No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Park House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street, Shifnal, TF11 9BA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Activity 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Originally two separate 17th Century Country Houses set on the edge of the market town of Shifnal, The Park House Hotel is an elegant and luxurious building which combines modern amenities with traditional features. The Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the myriad of sights around Shropshire, including the Ironbridge Gorge Museums, Cadburys World and the RAF cosford Museum. With 54 recently re-furbished executive bedrooms including 2 bridal suites.

The Park House Hotel boasts as the premier 4 Star hotel in the Telford area. Standard features in our bedrooms include en suite bathrooms (with generously sized bath sheets) wireless internet access, colour satellite televison, direct dial telephone, trouser press and hairdryer. Selected rooms have facilities for the less able guest and some of our bedrooms can be linked to eath other for the convenience of families.
Picture of Park House Hotel, Shifnal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 95 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Room in the outbuilding was small but clean and fairly comfortable. Wakened about 4am by wedding revellers returning to their rooms. Glad I had brought my own pillow as the two pillows supplied were only sufficient for one person, if that. Arrived late and only wanted a drink - the bar area was showing football for the waiter's sake and the outside door was open, making it very cold. Breakfast was poor - I asked for a decaf latte and was told the "machine wasn't working" so I asked for decaf with hot milk...I was told again that the machine (!) wasn't working but chef was asked to heat some for me. I suspect the "decaf" was normal coffee watered down as it was terrible. OK for an overnight but not very good value for a "superior" room.

Reviewed by
Catherine Kirkman

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I attended a wedding and decided to stay the night. Staff were very friendly.
Rooms were more than adequate, always seemed to be a member of staff on hand to help with direction etc. The wedding itself went without a hitch, cannot recommend this venue enough. If I were ever mad enough to get married again this would be the venue I would choose.

Reviewed by
I Pritchard

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shifnal stay
I was happy to experience stay in Park House Hotel,the room was very nice and a lot of space,I will recomend the hotel to my friends

Reviewed by
Agnieszka Grabowska

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Venue
The Hotel was first class

Reviewed by
D Watson

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent. Ordered three drinks and the orange juice was half a small glass and he forgot ice and latte was asked for and got Americano. Off day? Everything else was brilliant.

Reviewed by
K Dunlop

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
We stayed for a wedding and found the hotel very good and clean . Staff could not help enough.

Reviewed by
P WICKSTEAD

From Market Drayton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely excellent, I would recommend to anyone
One of the best hotels I have stayed at in England

Reviewed by
Barry W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay at affordable prices
My partner and I stayed at the hotel as a one-off on a Sunday night as we had to be in Telford the following day. We managed to get a 'late rooms' deal and the room and breakfast cost £50. Nice setting, helpful staff, excellent big room and lovely breakfast. Hard to beat at that price.

Reviewed by
Stephen A

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for what we payed
Nice hotel in pleasant setting. Ironbridge down the road is well worth a visit. Shifnal is a quite town near, not so picturesque Telford.
We paid a discounted price a superior room. Good value at that price, but there is no way I'd pay any more for the room we had and certainly not the quoted full price.
When we arrived, we barely stepped inside the recption porch to be handed a key to a room in a block situated in the car park! It felt like being in a motel rather than a 4 star hotel. In the rain you would get very wet running for breakfast, which by the way was very good. We were there on one of the hot days this year and without air con it was rather uncomfortable in the room, especially since being on the ground floor in the car park, you couldn't leave your window open. Room decor is fairly recent but bathroom was poor. Hate to think what a standard room is like.
The main hotel on non-wedding days is like a ghost town, with several unused large spaces. On a wedding day I imagine it is rather too busy.
Nice leisure facilities though.
Also woken at 6:30am on Sunday mornng by the fire alarm set of by the kitchen staff. A certain big chain hotel gives you your money back on such occasions and has air con I their rooms!
But it is pretty hotel, just a shame it doesn't quite make 4 star grade in my opinion. Don't pay more than the £60 we did. And maybe ask to stay inside the hotel rather than the car park.

Reviewed by
T Hyde

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel in a lovely setting
the only problem was, the weather was very hot there was no fans available

Reviewed by
lisbeth stabler

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next