No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Preston kingsteignton, Newton Abbot, TQ12 3PP
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel is a delightful blend of Tudor and contemporary architecture, from our beautiful 15th Century thatched farmhouse, to our
contemporary En-suite Barn Conversion Rooms and apartments providing character and comfort. Our location is peaceful yet offers excellent access
to Exeter, Plymouth, Newton Abbot, Dartmoor and Torbay, which makes us popular with corporate travellers and holidaymakers alike.

Our Full Devon Breakfast using free range eggs from our own Hens is a great way to start the day.

At Sampsons we offer first class service but with a warmth that you will not forget.
Picture of Sampsons Farm Country Hotel, Newton Abbot at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem of a place
The hotel is really sweet - thatched roof, full of history but with a modern, fresh twist. The chickens, goats and ducks were a joy discover on arrival. The accommodation was very generous - I can honestly say I that I have never slept in such an enormous bed (if a little soft)!
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was well situated for trips out to the coast and Dartmoor.

Reviewed by
Amanda Love

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great last minute getaway
First time alone together in months without the kids, so looked for a late getaway for a couple of nights that could include our small dog. We struck gold. Great service. Great location.

Reviewed by
Richard Taylor

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will return regularly
Perfectly located farmhouse hotel, situated close enough to a couple of large towns, but far enough away to create a peaceful and tranquil settling.
We spent one day in the town of Kingsteignton and the other day exploring the grounds, meeting the tame farm animals and walking along the nearby river.
The hotel retains many of its original features, such as its open fire, but has modern touches added such as free Wifi. It is beautifully decorated through out with paintings created by one of the owners.
The breakfast had a great deal of variety, the produce was local and of a good quality and cooked to perfection, setting us both up for the day.
The staff are all attentive, welcoming and friendly, really adding to the experience.
We loved every minute staying here and will return at every opportunity.

Reviewed by
Lester barnes

From BRIXHAM, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

House Huntng
This accommodation was perfect. Quiet and peaceful yet close to the area we wanted to explore. The host was charming with a delicious breakfast on offer.
The farm yard full of a wide range of interesting chickens and 2 very friendly goats.
We were advised on places to eat which were excellent.

Reviewed by
Maria Hamblin

From Tidworth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Lovely place to stay and picturesque buildings. Nice to see free roaming chickens and Geece.
Could come and go as you please and not feel watched liked some B&b's.
I would class this as a good quality hotel rather than a B&b.
Very nice hidden gem.

Reviewed by
L martin

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Service, Staff & location
We had to rush down to this area & booked this literally 1/2 an hour before arriving. The warm welcome we received (at a particularly trying time) was brilliant.
The team did everything they could to make our stay as easy as it could be
The location, rooms, breakfast far surpassed our expectations
Thank you

Reviewed by
ian l

From sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome, very well looked after.

Reviewed by
jamie macneil

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sampson Farm Hotel
If its customer service you are looking for you will not be disappointed with your stay at Sampson Farm. Quirky, interesting experience and a pleasant surprise. Check out the rare breed chickens! Never realised there were so many different breeds. Food and wine excellent. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewed by
Jay Dorling

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Olde world buildings and charm with a modern touch.
If you seek a restful and peaceful break with comfortable rooms and excellent food then Sampsons Farm should be high on your list. Conveniently placed close to Newton Abbot and the A38 all the delights of South Devon are easily reachable. Lovely walks and views in the immediate vicinity. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and welcoming staff and the free ranging geese, chickens and goats simply add to the wonderful atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Eddy Hampson

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing stay
We had a great time, the accommodation was amazing, perfect location, all the staff were very kind and very friendly and the food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Rickey Gregory

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next