No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Preston kingsteignton, Newton Abbot, TQ12 3PP
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel is a delightful blend of Tudor and contemporary architecture, from our beautiful 15th Century thatched farmhouse, to our
contemporary En-suite Barn Conversion Rooms and apartments providing character and comfort. Our location is peaceful yet offers excellent access
to Exeter, Plymouth, Newton Abbot, Dartmoor and Torbay, which makes us popular with corporate travellers and holidaymakers alike.

We have a unique “character” restaurant where our talented chefs serve the best produce Devon can muster.* Please note the Restaurant is closed on
Sunday evenings.* Our Full Devon Breakfast using free range eggs from our own Hens is a great way to start the day.

At Sampsons we offer first class service but with a warmth that you will not forget.
Picture of Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place!!
Cannot fault this place. So much character. I think he was called Luke, very polite and helpful. Only negative is that I arrived at around 5pm. Unless you have booked a table for dinner by 2pm, you cant eat there, so had to get back in the car and go out to find an eatery for dinner. But at no time are you made aware of this until you arrive.

Reviewed by
Gareth L

From Witney, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and welcoming country hotel.
We really enjoyed our stay, the staff were charming and the evening meal excellent with a comfortable log fired lounge to enjoy pre-dinner drinks in cut glasses. The hens and ducks in the grounds made it feel like a home from home, as we are Organic egg and beef farmers from Cornwall!

Reviewed by
N Still

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnighter
Lovely spot, nice real ale too!

Reviewed by
Darren M

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean nice countryside experience
Always enjoying staying here

Reviewed by
RAYMOND K

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very very good.

Reviewed by
G LEWIS

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noisy room above the dining room but great character

Reviewed by
Joyce S

From eindhoven, Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab-Fab-Fab
Loved it here warm friendly perfect out the way hotel will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Gary B

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little countryside haven of tranquility.
I travel all over the country on business and usual go for the "safe" option of the usual premier inn but decided to give the Sampson Farm a go after searching on Lateroom as i found it cheaper than the local premier inn. I can safely say that if i'm ever stopping in the area again there isn't a chance i'll even consider a "not so premier" premier inns.
oN arrival i was greeted by a friendly and inviting group of staff who helped me park my van within there ample courtyard carpark area into a spot that wasn't going to block or cause any problems for the other residents. On entering the beautiful thatched room main building i immediately felt cozy and relaxed and the staff couldn't of been more inviting and helpful. After been led up the quirky and old staircase to me room ducking my head past the odd old original beam i found my room well furnished with a homely feel but still with the modern amenities you'd expect from any hotel, I enjoyed wondering around the grounds with the free range chickens and ducks for company. The food that evening was excellent and again the staff made me feel very much at home. The following morning i was welcomed to breakfast by the owner as i entered the breakfast area who was talkative and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would happily visit again for a leisure break and to walk around its stunning surrounding countryside.

Reviewed by
Sam Hartley

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service we received was fantastic, they were very friendly and the setting was beautiful, it was nice to have animals around and the farm dog was lovely. We really enjoyed the food which was cooked to a high standard. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
N Thompson

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous,gorgeous, gorgeous!!!
Where to start? Idyllic setting, lovely room, friendly staff, delicious breakfasts! My only worry is that by leaving a glowing review like this, is that when we want to go back they will be fully booked! Will definitely want to revisit! Thank you Sampson's Farm

Reviewed by
J Robinson

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next