No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newburgh Guesthouse

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
14 Scarborough Road , Torquay, TQ2 5UJ
Your home from home, a warm welcome awaits you at this family run Victorian guest house. All of rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, and centrally heated. The Newburgh is centrally located in Torquay, just a short stroll to the Riviera Conference Centre, guests are 10 minutes walk from the beach, train and bus stations, theatre and all of the local amenities. We are situated on a quiet road off within the Belgravia conservation area, away from the main hustle and bustle, but close to all amenities.

Built in 1861, the Newburgh has been updated without losing its historical charm. En suite rooms at the Newburgh each feature a TV with Freeview channels, complimentary beverages, towels, toiletries, in fact all of the luxuries associated with a self assessed 4 star accommodation.

All of the guest house’s traditional English breakfasts are cooked freshly while you wait.
Guests at the Newburgh are well - located in the conservation area of Belgravia. Torquay’s selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs are just a few minutes’ stroll away.

Unfortunately as we are a family run guest house we do not accept bookings from groups/stags/hens, sorry.
Picture of Newburgh Guesthouse, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb reception , great location , such a relaxing break knowing your room is clean and tidy , would recommend this B and B to anyone

Reviewed by
D GEORGE

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and sociable hosts,Nigel and Lynne were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We will definately return.

Reviewed by
N Cummins

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekend
Very nice, clean and welcoming b & b. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
David Perks

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer service at Newburgh Guesthouse
Nigel and Lynn made us feel as if we came up to see good friends and stay in their home. They were absolutely brilliant. They don't only provide a room and breakfast but also lots and lots of information about the area and lovely chat and smiles all round during breakfast. The guesthouse is also about 5/10 minutes walk from the harbor and town's center which is very convenient.
We would definitely recommend to everyone to visit Torquay and if so to stay at the Newburgh Guesthouse.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break in torquay
The Newburgh Guesthouse is a great place to stay. The room was lovely pleanty of space with an ensuit. The shower took a little while to warm up the first time we used it but it was fine for the rest of our stay. The beds are fairly comftable and the owners were a lovely couple very friendly with a good knoeledge of the local area. they have leaflets of places to visit and a map of the area so that you can find your way around. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food. There's parking for two cars round the back of the building with street parking on both sides of the road(If you can find a space) with no restrictions. Torquay is a lovely place to stay with lots to do and see. I would recomend the Newburgh to anyone We will defenatly be going back there next year

Reviewed by
V Pastornicka

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a wonderful 5 nights stay warm and friendly hosts

Reviewed by
derek smith

From yateley, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LOVELY STAY!
We were lucky to be the only guests for the weekend and were given a very warm welcome from Nigel & Lynne. The breakfast was excellent and our hosts local knowledge was extremely helpful.
One slight downside was the choice of pillows which perhaps could do with being a little softer, although this is really only nitpicking as on the whole we had a wonderful stay. Thank you again for your hospitality.

Reviewed by
A Sadler

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant weekend!
When we arrived at the Guest House we got a very friendly welcome from Lynne and felt at home straight away. We didn't know what we wanted to do when we got to Torquay and Lynne's knowledge of the area and ideas about what to do and where to go was brilliant. What made this weekend for us was the 'extras' that Nigel and Lynne did for us. Lynne used to bring us a jug of fresh milk for our evening drinks when we got in and Nigel's breakfast were wonderful. I have to point out the room did have plentiful coffee, little milk cartons etc and this was the extra effort Lynne went to to provide for our needs. I have quite bad dust allergies and always struggle when staying at hotels. But I didn't even have a sniffle as the rooms were so clean. We loved going down to breakfast as Lynne and Nigel were such good company and had us laughing all through breakfast. We will definitely stay here again, the hotel is ideally situated for Torquay, Brixham, Babbacombe and we used public transport all weekend as the bus stop was so handy. Thanks Lynne and Nigel for a fabulous weekend and looking after us so well x x

Reviewed by
P Dixon

From Scunthorpe, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay At Newburgh Guesthouse B&B
Had a great stay here, Lynne & Nigel could not do enough for us both. Very friendly couple, breakfast was great, kept us going till dinner time. This was our first time in Torquay and we loved every minute of our stay. I would highly recommend Torquay and the Newburgh GuestHouse B&B to all !! Fantastic.

Reviewed by
m garbett

From Cannock, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice Hosts
Very pleasant five days . Hosts had great local knowledge very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
J Darmody

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next