No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tree Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 TREE LANE , OXFORD, OX4 4EY
A warm welcome awaits you at The Tree where our excellent facilities and personal service provide for all the homely comforts and ambience of a friendly, family run hotel. Why not visit the award-winning Annora restaurant famed for it's fine International cuisine.The Tree is situated in the tranquil village of Iffley, only 2 miles from the City Centre, within a 5 minute walk off the river Isis and Iffley Lock and a half hour river side walk to the city centre with its famous colleges and dreaming spires. City Sightseeing:We can make all the arrangements for your sightseeing tours. Whether you prefer an open-top bus or a walk around the colleges you will leave no stone of Oxford unturned! First class accommodation The rooms at the Tree Hotel are designed to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Guests will enjoy our first class accommodation furnished to a high standard. Choice of Single, Twin and Family rooms available.
Facilities All rooms have en-suite facilities with colour television, direct dial telephone, Free WiFi in public areas, hairdryer, trouser press and hospitality tray.Room rates include a good old-fashioned English breakfast. Also included:Free car park Child-friendly focus and attitude, high chairs are provided Full access to the award winning Annora International Restaurant (serving and hotel bar.
Picture of Tree Hotel, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not at all bad for an emergency stay
I found the Tree Hotel, Iffley, at the last minute through laterooms.com. I would normally spend more time shopping around, but it matched my rushed criteria of 'not too expensive', 'en suite' and 'free parking'.
I made the booking on my phone and found that the period of time when check-in was possible was not very clearly specified (14:00-14:00...?). For this reason I rang ahead to confirm when check-in closed. Though certainly not rude, I found the service at this stage a little abrupt. Perhaps due to the late hour. When I arrived at the hotel I found the service, while still not poor, less than perfect. This, however, was certainly not an issue when I left, as the waitress who served breakfast was very friendly.
The room was clean and well presented, though I felt that the quality somewhat lacked due to the slight mismatch of furniture and style.
As someone who does not often stay in hotels it is difficult for me to accurately assess the value for money of the Tree Hotel. However I would personally have expected a little more for an £85.00 room.
The food was very good and I suspect the restaurant side of the hotel would be very worth a visit.

Reviewed by
L Jackson-Ross

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Tree Hotel 2014
The location of the hotel was good for us as it was near to the river and Iffley Locks with a walking distance of half an hour into the city of Oxford, some great sight seeing opportunities en route.
The room we stayed in was large but rather dated, but clean .
The hotel was friendly and used by local residents as well as guests.
We ate out during our stay but the food being served looked very good.
Overall a good hotel to stop in.

Reviewed by
mark s

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location Good.
Nice village of Iffly . Would suit someone on a one night Bed & Breakfast but do not expect to much on that score. The cook can not even poach an egg they were both hard a bullets. Being kept awake by late night drinkers downstairs that eventually came stumbling upstairs at 02.45 making a racket did not make for a good nights sleep. I am not sure that the staff were with them or they are even on the premises to help the other patrons sleep. All in all not very satisfied.

Reviewed by
M Offord

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Wanted somewhere as a base to explore Oxford, the Tree Hotel was a lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
S Furby

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality and poor value for money. Do NOT recommend this hotel
superficially acceptable but very quickly it is apparent the accommodation is poorly maintained and dirty. Whilst the bed linen was acceptably clean the bathroom and shower were totally unacceptable.
The staff were disinterested and the quality of the cooked breakfast was poor, preheated and dried out. The hotel was not full and could not be used as an excuse.
Definitely unable to recommend this hotel and will not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night in the tree hotel, Oxford
Staff were very friendly and always keen to help so I can't fault them on that. The only criticisms I can give are that the hotel WiFi didn't work in my room and that the room itself wasn't entirely clean with cobwebs and dust about.

Reviewed by
Iain H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little pub with rooms
Had mixed experiences in terms of the room I have had some are in better shape than others; its a bit tired.

Reviewed by
Jayne M

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor, dated and filthy accommodation
The accommodation is very dated and very filthy. It was clear to me that my bed linen had fleas in from the numerous amount of flea bites I had from the first nights stay. Everything needs updating : the furniture, the bathrooms, the paintwork and the carpets all throughout. I was on a business trip, being self employed I was down oxford to interview several people. The week before I had stayed and it was not a problem for me to have guests that I was interviewing in my room. This time, 2 of my very important business clients had been refused entry in to the hotel on grounds that I simply did not ask the permission of the hotel manager. This hadn't been a problem the week before, and no where inn late rooms or booking.com does it stipulate that when you pay for a double room, that you have to ask the permission of the hotel manager to have guests visit. I received a full refund only after kicking some fuss, I wasn't going to continue spending my trip in this hotel, after only been checked in for 3 hours initially I was refused a full refund for my first night.
The only good thing about the hotel is the location which is picturesque and an idyllic place with beautiful surrounds. As for the hotel itself it should be knocked down and be rebuilt.

Reviewed by
C T

From , England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great last minute find!
I booked at the last minute and got a great deal on my room. It was very spacious and clean and the bed was really comfy. The staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast was surprisingly good. The area was safe and I was happy to go for walks in the evening on my own.

Reviewed by
Leanne G

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel staff were very friendly and well organised; however the bedroom whilst large was in need of refurbishment. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
S Kemp

From Stansted, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next