Reviews - Ricoh Arena Hotel

4

Ricoh Arena, Phoenix Way, Coventry, CV6 6GE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (113)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Raichura

  • October 2014

Clean room, clean washing facilities, good service, convenient location.

  • a smith

  • October 2014

Soul destroying

Arrived at 10pm.

Couldn't get in through doors. Took 15 mins to check me in. Room was freezing. No main mirror or plug sockets in room, glad I didn't need to dry my hair. Couldn't get out of main reception doors in morning. Just soul destroying for a weary traveller, why do they have to make it so hard?

  • Henry S

  • October 2014

Avoid Coventry, But if all else fails then you could stay here.

Hotel was ok, customer service seemed more interested in talking amoungst themselves than actually helping anyone, one or two members of staff were quite abrasive and rude.

But the worst thing.. the very worst thing, is that it was in Coventry.

  • Janet S

  • September 2014

ok

  • D Jones

  • September 2014

Avoid like the plague! they should pay you to stay there as its more akin to pergatory.

booked for 2 days but was given a courtesy call about the need to check out and re-book in (08.00 out and 7.30pm in) because the room is convertable on match days to a box to watch the football in.

No problem, get an upgraded room for an extra £20 per night, air conditioning, better room etc was suggested and i upgraded. Arrived ok, even if it is poorly signposted, found the entrance and then it all went wrong. Staff at check in talking amongst themselves, then when asked questions ignored me, and went back to chatting. even when i had their full attention they couldnt readily answer simple questions like 'can you confirm my upgraded room booking' Terrible

OK, checked in, off to the room. 2 heavy bags and 1 lift. Lift out of order. 'sorry sir, you'll have to use the stairs'. no offer of helping with the suitcases. OK, get to the floor, find the room and enter. BIG room........ terrific, clean....... terrific, hot.....air conditioning terrific, small window........ not so good. cupboards and drawers for clothes......... missing, furniture in general for a superior room..........missing.

It had 2 bedside cabinets, an open wardrobe (thats fine), a desk that held a coffee tray and very little else and a single chair. This in the real estate that was so big it actually looked barren and bare. Bathroom......big and clean but apart from space on a tiny shelf with enough room to put a packet of toothpaste and 2 toothbrushes, there was nowhere else to put anything. First night, found out the window (small) didnt open so no fresh air. ok, air conditioner went on...........for 20 minutes before it broke down. not fixable by myself (more later)

the bathroom door was so ill fitting that it was impossible to shut it without a huge bang as it closed in the frame (or even open) probably waking everyone else up on the floor. A hot and sweaty non sleeping night ensued (awake from 3 am through lack of comfortable temperature)

I complained about the lack of cupboard and drawers and was asked if i wanted extra coat hangers as it didnt seem to compute. i did get a "no, there are no cupboards or drawers in this 'superior' room" though. I then complained about the error messages and flashing lights on the broken air conditioning....."we'll get housekeeping to take a look and fix it" but they didnt and on night 2, thinking it would be better after 22 minutes it broke down again (looking at the flashing lights the filters were reported as blocked or needing replacing)

Oh and the case of the clothes. easy. every morning pick up the open suitcase off the floor (no raised suitcase stand for it) and put them on the bed, choose the clothes then put them back on the floor. Superior room. yeah right. Staff were also loudly arguing over breakfast by the way. lots of bad attitudes there. So if you think it couldnt get worse, try running up and down corridors above your room at 1am in the morning, or the disco/night club starting up late on Saturday night so loud that the floors vibrated with sound (and i was on an upper floor). De Vere, if this is a superior room, you need to look at yourself again. the Premier Inn down the road had better facilities and didnt pretent to be something its not, but does what it does well and so much better than you. you should be ashamed taking peoples money for that type of 'quality', but i bet your not, and will just reply to this mail in a cursory 'we not your comments' way. Keep away folks, trust me you can do much better, much cheaper. If anyone doubts the room and window and furniture and air conditioning situation, please mail me as i took pictures (not a lot else you can do in a sauna and with no sleep is there?)

  • M Allen

  • September 2014

Very Dissapointed

Rude reception worker, miles to walk to room with no offer of assistance, unable to order room service because they were too busy, not a pitch view room as specified in booking.

Would never stay again and wouldn't advise anybody else do so either. I would of had better service at the Travel Lodge or Premier Inn

  • Alex H

  • September 2014

Really nice

  • Kevin C

  • September 2014

No sleep

No air con in room broken it was broken .

Then there was no hot water changed

Rooms but was very noise out side . 2 nights at hotel

With little sleep .

  • Kevin C

  • September 2014

No sleep to noise

Had to change rooms as the first one had no hot water and the air con was Broken .

I was given a up grade to there top rooms sounds nice but with the noise

Out side all night I got very little sleep . I had a mate staying next door he

Had the same problem . He has told his boss never book hi in again there

and I won't be back also .

  • Simon F

  • September 2014

Surprise we charge for parking

Said free parking on Laterooms and now charges £3 per night also the staff on duty were abrupt to the point of rudeness especially when my wife rang the reception