No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was a very pleasent stay, beds were nice to sleep on an shower was good happy with are stay .

Reviewed by
john strinati

From folkestone kent, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous staff
The Tollgate has the style of an American motel. The furnishings are a bit basic with the classic dark counterpane, and rather old fashioned tiling. Interiors could do with a refurb but it's clean and comfortable. The staff are really fabulously helpful and friendly and made all the difference. I'll stay again.

Reviewed by
R Jones

From Brentford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite Good, leisure facilities a litte disappointing.
This is a pretty good hotel but one of my pet hates is 'breakfast not included' and then charged at £6.95 extra. The room though not one of the best I've stayed in was okay and clean, and would have been fine at £40 but at £47 with breakfast was slightly overpriced I would say.
I was in a twin with single beds which I don't like anyway and the mattress was not the greatest. The bar restaurant is very good and the hotel has a lovely outlook over the cricket pitch but the leisure facilities were not quite what I imagined from the description. Just a sauna and steam room inside the changing room in fact, although they do have a gym too and squash courts which I didn't use.
They have upgraded the heating since I last stayed so it's now central heating rather than electric which is good.
I've stayed in higher standard for less but it's a useful find and the customer service and food are very good.

Reviewed by
A T

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended!
Had a big surprise on arriving for what we were expecting inter- cone ting rooms , we had our own bungalow!!! Kids were very excited and played in small contained garden whilst waiting for us to get ready. Staff here are fabulous and very charming and helpful. Food is adequate but very good value and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Susie R

From Dunstable, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel
The room is fairly basic, but the facilities were good, it was clean, the staff were very pleasant and the food had a good range and was nice. The hotel is in a quiet area, and overlooks a lovely cricket pitch. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Day

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Lovely big room for the 5 of us. We used it as base for alton towers and it was close enough.

Reviewed by
Sally C

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent stay in a spacious room with excellent Breakfast.
Can not grumble about this hotel. Stayed in a spacious family room which had double bed and 2 single beds. 30 mins from Alton Towers.Excellent breakfast also.

Reviewed by
NEIL S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
Booked at the last minute, accomodation was in seperate outside rooms (Motel Style). Unfortunately a birthday party was being catered for so some noise until quite late with people returning to rooms until late. Bar and food offered good. Bed could do with replacing.

Reviewed by
R China

From Crawley, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return stay
After an issue on previous stay I returned to the Tollgate and found the room to be very good, staff were courteous and I had a good experience overall.

Reviewed by
L Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE
The hotel was easy to find, clean, warm and welcoming. The staff were excellent, going that extra mile. I would definitely stay at the Tollgate again

Reviewed by
J Harding

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next