You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Mandolay Hotel

4

36 to 40 London Road, Guildford, GU1 2AE

Price From 150.81 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Elaine B

  • August 2016

The Mandolay Hotel

The main hotel was beautiful and fascilities were good but little surprised we were not in the main hotel but a converted garage which the staff refered to as ' the coach house '!!!

  • p matthews

  • July 2016

Nice hotel but no one said we had to pre book parking but luckily we found somewhere

Wanted £17 per person for a cooked breakfast which was politely declined

  • M Ingram

  • December 2015

Holiday Season Accomodation

Despite an upgrade on arrival to an executive room, the room was tight for space, the double bed too small both length ways and width ways and suffered from a noisy fan outside.

We ate in the bar on the evening of our arrival and thought the burgers were overpriced for what they were, particularly the additional £2 paid to add what turned out to be one small slice of mushroom.

  • Sarah H

  • December 2015

Get the basics right!

Only need the basics right but not great.

Only one towel in room. Small bathroom with shelf above toilet but very cramped. Shower a dribble.

  • E Brown

  • November 2015

Luxury escape

Bed was very comfy.

only let down by the smallness of the room and the noisy road outside.

  • Alistair P

  • November 2015

Pleasant and comfortable but very noisy

A pleasant, comfortable room.

Clean and well presented. Pleasant welcome at reception. However the landing was plagued by a swarm of very noisy and drunk young people between 2 and 4 am. Running around, speaking loudly in the corridor, even shouting, banging doors and pounding up and down the stairs. The hotel staff seemed oblivious and took no action, but were apologetic afterwards.

  • Jo T

  • October 2015

Great hotel but avoid room 46

The hotel was very convenient for the town with an attractive bar and outside seating.

However our Room 46 was in the basement beneath reception. It was dark with no view and we were woken at 6am by ?luggage. being wheeled over the skylight. Definitely not worth the money!

  • Colin B

  • August 2015

Elegent old-style hotel with all the modern facilities.

I needed to stay 1 night in Guildford and the Mandolay seemed to be the best choice I could find at a reasonable price.

The room (and the hotel in general) wasn't too hot, which is a problem I find in many UK hotels in the Summer. The room was rather small, but obviously restricted by the original building layout itself - looked like the en-suite was built inside what would have been a larger room originally of the late Victorian / Edwardian building. Great view from the window, in that it was impossible to catch even a glimpse of Guildford Cathedral - one of the ugliest constructions in the South of England which is responsible for spoiling the vista from almost every point in this, otherwise delightful, city.

  • Mary F

  • August 2015

perfect

clean, very pleasant room.

  • Philip B

  • July 2015

one night stay

Executive room on ground floor.

Quiet and roomy for one. Wet room bathroom excellent although when I returned from breakfast the shower drain was gurgling and the smell of drain water was quite strong. Had to wait nearly ten minutes at reception on arrival as the receptionist was on the phone all that time to a potential customer. My room had no remote for the TV but I asked at reception and one was brought within ten minutes.