No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wheatsheaf Hotel by Good Night Inns

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
London Road , Virginia Water, GU25 4QF
In an idyllic location overlooking Virginia Water Lake on the edge of Windsor Great Park, the historic Wheatsheaf Hotel was established in 1768 as a turnpike inn and sits at the heart of this stunning royal landscape masterminded by George III.

With superb motorway access and just 12 miles from London Heathrow Airport, The Wheatsheaf Hotel is the ideal rural retreat for business travellers working in the area or for planning a last minute trip. The hotel has a large free car park and a fully equipped function room ideal for seminars or away days in a lovely historic setting.

The hotel has 17 en-suite bedrooms including family and four poster rooms, all equipped with flat-screen digital TVs, unlimited free Wi-Fi for guests, tea and coffee making facilities, and a popular Chef & Brewer pub restaurant on site.
Located less than 3 miles from the M25 and M3 motorways on the edge of Windsor Great Park, the hotel is perfect for visits to historic Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and the famous Wentworth Golf Club. The exciting family attractions of Legoland and Thorpe Park are also close by.
Picture of Wheatsheaf Hotel by Good Night Inns, Virginia Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's fine for a one night stay.
The room was fine although on a main road so you can hear traffic noise during the night. The adults bed was huge, however the children had to share a small sofa bed which caused a few arguments! Evening meal was good and value for money, however breakfast was not so good. We were not offered a cup of tea so I had to ask and the bread left out for the toaster was hard. It's fine for what it is though and reasonable value.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little getaway
Stayed overnight with my 12 and 3 year old. Family room was great. Plenty of space. Heard the odd motorbike go past late-ish but no bother. 15 min drive to legoland. Local shop about 5 min drive in case of essentials ;-)

Reviewed by
Fiona T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
This place is close to the lake which is a good place to walk and explore if you haven't been to it. Room was good. Bed was clean and comfortable. Food was good enjoyed the experience. Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
J Cooke

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a slight mistake on arrival but they made us feel welcome and the room was great.
Great value for money and lovely setting, we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
K Wilson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were allocated a large clean room with a huge bed and nice decor. The bathroom had a powerful shower, soaps and enough towels. Despite the main road, it was nice and quiet in the room.
All staff were helpful and friendly. There was a slight delay with food and drinks but it was the lunch rush hour after all.
I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
M Malis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal base for legoland
enjoyed our stay friendly staff good location close to legoland and away from the airport. Lovely pub grub for supper and breakfast was good value. room was clean and comfy

Reviewed by
n martin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking with a great surprise
Booked with hotel as a last minute visit during the school holidays after travelling from the Midlands and spending a fun packed day at Thorpe Park we decided to stay over, Well to say we were impressed with this hotel is an understatement. The location of the hotel is beautiful I knew nothing about this area and will definately be visiting again. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was perfect, very good size and very clean. The garden was lovely and next to a fantastic lake. We also ate at the hotel and it was reasonably priced and very nice food. All in all you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Stacy P

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base hotel for young families with the lake less than 2mins stroll! Perfect for kids.
Only criticism was the alarm that went off in the middle of the night which no staff seemed to have a clue about but was right outside our window and scared both our kids completely. No explanation. Wasn't too impressed.

Reviewed by
L Clifford

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ascot & Windsor races
We had a 2 day stay on 27th & 28th July, perfectly situated for both race meetings, room was clean and very spacious , food and service was very good, will visit again, also Victoria lakes right at the side of the hotel, great place , we loved it. 👍👌☀️👍👌

Reviewed by
A Hinchliffe

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff!

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next