No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed with the grandchildren in a family room. very clean and tidy. huge room. we have stayed at this hotel before as a couple whilst visiting relatives so knew that it would be good for the grandaughters too. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Reviewed by
sean hughes

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
I booked the hotel having seen the ratings on Laterooms. The staff could not have been more helpful from arrival to departure. The only downside to our stay was finding hairs in the bed. We called reception and within 2 minutes, had been allocated a new one that was as we would expect by a most apologetic member of staff. In addition, our pre booked breakfast was not charged. In all, an overall good experience and we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From Lingfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family stay
Spent the day at alton towers, arrived at hotel at 10.00 pm excellent service from reception. Had breakfast next day everything on offer from croissants, toast, cereal juice and a full english. Cant fault staff went out of there way to make the stay very comfortable. Definitely would staf again.

Reviewed by
linda b

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
What a difference to the hotel we stayed at the night before we arrived...very pleasantly surprised,,clean comfortable accommodation,only downside didn't realise breakfast not included,however a small additional fee included breakfast,,happy to pay as considered good value compared with previous hotel in Bradford which was disgusting and more expensive.

Reviewed by
L Crickitt

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here before going to Alton Towers. We arrived after 9pm because of traffic. The staff at Tollgate were excellent and very caring they made us very welcome and allowed us to eat in their restaurant at that late, which we were very grateful for. We are a family of 5 so finding a room to fit us all in together is brilliant.

Reviewed by
Johanna N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a good American motel but with a sports club attached
Quiet, clean, free parking, easy access to the M6 - and the best bowl of tomato/basil soup I've eaten in a long while. The people working there are very nice.

Reviewed by
iris g

From USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
There was a group of 9 of us...2 families. We had 1 four poster room with two beds for the kids and another four poster room with three beds for the kids...absolutely perfect and a really good price. Lovely breakfast in the morning and very friendly staff. Perfect for a trip to alton towers 30 mins drive away

Reviewed by
L Tompkins

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent gym facilities and customer service, no room service apparent
Gym was fab - service was great at the hotel and at the facilities, although felt a little like an apartment complex rather than a hotel. Staff were great, room was perfect for an overnight stay and parking was convenient. Great location for local services.

Reviewed by
Emily W

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay!
Have stayed here 4 times previously during past 3 years or so. Very friendly staff, relaxed 'sporting' location, overlooking Cricket pitch and have use of Sports Facilities which is good. Can have food in the bar or in more formal setting of the restaurant, well priced and nice selection. Staff always friendly and helpful.... Good breakfast selection too! Although Privately / Family owned, some chains could learn from the standard of this operation, especially what's offered fir the price. To be picky....TVs in room could be a bit larger! Sadly woken by inconsiderate neighbour at 3.20am trying to get into room, but this wouldn't put me off staying here again.

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Cheddar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean
wen we walked around the corner ,,I new it were going to be nice and clean ..and it were ...we enjoyed our stay ...also it were very comfortable ..and warm ...its a shame we only stayed for 5hrs ,,,we were at a allnighter in stoke k h ...
also the manager kindly give us a lift to the train station ...so we wouldn't miss our train ....very happy and pleased with tollgate ..

Reviewed by
ann j

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next