No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mandolay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
36 London Road , Guildford, GU1 2AE
Built in the 19th-century and set in a quiet location close to the centre of Guilford, The Mandolay Hotel and Conference Centre is an impressive 4 Star hotel offering a bar/ restaurant, superb conference facilities and free, unrestricted high speed wireless internet access throughout. Some free car parking is available, whilst spaces may be reserved at a small charge for those wishing to guarantee a parking space.

Guests have a range of dining options from our all day coffee shop or terrace snack menu to a more substantial lunch or dinner in our restaurant, m.Brasserie. All food is responsibly sourced and seasonal menu changes reflect all that's best in local produce. Our belief in serving excellent food in a simple yet elegant manner has won many plaudits and we pride ourselves on our excellent local reputation.

The Mandolay Conference Centre has been designed in such a way as to be flexible enough to hold in excess of 500 delegates at any time. Soundproof walls between each room may be removed to provide numerous configurations of size and shape depending on the format of the event as well as offering facilities such as independently operated contemporary lighting, an integral projection and audio system, air conditioning and a dedicated support team.

Our town centre location makes us ideal for exploring everything that the famous Guildford High Street has to offer and we are just 100 metres from the fabulous G Live Entertainment Venue whilst the wide open space of Stoke Park is a mere 10-minute walk from our front door and the world renowned RHS Wisley is just fifteen minutes away by car.

Picture of Mandolay  Hotel, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 158 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
I have stayed here before and it was nice then. They have since had a refurbishment and the interior is fantastic. Staff were pleasant, and the restaurant and bar area were modern and cosy.

Reviewed by
david ingall

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel - shame about a couple of small things
Overall our stay at the Mandolay Hotel was great, we were in Guildford for a university open day, we arrived at about 11pm, we were greeted by a polite man and found we had been upgraded for free to another room. The room was beautifully decorated and featured a coffee machine and TV. The shower was powerful and hot.
The only problem with the hotel was that we found long black hairs between the sheets and there was toothpaste residue in the glasses in the bathroom.

Reviewed by
M Hooper

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guildford near the centre
Good hotel that has undergone refurb and changes since I was here last. Clean, tidy room which was ideal for my needs. Nice bar at front with outside seating areas and food looked good from what I saw but I did not eat there.
Only downside for me was parking is extra if the 15 spaces at the front are full when you arrive and that is not stated on Laterooms.

Reviewed by
M WOODWARD

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charge per room varies highly depending on when and how you book
The main issue I have is paying for parking when you are already paying for accommodation!

Reviewed by
N Mingay

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the road to Mandalay !
Only 47 stairs to reach the bedroom as there are no lifts, and inadequate parking spaces for the number of rooms. Food is excellent but not cheap....Continental Breakfast is £10 per head and cooked is £15. The "no lift" problem will be unacceptable for a lot of mature visitors, who will also not like the size of the standard bedrooms, where the shower and toilet and "mini hand basin have been "squeezed" in, nor the squeaking floorboards. "Superior" rooms may be more accessible, but stairs wherever your room is situated. A typical "old" property which has been the recipient of a make-over.

Reviewed by
M Venning

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally recommended
Stayed oer night when visiting Guildford. A little hard to find initially and was given conflicting info from 2 different people locally when asked for directions. Eventually found hotel, 5 minutes walk from shopping centre - well worth visiting. Our room was at the front of the hotel and overlooked the road. Although it wasn't noisy from traffic, we could here people talking that were sititng outside. We kept the windows closed but there is a fan in the room if you need it.
The room was a standard double, small but well planned and comfortable, a small shower room, again clean and well stocked with complimentary toiletries.
Staff at the hotel were very attentive and several offered help if required, we asked for directions to Leatherhead and Ugne was extremely helpful providing us with a printed map from online. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff, even though they were busy with a wedding party also.
The only draw back was the parking, the website doesn't seem to metion it but there is very limited free parking but you do have the option of paying for 24 hours at a cost of £8 which I personally did. This also allowed us to pop into town in the morning before we left.
A very pleasant experience which I would happily repeat.

Reviewed by
K Middleton

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Stayed at this hotel many time and have had no problems. Nice staff and good meals.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Great hotel, lovely room, could do with air conditioning but a fan was provided in the room and for once it's been very warm in the UK so I'm not complaining.

Reviewed by
B F G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
Lovely hotel would definitely stay there again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't really say anything about the food because we didn't eat at the hotel but the only downfall was there was no air conditioning in the room we were in. Pointless comment really but we stayed there on one of the hottest days of the year...there was a little fan in the room but it only helped a little but other than that fantastic hotel and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
K Donachie

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a good location
Room was nice, but small and very hot. £8 overnight parking 'at own risk' was a bit unnecessary seeing as it is on-site; for >£100 for the night, do they really have to charge for parking too? Staff were good and it's very handy for town.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next