Reviews - The Throckmorton

4

The Throckmorton, Coughton Hill,, Coughton, B49 5HX

Price From 78.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (78)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Knight

  • January 2016

We was made welcome straight away walking into a lovely clean pub excellent service polite staff

The pub is undergoing re furbishment none of which disturbed us, the pub has excellent service, cleanliness, and the food is outstanding and served quick and hot.

I have no doubt I will be recommending and returning back to the Throckmorton in due course.

  • Sue L

  • December 2015

overnight stay

I would recommend staying here, I will probably stay again sometime next year.

  • Roger Macdonald

  • December 2015

The Throckmorton Arms

We noted, from a notice on the inside of the bedroom door of the room we stayed in (N0.9) that the room was due for renovation in 2016.

We were not advised of this before we made our booking. !!When we spoke to the proprietor she advised that the price( £144 for 3 nights) reflected that the room was due for renovation. We found the bedroom comfortable but very warm. The room was at the front of the hotel so if a window was opened to cool the room the there was considerable noise from the busy A395.( Hobsons choice). The bathroom was very small with little room to sit straight on the toilet without your knee catching the radiator and arm catching the toilet roll holder. We see no possibility of improving this without major alterations. Furthermore the side of the bath was damaged and would not stay in place.

  • A Corry

  • December 2015

Very tired appearance in urgent need of a major refit

Shower did not work properly only very cold water had to run the bath for a long time to get hot water For what I got it was over priced.

Won't be staying here again unless they offer it free.

  • Davina Pitt

  • December 2015

Excellent

  • Rachel N

  • October 2015

Warm welcome

A warm welcome, comfy bed and excellent breakfast.

Rooms were in need of update but it was advertised as being on the way.

  • Norman F

  • October 2015

The Throckmorton

The staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming.

The food was excellent. The only problem I had was with the heating which although turned off, came on during the night which caused the room to be far too hot. I reported this in the morning and it was seen to promptly. Unfortunately this also happened on the second night. I again reported it in the morning. The third and last night was no problem.

Again, I must emphasise that the staff were very helpful.

  • John M

  • October 2015

Short break

Good accommodation a bit dated but very clean

  • Kevin T

  • October 2015

Excellent value

I have stayed a few times now and will return as long as the prices do not go up too much when the rooms are refurbished next year.

The food is excellent - particularly breakfast - the staff are friendly and the rooms are good value, clean, well equipped and functional but possibly in need of the renovation promised for 2016

  • nina b

  • October 2015

Great place to stay

The Throckmorton is currently being refurbished and you can tell.

Having stayed here before we knew what to expect and were looking forward to the real fire and comfy sofa's. The downstairs has been upgraded and was really welcoming. The bedrooms are basic and I wouldn't use the shower, it was really worn. The "king-size" bed was two single beds pushed together. Also, the WIFI did not work in our room. To be fair the upstairs is due to be refurbished early 2016 and I am looking forward to staying there next year. The food is top class, if you stay here it is wise to book a table for dinner too. The staff are very polite and professional. Food prices were reasonable (two courses £15 pp) and there were 5 or 6 options for each course. Wine from around £12 a bottle. It's a lovely little place and once the work is finished I'm sure it would be well worth a visit. A good place to use for a base for Stratford and Warwick. The breakfast was very good quality and cooked to our liking. We will definitely be coming back!!