Reviews - The Mandolay Hotel


36 to 40 London Road, Guildford, GU1 2AE

Price From 142.88 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (97)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • E Brown

  • November 2015

Luxury escape

Bed was very comfy.

only let down by the smallness of the room and the noisy road outside.

  • Alistair P

  • November 2015

Pleasant and comfortable but very noisy

A pleasant, comfortable room.

Clean and well presented. Pleasant welcome at reception. However the landing was plagued by a swarm of very noisy and drunk young people between 2 and 4 am. Running around, speaking loudly in the corridor, even shouting, banging doors and pounding up and down the stairs. The hotel staff seemed oblivious and took no action, but were apologetic afterwards.

  • Jo T

  • October 2015

Great hotel but avoid room 46

The hotel was very convenient for the town with an attractive bar and outside seating.

However our Room 46 was in the basement beneath reception. It was dark with no view and we were woken at 6am by ?luggage. being wheeled over the skylight. Definitely not worth the money!

  • Colin B

  • August 2015

Elegent old-style hotel with all the modern facilities.

I needed to stay 1 night in Guildford and the Mandolay seemed to be the best choice I could find at a reasonable price.

The room (and the hotel in general) wasn't too hot, which is a problem I find in many UK hotels in the Summer. The room was rather small, but obviously restricted by the original building layout itself - looked like the en-suite was built inside what would have been a larger room originally of the late Victorian / Edwardian building. Great view from the window, in that it was impossible to catch even a glimpse of Guildford Cathedral - one of the ugliest constructions in the South of England which is responsible for spoiling the vista from almost every point in this, otherwise delightful, city.

  • Mary F

  • August 2015


clean, very pleasant room.

  • Philip B

  • July 2015

one night stay

Executive room on ground floor.

Quiet and roomy for one. Wet room bathroom excellent although when I returned from breakfast the shower drain was gurgling and the smell of drain water was quite strong. Had to wait nearly ten minutes at reception on arrival as the receptionist was on the phone all that time to a potential customer. My room had no remote for the TV but I asked at reception and one was brought within ten minutes.

  • Lesley W

  • July 2015

The Mandolay Hotel

Very high standard of decor the room was of a good size and had everything you needed.

The hotel staff were very polite and exceptionally well presented. We arrived quite late but there was bar food available which again was of a high standard, the only negative was that the food was a little expensive. We had a slight issue with the parking as I hadn't realised that you had to reserve a space, but the receptionist knew where to direct us to for nearby parking. However we eventually managed to get a space at the front of the hotel - ensure you reserve parking at time of booking.

  • Edwin H

  • June 2015

Generally okay, but...

Nice hotel, room clean, nicely decorated, but I had a double room (room 7) for single occupancy.

I would not have wanted to share the room with my wife, or anybody else for that matter. It was quite a small room for a double. Shower/wc room is very small. Water pressure very low hence a trickle of a shower. The BBC channels on the TV had very poor reception in the evening and in the following morning. The hotel does not have much of a car park and so when I arrived at 9pm there were no spaces. They offered a space in a gated car park around the back of the hotel for £10 per night. I eventually parked in a street opposite the hotel which was free until 8.30am in the morning. Would I stay again. Only if there was nothing else avalable locally.

  • G Topham

  • June 2015

The Mandolay Hotel

TV in room did not work.

Low water pressure prevented the shower working correctly.

  • Gary P

  • June 2015

Top of the hotel but not top on the list

Long climb up to room and expensive breakfast