No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mandolay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
36 London Road , Guildford, GU1 2AE
Built in the 19th-century and set in a quiet location close to the centre of Guilford, The Mandolay Hotel and Conference Centre is an impressive 4 Star hotel offering a bar/ restaurant, superb conference facilities and free, unrestricted high speed wireless internet access throughout. Some free car parking is available, whilst spaces may be reserved at a small charge for those wishing to guarantee a parking space.

Guests have a range of dining options from our all day coffee shop or terrace snack menu to a more substantial lunch or dinner in our restaurant, m.Brasserie. All food is responsibly sourced and seasonal menu changes reflect all that's best in local produce. Our belief in serving excellent food in a simple yet elegant manner has won many plaudits and we pride ourselves on our excellent local reputation.

The Mandolay Conference Centre has been designed in such a way as to be flexible enough to hold in excess of 500 delegates at any time. Soundproof walls between each room may be removed to provide numerous configurations of size and shape depending on the format of the event as well as offering facilities such as independently operated contemporary lighting, an integral projection and audio system, air conditioning and a dedicated support team.

Our town centre location makes us ideal for exploring everything that the famous Guildford High Street has to offer and we are just 100 metres from the fabulous G Live Entertainment Venue whilst the wide open space of Stoke Park is a mere 10-minute walk from our front door and the world renowned RHS Wisley is just fifteen minutes away by car.

Picture of Mandolay  Hotel, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
Lovely hotel would definitely stay there again. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't really say anything about the food because we didn't eat at the hotel but the only downfall was there was no air conditioning in the room we were in. Pointless comment really but we stayed there on one of the hottest days of the year...there was a little fan in the room but it only helped a little but other than that fantastic hotel and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
K Donachie

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a good location
Room was nice, but small and very hot. £8 overnight parking 'at own risk' was a bit unnecessary seeing as it is on-site; for >£100 for the night, do they really have to charge for parking too? Staff were good and it's very handy for town.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Weekend
Staff are friendly and helpful. Double room was comfy and clean. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family as it's in a perfect location just two mins from the high street!

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

large family room
We stayed here for 1 night with our 2 young children in one of their family rooms. There is not much parking out the front and you had to pay extra for parking at the back. The room was ready early for us to get into which was a bonus and the staff were friendly. The room itself was large and clean with a double bed and 2 singles which is much better than the sofa beds which are usually provided in family rooms. There was a fan provided which was lucky as the room became very warm overnight. No fridge unfortunately though.
We had the 'unlimited' breakfast which is not really unlimited as my husband asked for extra bacon which was not provided, saying that, the breakfast was very good though. There didn't seem to be a reduction for the children's breakfasts and we thought £10 for a bowl of cereal was a bit steep.
Overall though a really nice overnight stay with comfortable beds.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in this hotel - last time in this hotel
very Noisy (room 46) - employee speaking very loudly very early in the morning in a coridor nearby
Bed of poor quality
unexperimented employees

Reviewed by
O De Roquemaurel

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comments on room and room for improvement
The room itself was lovely, compact but with everything I needed. The bed was comfy and the accommodation was clean. The disappointing element was that the bathroom had damp along the back wall with paint peeling off and nasty looking brown drip marks where clearly there was mould or damp. I reported this to reception who shrugged their shoulders and said the room needed renovating - I felt that my feedback would simply be ignored. Check in was quick and smooth and staff were friendly and provided local maps etc. One final thing, my room rate included parking. When I arrived the front car park was full so I drove to the rear car park where you needed to buzz to get in, I gave my name and reservation reference and was let in. The next day the gentleman on front desk tried to charge me an addition fee for parking stating that the free parking was at the front. I was not informed of this and so argued the point and he waived the fee - this needs to be pointed out on arrival and not as a mic surprise when leaving.

Reviewed by
Jennifer F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible value
Room 51 reeked of rotting drains - I mentioned this to the manager who said "thanks", we went here for our anniversary and were really disappointed, although the bar staff and restaurant staff were very attentive the manager had no interest inout problems. we were there on a Saturday night in the restaurant and were the only people in there, why? the food was extremely disappointing. A real shame as it looked nice and a lovely setting but more managers and obviously not a great chef.

Reviewed by
Greg Conn

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly service from staff, especially at reception. the room was a good size, though a bit dark, with a comfortable bed. the bathroom was small but not constricting, with a good shower, but short of space to hang towels. my room was in the coach house, an annexe a short walk around the side of the main building and nicely quiet despite the presence of a large wedding party going on. altogether a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Fiona M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel in a top location
Very welcoming hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful. Perfect for stepping out into a sunny evening in Guildford. A great retreat. Our room was an attic room and as it was a hot night the room did get very warm but would stay again. Location was perfect.

Reviewed by
Jennifer T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service, staff, communication and welcome e was superb. very friendly and accommodating. highly recommend

Reviewed by
Ian Q

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next