No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a good American motel but with a sports club attached
Quiet, clean, free parking, easy access to the M6 - and the best bowl of tomato/basil soup I've eaten in a long while. The people working there are very nice.

Reviewed by
iris g

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
There was a group of 9 of us...2 families. We had 1 four poster room with two beds for the kids and another four poster room with three beds for the kids...absolutely perfect and a really good price. Lovely breakfast in the morning and very friendly staff. Perfect for a trip to alton towers 30 mins drive away

Reviewed by
L Tompkins

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent gym facilities and customer service, no room service apparent
Gym was fab - service was great at the hotel and at the facilities, although felt a little like an apartment complex rather than a hotel. Staff were great, room was perfect for an overnight stay and parking was convenient. Great location for local services.

Reviewed by
Emily W

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay!
Have stayed here 4 times previously during past 3 years or so. Very friendly staff, relaxed 'sporting' location, overlooking Cricket pitch and have use of Sports Facilities which is good. Can have food in the bar or in more formal setting of the restaurant, well priced and nice selection. Staff always friendly and helpful.... Good breakfast selection too! Although Privately / Family owned, some chains could learn from the standard of this operation, especially what's offered fir the price. To be picky....TVs in room could be a bit larger! Sadly woken by inconsiderate neighbour at 3.20am trying to get into room, but this wouldn't put me off staying here again.

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Cheddar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean
wen we walked around the corner ,,I new it were going to be nice and clean ..and it were ...we enjoyed our stay ...also it were very comfortable ..and warm ...its a shame we only stayed for 5hrs ,,,we were at a allnighter in stoke k h ...
also the manager kindly give us a lift to the train station ...so we wouldn't miss our train ....very happy and pleased with tollgate ..

Reviewed by
ann j

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly staff
Its the one t,hing that stood out, we've been in hotels as good or better but none with such friendly and helpful staff!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Ian R

From Melton Constable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
great hotel, well placed for all attractions. Breakfast was great value but order the day before as it's cheaper. Very helpful staf and nice clean, large family room fitted us all in well.

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Friendly Hotel
Great hotel, friendly staff and lovely food. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Dave S

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money
Some of the bedding, although clean, was stained badly. The breakfast was good (although extra) but the room price is too high for the accommodation features on offer - I personally would not stay here again. Ibis and Holiday Inn Express offer better accommodation and facilities for less money generally

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what we needed
We came to the area to spend the day at Alton Towers and didn't want to drive the 4 hours back home at the end of the day so we looked for an inexpensive hotel nearby. We found Tollgate Hotel and Leisure which is about a 20 minute drive from Alton Towers. We were very happy with it overall and it was the perfect place to spend the night after a long (and very wet) day! We have three young children and they gave us a family room with a double bed for us and three single beds for the children. I was really pleased about that because at other hotels we normally only get a small cot bed for our youngest. We would definitely book Tollgate in Stoke again if we decide to visit Alton Towers again in the future!!

Reviewed by
M Fenn

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next