water was hot. (Again most welcome and quite a novelty in most hotels). A mat on the cold bathroom floor would have been nice.
The hotel operates an 'eco' policy where if you need fresh towels, you leave the used ones in the bath. Commendable if staying more than one night. The towels were a little thin I thought.
Although I call this a 'budget ' hotel I don't mean this in a bad way. It was very good for the price I paid. They also have a restaurant and bar which I did not use as I arrived late. I believe there are sports facilities nearby.
The best points for me were: very friendly & helpful staff, convenient parking and a comfortable, quiet and sound night's sleep. Oh and tons of hot water.
I would far rather stay at a hotel like this, than one where you pay a premium for a chocolate on your pillow and a bathrobe, yet the staff look down their noses at you and you invariably get what seems to be the worst and most inaccessible room in the place.

Reviewed by
Lynsey A

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next