Reviews - The Throckmorton


The Throckmorton, Coughton Hill,, Coughton, B49 5HX

Price From 93.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (84)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Debbie B

  • September 2015

1 Night stay

The pub itself is very nice and the food and staff are great.

It does state that the rooms are on the agenda to be refurbished, yet the room we stayed in wasn't good, the shower arm/head falls off if moved (quite dangerous) does need looking into asap (room 1). Lighting poor and needs some updating, curtains/windows etc. We will stay again once the rooms have been transformed next year.

  • Lyn B

  • September 2015

1970s shabby but no chic

On arrival I was surprised by the difficulty of entry.

Lots of steps and winding pathways. Downstairs just refurbished so nice. Upstairs our bathroom was appalling. My husband was disgusted at the mould and dirt on the walls and curtain. I couldn't go in after use as once wet it was so foul smelling it made me wretch. Advised staff on duty who said the manager would call us later. He never did. Not happy.

  • Nigel H

  • September 2015

Just Perfect

Booked for our Anniversary and our stay couldn't have been better.

Room was beautiful, service and food was just perfect. I've stayed in a few hotels over the years and paid a lot more for a lesser experience. Highly recommended....

  • Karen M

  • September 2015

The Throckmorton

Friendly, helpful staff, bar and restaurant were very good.

Our room was spacious and light, very good wi fi. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • ross williams

  • August 2015


Very organised and efficient, excellent food and a good night's sleep.

  • Peter G

  • August 2015

Good choice for our 3 days away

Very nice place to stay food good, and restaurant prices reasonable.

Room clean, comfortable, but basic. No complaints, would stay again.

  • Nicholas Meredith

  • August 2015

A welcome return

This was not my first trip to the Throckmorton, and not even the first time I had been in the same room.

Everything was fine. The welcome and the staff in general were excellent. Dinner and breakfast were very good. The beer was good. The room I had is due for renovation, but apart from the bathroom doesn't look it. The bathroom is looking and feeling a little tired around the edges.

  • Nicholas M

  • July 2015

Sunday peace and quiet

When I arrived the bar and restaurant were busy with late Sunday lunchers, but an hour later when I wanted to eat everything was very quiet, and I had the place almost to myself.

The staff were good and friendly, the beer and food were excellent and I went to bed very happy and relaxed.

Breakfast too was quiet, good and pleasant.

A very nice way to end a heavy weekend and relax. Good value at quiet Sunday rates.

  • Jonathan G

  • July 2015

Thoroughly comfortable Throckmorton

We spent 3 nights at the Throckmorton to celebrate a special birthday.

It proved a wonderful base. We had a very clean, attractive and comfortable, large room, recently refurbished. The hotel went out of their way to provide an agreed welcome package (flowers, chocolates, drinks, etc - all to my own specific instructions.)

The hotel has a very comfortable, informal atmosphere, with excellent food available throughout the day and evening. Location is ideal for the Warwickshire countryside, Stratford-on-Avon and Warwick - as well as Coughton Court just across the road.

  • S Glen

  • July 2015

Our 1night stay

Stayed here for 1 night as we were going to a surprise Birthday party in Stratford , It's not too far out of town about 10mins, The staff were very polite, and the breakfast in the morning was superb, I asked for a omelette which was not on the breakfast menu and it was no problem at all.

And our waitress was lovely. Would definitely stay here again,very good value for money.