No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bath Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lynmouth Street, , , Lynmouth, EX35 6EL
The Bath Hotel is right in the centre of the village next to the harbour and we offer excellent accommodation, interesting menus and a varied wine list, a relaxed atmosphere and beauty in every direction. There is a quieter residents bar, a relaxing sun lounge area with comfy sofas, a large public bar with pool and darts table and the Galley coffee shop which serves a wide selection of drinks and food throughout the day. The Bath Hotel has been owned and managed by the same family since 1951 and offers a warm, friendly service and excellent value for money. We offer excellent accommodation, interesting menus and varied wine list, a relaxed atmosphere and beauty in every direction. There is a quieter residents bar, a relaxing sun lounge area with comfy sofas, a large public bar with pool and darts table and the Galley, which serves a wide selection of drinks and food throughout the day. Families are especially welcome at the Bath Hotel. We do not have a lift, so it is important that you advise, at the time of booking, if climbing more than one flight of stairs is a problem.Well behaved dogs are most welcome (by prior arrangement only ) and there is no charge, except for any damage. Dogs are not allowed in the Restaurant. In line with new Government Guidelines the whole hotel including our public areas and bedrooms is now non smoking The Bath Hotel is only two minutes walk from the funicular cliff railway which will take you to the neighbouring village of Lynton. here you can visit the Lyn Museum, explore Hollerday Hill and the famous Valley of The Rocks, formed during the ice age. The Valley of the Rocks has towering rock formations with names such as ‘The Devil’s Cheesewring’, and its centrepiece, ‘Castle Rock’. It is renowned for its resident herd of wild goats, and in the centre of the valley probably the most picturesque setting in England for a village cricket pitch!
Picture of The Bath Hotel, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, recently re-painted hotel in a lovely location overlooking the harbour. Staff were very friendly and courteous towards all guests.

Reviewed by
chris k

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast in the Bath
Excellent breakfast the highlight. Quiet location, room spotless, vista was fantastic after being upgraded free of charge for a sea view room. Overall no huge complaints, however lack of free WiFi very odd as lots of places nearby offered a free of charge service.

Reviewed by
Philip K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Harbourside comfort
First impression was the warm welcome from the staff, carried my bag to the room. Simple but spotless and comfortable. Wide choice of evening meals. Probably the best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
J Cracknell

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely be back!
Decided to book last minute on bank holiday weekend, luckily managed to get a room due to a cancellation. Room was lovely and clean, and had a really nice view of the bay. Fantastic location, right in the middle of the town, couldn't have been better! The lady at reception (didn't get her name, but I think she had shoulder length brown hair) was friendly and helpful, even though she was busy helping out in the restaurant when we checked in, in the middle of evening service. We didn't eat eat in the restaurant in the evening, but the cooked breakfast we had was perfect, with more than enough coffee and toast. After breakfast, I had the best shower I have had in years! All in all it was a lovely night's stay, we only wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
Z Bibb

From Kingsbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great dog friendly hotel.
We've been to The Bath Hotel twice now and on both occasions taken our dogs. We've always been made welcome and the same applies to the dogs. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We plan to go again.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Have stayed here lots of times and have always been happy but were disappointed this time as we were promised a certain room when we booked but on arrival it was occupied!! No explanation just a blank look from receptionist. We feel the standard has dropped, wont be booking again, sorry!

Reviewed by
A Usher

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely dog friendly hotel in the best location
Everything you'd want for a perfect break - lovely rooms with sea views, right in the centre of Lynmouth, and a fantastic breakfast. The fact that dogs are allowed makes it a perfect holiday for the dog too. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring Break 2013
First and foremost, why is this hotel only a 2 star? I was very happy with my 2 night stay here. The room was clean, staff very friendly, a good selection of beers at the bar :) Food was delicious. My only minor grip was the tiny car park which was sometimes difficult to get in and out of.

Reviewed by
A Baxter

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Time.
Our one night stay at The Bath Hotel was very good.
The service, from our arrival until we booked out was of a very high standard. The staff in the restaurant coped exceptionally well with a very awkward customer while we dined.
The evening meal we had in the restaurant was very well presented as was breakfast, and always with a smile.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Beaminster, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Struggling to be value for money
We arrived out of season and the hotel seemed deserted. A sign outside said rooms were £60 but we had paid £75 the night before. We were shown to our room up two steep flights of stairs. We had been given a family room so had 4 beds in it. The bathroom had no sink (that was in the room) and there was no way to wash our hair. This hotel (like so many others) has the potential to be good. It is spotlessly clean, warm, serves a good breakfast and is in a great location. Like so many English hotels it is totally out of touch with what people require these days (and get in the chains)....consistency and professional service. I could have overlooked the dated decor and ghost town atmosphere but there was one young girl on the desk (sometimes) and no service until morning at breakfast. Our request to pay the displayed rate considering the disappointing room and stairs was relayed to the 'manager' (never saw one) and refused. When we came back from a drink at the local a fire was lit in the lounge and the bar was finally open (too late) ...the only person enjoying it was the desk girl with her lap top in a corner. I felt sorry for the couples eating in the dining room...they looked so miserable...
For the want of a bit of hospitality and some common sense...(showers over the baths are an essential not a luxury) this lovely hotel will fade away. If we had been offered a reduction and the bar/fire had been available in the afternoon and someone had smiled at us...we would have stayed again. Now we will look at the competition..and hope to find something better. shame.

Reviewed by
jane h

From Weston Super Mare, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next