No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice convenient hotel
The accommodation provided at the Tollgate was very good. The staff seemed friendly. Rooms (motel styleon two levels} were clean and spacious and equipped with everything we needed. They had a nice outlook over a cricket pitch. We were not troubled at all by the quite busy road the other side. The only thing that could be a bother if you are a light sleeper is an outside fan. This may have been for the kitchen and our rooms were nearby (maybe reserved for Booking.com customers?) but would be no problem for rooms further away. There was a birthday party going on while we were there and some guests seem to stay the night but there was no noise. We did not actually eat at the hotel as with Booking.com breakfast is not included. However, we saw people eating at the bar one evening and the meals looked nice and reasonably priced. There also seemed like a handy pub 'The Vine' offering value meals just a little walk from the Leisure Centre. My sons didn't get to go to the gym, due to one of them having an eye problem on route, but they said it was well equipped. The receptionist at the hotel was very helpful in suggesting a medical centre to try to sort his problem. Also we did not get to go to Alton Towers as planned but it would have been a convenient location. Instead we got to see the lovely scenery round Castleton, Ladybower reservoir and surrounding area - a must if you are in the area. Also stopped for a delicious roast dinner in lovely scenery at The Three Horseshoes Inn near Leek.

Reviewed by
Angela M

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
We stayed at this hotel after visiting Alton towers, we had previously asked at the hotel if it was ok to arrive around midnight as we were going to Alton towers live, we ended up arriving at 12.45 as the traffic was so bad but the staff were still smiling, friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
tracy t

From Liphook, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Business Accomodation
This was second visit to Tollgate following very impressionable first visit 5 weeks earlier. Good food that can be served in sports bar or in restaurant. Lots going on as all facilities except rooms accessed from car park are connected to health club. Friendly staff and regulars!

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Cheddar, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Choose this hotel for its location to alton towers read other reviews and thought this hotel would be nice start to long weekend.
On arrivial the staff were very friendly and helpful.
When got to room it was very clean but was a bit disappointed as it needed some tlc.
Front door had huge gap in it which thankfully we had good weather but you could feel draft at night.
We had dinner and breakfast here and both were substandard.

Reviewed by
Luke C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
Stayed here for one night while we were in the area and the room was fantastic. Very clean, with plenty of space and a fantastic bathroom. The room also felt very comfortable and homely with nice decoration. It was very nice to go back to in the evening. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Young

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was a very pleasent stay, beds were nice to sleep on an shower was good happy with are stay .

Reviewed by
john strinati

From folkestone kent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous staff
The Tollgate has the style of an American motel. The furnishings are a bit basic with the classic dark counterpane, and rather old fashioned tiling. Interiors could do with a refurb but it's clean and comfortable. The staff are really fabulously helpful and friendly and made all the difference. I'll stay again.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite Good, leisure facilities a litte disappointing.
This is a pretty good hotel but one of my pet hates is 'breakfast not included' and then charged at £6.95 extra. The room though not one of the best I've stayed in was okay and clean, and would have been fine at £40 but at £47 with breakfast was slightly overpriced I would say.
I was in a twin with single beds which I don't like anyway and the mattress was not the greatest. The bar restaurant is very good and the hotel has a lovely outlook over the cricket pitch but the leisure facilities were not quite what I imagined from the description. Just a sauna and steam room inside the changing room in fact, although they do have a gym too and squash courts which I didn't use.
They have upgraded the heating since I last stayed so it's now central heating rather than electric which is good.
I've stayed in higher standard for less but it's a useful find and the customer service and food are very good.

Reviewed by
A T

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended!
Had a big surprise on arriving for what we were expecting inter- cone ting rooms , we had our own bungalow!!! Kids were very excited and played in small contained garden whilst waiting for us to get ready. Staff here are fabulous and very charming and helpful. Food is adequate but very good value and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Susie R

From Dunstable, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel
The room is fairly basic, but the facilities were good, it was clean, the staff were very pleasant and the food had a good range and was nice. The hotel is in a quiet area, and overlooks a lovely cricket pitch. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Day

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next