No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mandolay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
36 London Road , Guildford, GU1 2AE
Built in the 19th-century and set in a quiet location close to the centre of Guilford, The Mandolay Hotel and Conference Centre is an impressive 4 Star hotel offering a bar/ restaurant, superb conference facilities and free, unrestricted high speed wireless internet access throughout. Some free car parking is available, whilst spaces may be reserved at a small charge for those wishing to guarantee a parking space.

Guests have a range of dining options from our all day coffee shop or terrace snack menu to a more substantial lunch or dinner in our restaurant, m.Brasserie. All food is responsibly sourced and seasonal menu changes reflect all that's best in local produce. Our belief in serving excellent food in a simple yet elegant manner has won many plaudits and we pride ourselves on our excellent local reputation.

The Mandolay Conference Centre has been designed in such a way as to be flexible enough to hold in excess of 500 delegates at any time. Soundproof walls between each room may be removed to provide numerous configurations of size and shape depending on the format of the event as well as offering facilities such as independently operated contemporary lighting, an integral projection and audio system, air conditioning and a dedicated support team.

Our town centre location makes us ideal for exploring everything that the famous Guildford High Street has to offer and we are just 100 metres from the fabulous G Live Entertainment Venue whilst the wide open space of Stoke Park is a mere 10-minute walk from our front door and the world renowned RHS Wisley is just fifteen minutes away by car.

Picture of Mandolay  Hotel, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 154 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The short straw
I booked a single room for 1 person for Friday night for a business trip to Guildford. For fifty quid, you expect that you're getting a deal, however with breakfast an additional £15, and it being quite possibly the smallest, most compact room you've ever stayed in, it really isn't value for money. Terribly disappointing for the price you pay - thankfully I didn't need to spend much time in the room at all and only stayed one night. Not staying again.

Reviewed by
Joseph R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Nice clean hotel with pleasant staff. Nice big bar area with a relaxed atmosphere. food is above average. Would stay again, no question.

Reviewed by
Glenn C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value in Surrey?
Many places that look great in reception soon look less so once you've checked in, but the Mandolay is the same quality throughout. Rooms excellent, beds really, really comfortable and a quality feel to all the fitments and furniture. If you ignore bar and breakfast prices and all Hotels overcharge there anyway don't they? Then this is a genuine bargain and we will be staying again whenever we are within striking distance of Guildford.

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mandolay Hotel
I was supposed to stay at The Mandolay hotel for one night and because I was enjoying being there so much. I ended up staying for 3 nights.
The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them especially the receptionist Hallie.

Reviewed by
S Peters

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location - easy access
A very good hotel, rooms were in excellent condition and staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
david ingall

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mandolay Hotel
bed was so comfortable, lovely fresh clean duvet and pillows. towels fluffy.

Reviewed by
d haynes

From Cobham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Great location with fantastic staff, lovely room and bar. Walls a little thin, upstairs were enjoying themselves until the early hours!!!

Reviewed by
D James

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and good value
Having booked a 'superior' room we were upgraded at check-in to an 'executive' room, which was very comfortable and quite large. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. My only slight grouch was that the pillows were too soft, so ... not much to complain about there!
Breakfast was good, except the scrambled egg. I don't think the chef had come across the concept before because it was a kind of mangled omelette and not scrambled egg at all. Breakfast staff I would say were lacklustre.

Reviewed by
Alistair P

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mandolay Hotel
Clean, good posssition

Reviewed by
PANAGIOTIS D

From Greece
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely nights stay
Really enjoyable stay but breakfast was quite expensive.

Reviewed by
j saker

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next