No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tollgate Hotel and Leisure

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Ripon Road , Stoke-on-Trent, ST3 3BS
Take the ten minute drive from Stoke on Trent's City Centre to the Tollgate at Blurton and you could be in for a surprise. During the 32 years since the Tollgate first opened its doors as a squash club, a great deal of work has gone into developing a leisure and hotel complex that its owners justifiably claim as having a range of facilities that are unique in North Staffordshire.

The excellent customer service and individual attention clients receive from staff is a major benefit for our hotel guests; don't just take our word for it - check our 'Hotel Reviews' here on LateRooms.com!

The Tollgate offers a wealth of health & fitness facilities free of charge* to hotel guests including gym, squash, snooker, steam rooms, gents sauna, spinning, step, aerobics, sunbeds, hair salon etc. Privately owned by the Oldfield family, who originate from the North Staffordshire area, Tollgate Hotel and Leisure has built a reputation for service and in addition to its popularity with members, is used by many local companies as well as the Staffordshire Police and Fire Services. Several major national businesses, such as Barclays Bank, hold corporate events and memberships at the Tollgate.

We are situated less than two miles,and as such are one of the closest hotels to, the area's newest attraction Trentham Awakes. This features a retail village, the UK's largest indoor and outdoor garden centre and the now famous Monkey Forest. Alton Towers is also only a short drive away and we are an ideal base for discovering the Wedgwood visitor centre (one and a half miles away) and the many other world-famous pottery factories and visitor centres.

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE OPERATES AN ENTIRELY NON-SMOKING POLICY.

*A small fee is payable for squash, snooker and sunbeds.
Picture of Tollgate Hotel and Leisure, Stoke-on-Trent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return stay
After an issue on previous stay I returned to the Tollgate and found the room to be very good, staff were courteous and I had a good experience overall.

Reviewed by
L Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

TOLLGATE HOTEL & LEISURE
The hotel was easy to find, clean, warm and welcoming. The staff were excellent, going that extra mile. I would definitely stay at the Tollgate again

Reviewed by
J Harding

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean straightforward reasonably priced accomodation, lodge/motel style. It is not particularly luxurious, but then it doesn't pretend to be and you are certainly not paying for it!!

Reviewed by
Robert C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Room was tidy, bedding was cleanas were towels. Carpet could have done with a wash but was recently vacuumed. Bathtub was clean. Accomodation is basic but clean enough. As female travelling alone upset at being put in room furthest from reception, walk to room every night was quite scary.

Reviewed by
faith m

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

winter break
A VERY PLEASANT STAY, EXCELLENT VALUE , every thing you need for a short stay and very handy for all the attractions around STOKE ON TRENT. Would visit again

Reviewed by
s walker

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Family run hotel
Stayed 1 night and found it to be great value, nice little fitness suite and great bar meals

Reviewed by
Craig B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problem with room heating
I have stayed numerous times at the Toll before and it has always been excellent value for money. They have recently changed the heating system and unfortunately I was put in a room where the heating wasn't working correctly and no staff were available as I was out on business in the evening and arrived back after midnight. I did complain in the morning and was offered money off my room but that wasn;t really the point. The staff were aware of the ongoing problem and knew the room I was in (and two other ones) had a problem. I will give them another chance when next in the area, but they have to get this fixed, the hot water was also an issue so cold shower to end my stay did not go down well...

Reviewed by
L Wood

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay with 3 young children
Lovely spacious room with sofa & coffee table. 3 single beds + double bed. Great value for money. Good breakfast, quick friendly service. Shame the beds were against wall so pillows kept falling off end! And mattresses a bit hard and lumpy and sheets, blankets and bedspreads when I'd prefer duvets as never sure how clean bedspreads are. But would def recommend.

Reviewed by
David H

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A1 +

Reviewed by
louis stevens

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week end break
The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff extremely friendly and the bar prices very good. I will def. stay there again

Reviewed by
M Burke

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next