No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Park House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street, Shifnal, TF11 9BA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Activity 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Originally two separate 17th Century Country Houses set on the edge of the market town of Shifnal, The Park House Hotel is an elegant and luxurious building which combines modern amenities with traditional features. The Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the myriad of sights around Shropshire, including the Ironbridge Gorge Museums, Cadburys World and the RAF cosford Museum. With 54 recently re-furbished executive bedrooms including 2 bridal suites.

The Park House Hotel boasts as the premier 4 Star hotel in the Telford area. Standard features in our bedrooms include en suite bathrooms (with generously sized bath sheets) wireless internet access, colour satellite televison, direct dial telephone, trouser press and hairdryer. Selected rooms have facilities for the less able guest and some of our bedrooms can be linked to eath other for the convenience of families.
Picture of Park House Hotel, Shifnal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Good value for money. Room was good and the food excellent.

Reviewed by
Peter G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
We stayed in one of the "cottage" bedrooms in the grounds. A fantastic breakfast - one of the best hotel breakfasts that I have ever had. My only complaint is that it was a long walk from reception to the front gate and it was locked when I got there! I had to retrace my steps and nearly missed my train.

Reviewed by
Steve Sharp

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and hospitable
Very helpful staff. Hotel is a little tired in places but a lovely atmosphere. Heating problems in the room were quickly addressed and staff very accommodating for our need for a cooked breakfast before an early start. Very good value and would definitely stay again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed by
paul m

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not great
Room was comfortable but our sleep was disturbed by noisy late night chatter .The service was a little frustrating, loads of staff but lacking the organisation to deliver efficient service, so breakfast was a bit slow. The food quality at breakfast was good but we did order room service and were not overly impressed with the food. The value for money was good but we did get a discount deal.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear your experience of breakfast was not up to our usual high standards. I have passed your comments across to the restaurant manager so that he can work with his team to avoid these kind of issues in the future.

Reviewed by
J David

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired looking superior room and disappointing breakfast
Paid for the superior room but placed into annex and into a SMOKING room. We do not smoke and we were not asked for preference. The smell of the room therefore disappointing. We were placed into a different room on request, lucky that there was one available. The room was warm but tired looking, stains on wall. The tea making equipment was placed into a cupboard a required a search to locate. Included were 4 short bread biscuits. We managed not to go mad with this hospitality. On the whole the room was small and did not merit the description superior. Breakfast was also a little disappointing, dried and very hard black pudding was one of the items being warmed on the buffet. Other breakfast fare made ad-hoc appearences making the collection of a varied plate a difficult task. Staff were polite and ready to refill coffee and tea. The breakfast experience required further organisation by management.

Reviewed by
m richardson

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful although they always seem a little jaded on sunday morning at breakast probably due to prvious evening function.
Bar food nice but pricey.

Reviewed by
Mike B

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay, staff were very friendly especially the bar staff, good value for money too. Spa facilities were good, would definately stay again

Reviewed by
Christine H

From cannock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wasnt too impressed with the hotel, the food was nice however. Wifi hardly worked in room, either had to sit at wall next to bathroom or in the bathroom. Shower took a while to get a temperature suitable to showing in (too hot then too cold)

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn Mini Break
We chose Park House Hotel as it was within easy reach of the Ironbridge museums, our prime reason for visiting the area. Our superior room ( 69) was lovely, outside the main hotel, it was a ground floor apartment within a cottage block. This suited us well. We did have to walk across to the hotel each morning for breakfast, but this wasn't a problem as the weather was kind during our stay. Our room was well equipped with tea making facilities, including a coffee machine, and also a fridge, iron and ironing board, trouser press and a hair dryer. We also had armchairs and a side table, and a decent TV. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening. Although we couldn't fault the food, or the waiting staff, we did have a long wait between courses. We ate in the bar on the second night and found the food arrived much quicker. Breakfast was very nice and we had a good selection to choose from. The lady managing the restaurant in the morning seemed much more organised than the guy in the evening, and nothing was too much trouble for her. There was plenty of onsite parking. We didn't get to try out the leisure facilities as we didn't have time. All in all we were happy with our stay and would stay again if returning to the area.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Room in the outbuilding was small but clean and fairly comfortable. Wakened about 4am by wedding revellers returning to their rooms. Glad I had brought my own pillow as the two pillows supplied were only sufficient for one person, if that. Arrived late and only wanted a drink - the bar area was showing football for the waiter's sake and the outside door was open, making it very cold. Breakfast was poor - I asked for a decaf latte and was told the "machine wasn't working" so I asked for decaf with hot milk...I was told again that the machine (!) wasn't working but chef was asked to heat some for me. I suspect the "decaf" was normal coffee watered down as it was terrible. OK for an overnight but not very good value for a "superior" room.

Reviewed by
Catherine Kirkman

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next