No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mandolay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
36 London Road , Guildford, GU1 2AE
Built in the 19th-century and set in a quiet location close to the centre of Guilford, The Mandolay Hotel and Conference Centre is an impressive 4 Star hotel offering a bar/ restaurant, superb conference facilities and free, unrestricted high speed wireless internet access throughout. Some free car parking is available, whilst spaces may be reserved at a small charge for those wishing to guarantee a parking space.

Guests have a range of dining options from our all day coffee shop or terrace snack menu to a more substantial lunch or dinner in our restaurant, m.Brasserie. All food is responsibly sourced and seasonal menu changes reflect all that's best in local produce. Our belief in serving excellent food in a simple yet elegant manner has won many plaudits and we pride ourselves on our excellent local reputation.

The Mandolay Conference Centre has been designed in such a way as to be flexible enough to hold in excess of 500 delegates at any time. Soundproof walls between each room may be removed to provide numerous configurations of size and shape depending on the format of the event as well as offering facilities such as independently operated contemporary lighting, an integral projection and audio system, air conditioning and a dedicated support team.

Our town centre location makes us ideal for exploring everything that the famous Guildford High Street has to offer and we are just 100 metres from the fabulous G Live Entertainment Venue whilst the wide open space of Stoke Park is a mere 10-minute walk from our front door and the world renowned RHS Wisley is just fifteen minutes away by car.

Picture of Mandolay  Hotel, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely nights stay
Really enjoyable stay but breakfast was quite expensive.

Reviewed by
j saker

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mandolay Hotel
An impressive hotel in a great location. Good bar and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Charlotte Danaher

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremly friendly and helpful hotel, two minutes walk to town centre

Reviewed by
Steven Scott

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff, great location but could be quieter and cleaner.
I stayed for one night with my partner in a Superior room.
The hotel looks great inside and out and has a pleasing and modern style.
I booked a superior room with the thoughts that it would be a bigger and better room and less noisy than a standard. I was wrong. We had foxes screaming for a good 10-15 minutes outside our window on the ground floor late at night which wasn't pleasant to be woken up by.
The rooms are neat, clean and tidy to the eye, ours only had a toilet and shower no bath tub. There was also no mini bar in the room which would have been useful.
I used the coffee mugs to make coffee but as soon as I poured the water I could see stains appear on the coffee mugs and the spoons looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. The coffee went down the sink after that.
The bed was comfortable but small, the sheets and pillow cases were clean. The temperature in the room got too high at night even with the heating off and because of the foxes and rain outside I didn't want to open the window.
I only used the bar for a bottle of rather expensive water at £4 a bottle. I had no choice because shops around the area had already closed. But the staff appeared friendly enough and the bar looked good.
In a nutshell, the hotel has good staff, it is a good looking hotel, it is relatively clean, not the quietest given my experience and it has a very good location.

Reviewed by
Shahanur C

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mandolay Hotel
Hotel room lovely although bathroom very very small, felt like a closet!

Reviewed by
P Marks

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, good value.

Reviewed by
Catherine F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome Break
Centrally located as it is a few minutes walk to the centre of town, clean room with plenty of space, bathroom provided with an array of bathroom accessories, tea caddy with an assortment of teabags.
Good value considering the location of the Hotel

Reviewed by
M Aaron

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overpriced, over rated
we booked a double room, we was given room number 8, it was tiny like a small box room, with a single shower and toilet in a tiny cupboard room, it was almost laughable, no air conditioning, the room was baking hot and a single old loud fan was supplied, the tv volume was cut off at level 14 and with the fan running you couldn't hear a thing, the heat was unbearable and the window opened only 4 inches, when we asked for at least another fan we was told no. people running up and down the corridor shouting loudly all through the early hours of the morning, parking was very poor, only a few spaces out in front, we was told to park out on the road to which finding a space is nearly impossible and is ticketed, for a 4 star hotel this is very bad, I have stayed in fantastic 3 star hotels with bigger rooms and better service. the prices are ridiculous for drinks and food and really not worth it, wont be staying again, the only thing going for it is it is very close to the town center.

Reviewed by
NICHOLAS C

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room for the money paid

Reviewed by
F Scott

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont go if you want a good nights sleep on a saturday night!
The noise level/base sound coming from the bar/venue was so bad that we could not get to sleep until it was over! Not ideal if you have an early start the next day or if you have a young family. Otherwise the room was adequate and clean if on the small side, and pricey for what you get. Generally a hotel for the late night party animal.

Reviewed by
d rogers

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next