No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Dockray Ullswater, Penrith, CA11 0JY
Nestled peacefully amongst the Eastern Lakeland Fells and located on many of the best-loved Lakeland walks, this charming country retreat is ideal for a peaceful break in Dockray.

Run by a charismatic and friendly family, the Inn provides a relaxed, informal but efficient service, well suited to the Lakeland way of life. The Helvellyn and High Street mountain ranges are right on the doorstep, which makes The Royal Hotel an ideal and comfortable base for walkers.

The facilities include 10 en suite bedrooms, a large restaurant and a bar that boasts a fine selection of wines, locally produced Real Ales and malt whiskies.

Picture of Royal Hotel, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms very small and noisy

Reviewed by
N SHAW

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only a short but enjoyable stay
We only stayed at the Royal for one night but the service was helpful and cheerful, the accommodation was just what we needed, and the food in the hotel was excellent. Try the iron steak with chips - the best I've ever tasted! The hot-cross bun and butter pudding was interesting too!

Reviewed by
D Powell

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little Hotel in the Country
Lovely staff, and clean rooms, what more could you ask for!!

Reviewed by
John S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great accommodation in a lovely spot
Fantastic location and fantastic food.

Reviewed by
S Bailey

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing weekend in Ullswater
We stayed for 2 nights at the Royal and had a brilliant time. The hotel is located very close to Aira Force and just a short drive to Ullswater lake. It took us less than 10 minutes to drive to the Glenridding pier for the Ullswater Steamers.
The service was fantastic, fast and friendly all weekend - Kerry is lovely and made our stay very enjoyable.
Our superior rooms were on the middle and top floor (rooms 6 and 9) - no problems at all with heating like others have mentioned. It was very quiet at night and the beds were SO comfortable. Decor was lovely and the bathrooms were well decorated and clean.
The food was so good that we ate in the restaurant both nights and breakfast was perfect to set us up for a day walking by the lake. Prices are about average for a pub in the Lakes, and you certainly get value for money in terms of quality.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend a stay at The Royal if you want a relaxing, stress free trip to the lakes.

Reviewed by
Felicity M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
Lovely place, friendly staff, food was really good and the room was cosy and tasteful. Over all a very good experience, only down side was I would have preferred a double duvet to two singles, made it a bit awkward.

Reviewed by
Amba W

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint but dowdy...?
On arrival at the hotel it seemed quaint and picturesque. The decoration inside was appropriate to the age of the hotel but slightly tired and in need of a good dust. The bed in the room was enormous and bedding clean and appropriate and the room was warm and comfortable... but hardly a superior room which is what we had booked. There was dampness and wallpaper hanging off the wall. There were several squares of tester paint colours on three walls which suggested that the room was about to be painted - necessarily. The bath panel was loose from the bath and - despite pushing it in several times - continued to sit out from the bath. The sound and picture on TV in the bedroom worked intermittently and rarely at the same time.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner was quite good. Breakfast in the morning was extremely hearty, tasty and plentiful. The external buildings were most attractive and the hotel grounds charming.

Reviewed by
R Lamb

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Staff were vey friendly and helpful, there was a good choice of food on the menu and it was good quality.
Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Kelvin V

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food disapointing accomodation
The staff were helpful and friendly the food was very nice but having to eat dinner in the bar area was disapointing and unexpected. The room was VERY small and cramped and poor value when compared to our next hotel which was only £15 more, our room there was 4 times the size had leather setee and chair and coffe table, sauna in the room, balcony over looking the lake, immaculate gardens rather than weeds coming through every crack etc... wont be rushing back!

Reviewed by
MIke W

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice if view from breakfast room was improved-patio doors! weeds and bad fencing

Reviewed by
carol c

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next