No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
We stayed at the tollgate hotel and leisure for 2 nights for a trip to Alton towers.we stayed in the bungalow which was perfect for us.it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.practicly as good as home! The breakfast was good but the staff were a bit miserable except for the blonde girl (dont know name)who couldn'tv been more helpful.alton towers was about 25mins away.so generally a good stay and very convienient for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
k markey

From Bognor Regis, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding customer service. Willing to go the extra mile for you. Excellent. Near Wedgewood museum
We stayed here for one night as a couple. Less good: reception is dated and rooms basic but clean and comfortable. 15 mins drive into town. Good: gym, pool, snooker facilities & classes. Exceptional: What made this hotel outstanding was the friendlines of all the staff...they bent over backwards to cater to every need...from letting us use the gym facilities after we had checked out to opening an extra room for us to watch the Grand Prix (my partner's other love!). We dined at the hotel for dinner..generous portions of curry! and breakfast was great (choice & quality). Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
S Man

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alton Towers Hotel option
Basic motel style room stayed night before trip to Alton Towers, easy to find quiet and close to the theme park. Breakfast was ok, staff were a bit stressed, not much more to say.

Reviewed by
Jeff McCully

From Barrow in Furness, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing!
The staff at the hotel, were less than friendly and were not interested in us checking in, did not explain where any of the hotel facilities were. The hotel in itself is dated and we did not like the lay out which feels like your in an American motel. The rooms are expensive and while it is clean it is not worth the money and any budget hotel offers more in terms of food, accomodation, hotel lay out. Poor. Gutted we spent the money and stayed there.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We do, however, feel at a loss over your comments since the points you make about our room prices, food and staff go directly against the overwhelming majority of reviews left on here, some around the time of your stay and immediately below this review. Also, we were not made aware of any issues that you may have had with your stay whilst you were with us which again is very strange if they were as inferior as you state. To put this into context, these are quotes from other laterooms reviews of us below who also stayed recently:- “Everybody that works here are very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The food in restaurant and bar is fantastic, the portions are huge and very tasty.” – Simon E., Portsmouth. “We found this hotel great value for money, we had 2 teenage girls and a 16 year old with us who really enjoyed themselves - everything first class and will book this again when in area” – C. White, Sunderland. We always strive to exceed our customer’s expectations, but we realize that this may not be possible with everybody.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Wales
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and facilities - definitely worth considering
We needed a hotel for one night's stay in Stoke for the Tour of Britain cycle race and this fitted the bill perfectly being just two miles from the start at Trentham Gardens and close to the A50. The room was very clean and comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was good value although the portion sizes could have been a bit smaller! The light breakfast option was very good and the staff very attentive. We didn't use any of the leisure centre facilities but they certainly seemed popular - a good sign.

Reviewed by
Andy G

From Peterborough, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we booked online as we were going to alton towers found this hotel great value for money had 2 teanage girls and 1 6 year old who realy enjoyed themselves everything first class will book this again when in area

Reviewed by
c white

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms were very clean and the check in staff very helpful explaining everything, even when repair work was due to commence they apologized for the noise and inconvenience it may cause. When we wanted to play pool etc and cards in the bar they were awesome and let us keep the cards for the duration of our stay.
Awesome guys thanks very much.

Reviewed by
A Latimer

From Godalming, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Stay here for 2days when we visited Alton Towers, we had a family room which was a very good size. Plenty of room for 4 of us.
Every body that works here are very friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
It's 30mins to Alton towers but for the price you can't go wrong, very clean, good size and very friendly.
The food in restaurant and bar is fantastic, the portions are Hugh and very tasty.
Highly recommended you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by
simon e

From Portsmouth, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no sleep
We were kept awake most of the night by other guests arguing loudly clearly having a domestic. . No one intervened or called the police, there was no sign of any staff. This went on for hours and into the morning. We have young children and it upset them and kept them awake. The room was ok basic but all we needed. The shower had no power. The breakfast was basic and if you wanted a cooked breakfast you had to pay for it.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. In relation to other guests having an argument, the reception had not been informed of this. If we had been made aware of this at the time, we would have been more than happy to resolve the matter. We were also not informed upon check out that other guests had kept you awake. We have had a professional plumber check the shower pressure of your room and nothing was found amiss. Also, other guests who stay at our hotel comment on how much they enjoy our breakfasts. Once again, please accept our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel but had we been informed of any problems during your stay, we would have assisted in resolving them there and then.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stop, very clean and spacious

Reviewed by
M Johnson

From High Wycombe, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7