You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Royal Hotel

4

Dockray Ullswater, Penrith, CA11 0JY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Liz S

  • July 2016

Excellent stay at a lovely hotel

Great value for money - one night stay and a very pleasant experience.

  • Claire Brogan

  • May 2016

Our booking had not been made

When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff said our booking had not been received by LateRooms.

Luckily the hotel found us alternative accommodation which was a relief as we had travelled up for a wedding. We were worried that we had a wasted journey and that it would be impossible to find alternative accommodation as it was Good Friday. It had taken us 4 hours to get to the hotel due to heavy traffic. I would appreciate it if you could look into why our booking was not made as I received a confirmation email when I booked on 7/2/16. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and we were disappointed not to have been able to stay there.

  • Steven W

  • March 2016

An especially nice location

Characterful building with some discreet modern upgrades.

Rooms comfortable and warm. Staff spot on, food very nice indeed. Combination of buffet breakfast PLUS main breakfast dish of choice specially prepared is a winner. Only downside is that walls separating rooms are - as other reviewers claim - pretty thin. IF you have noisy neighbours this could be a nuisance. Overall a great experience though.

  • A Mellor

  • February 2016

A Gem in The Lake District

Recently stayed at The Royal Hotel and really looking forward to returning.

Quality beers, food and very comfortable warm accomodation, outstanding value for money.

  • zoe bishop

  • October 2015

Lovely hotel

The hotel was lovely extremely clean and tidy the rooms were very big the food was amazing both in the bar and the breakfast the next day.

The location was simply gorgeous and the staff were very helpful. I'd DEFINITELY stay at this b&b again.

  • Simon love

  • April 2015

Paper thin walls

We booked a double room and had twin beds pushed together with two single duvets.

Walls were paper thin and could hear the slightest movement in adjacent bedrooms. The noise of the hot water system was excessive and loud. Breakfast was spoiled by waiting for 10 minutes for toast (as they only had one toaster!) whilst the food got cold. Shame as it is in such a wonderful location

  • shaun h

  • January 2015

Lovely break

great hospitality, warm, comfortable room with huge bed , great bathroom which was spotlessly clean.

Evening meal was fabulous as was the cooked breakfast the next morning. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were polite and friendly. Definitely stay again!!

  • Raymond C

  • November 2014

A welcome break.

Very comfortable room would definitely stay again.

  • Chris J

  • September 2014

Happy stays

Friendly reception, comfortable room with space to accommodate our dog.

Staff welcoming and helpful.