No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Churchill Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
33 Lake Road , Ambleside, LA22 0BH
The Churchill Inn is situated at the heart of the
picturesque South Lakeland town of Ambleside , At Churchill's you can relax at Winston's Bar a
lively meeting place for guests and tourists alike with traditional ales and great British cuisine
to boot. Ambleside has Charming shops, cafes and galleries all nestled around the Inn. Come and
enjoy walking the local fells, sailing on Windermere or just relax and soak up the atmosphere of Ambleside and the surrounding area.
Picture of Churchill Inn, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

deeply disapointed
on arrival checked in at a packed bar unusual not ever done that , went to superior room no different than a cheaper premier inn room,except a second rate drafty window then from 9 0clock till 12 at nite very loud music.we were on second floor vibrating through floor,then loud shouting and swearing from customers coming out of bar ,asked next day if can be moved no rooms available but reassured it would be quieter even worse not a great amount of sleep that weekend .never done this before but need to tell people not a nice place to stay at all

Reviewed by
j mcnabb

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and very satisfying
Had a fantastic weekend stay in Ambleside. The accommodation was exactly what we were looking for. Pleasant and friendly staff. Lovely Room. Very lively main bar and a smaller quieter bar downstairs for the residents. Beautiful full English breakfast served between 8.30 and 9.30 and excellent service from the staff. Only issue, I'm sure I'm not the first, and won't be the last, Parking is a bit of a mare. Only space for about 7 or 8 cars. Very tight space. If you go out, you've lost your space. Otherwise can't fault

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Visited Ambleside to attend a wedding but decided to stay an extra night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is food served but we only had lunch in as there is a decent and varied choice of restaurants close by. There is a car park available, which is good as parking is at a premium in town , but the entrance is very tight but manageable so take care. This is a pub as well and there is loud music playing betwee 10 and 12 certain nights, which if you want an early night and are in the first floor can be disturbing. The location is great and it makes a great base. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service
The guy that checked us in, I felt he was very disinterested! Fill this in.. Oh I need payment now.. Here's your room key.. I thought great thanks! He was more interested in watching the football as he kept walking away whilst I was completing the form he gave me. Not a very welcoming experience! I thought the room was very clean. Very impressed! Would of been good if the shower head could be attached to the wall. Had to hold it whilst having a shower in the bath

Reviewed by
Stephanie T

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central and Value for Money
Excellent central location with free parking. Good clean room with all the amenities you would want from a stay in the Lakes. Excellent breakfast and helpful polite staff. Excellent value for the money. We were on the 2nd floor but could be potentially noisy if you are in the rooms closer to the bar on a lower floor. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Sharma

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

evening meals
When asked about evening bar food we were told that they were not doing bar meals that night but would be the next night. Very disappointed.

Reviewed by
L Morgan

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chuchill Inn, Ambleside. Parking Issues.
Check in is done as expected at the pub bar which was busy and only two staff on duty. Bar staff double as receptionists. There wasn't room on the tiny carpark for my vehicle, as I'd temporarily left it blocking two cars, I noticed cards on the bar to leave contact details and keys in case the hotel staff needed to move cars without disturbing your stay. I mentioned this to the young lady attending to me but she said it wouldn't be an issue and not to worry. Nothing was mentioned about breakfast times and arrangements ( ok, I should have asked ). I'd booked a premier room purely for the king sized bed but on entering the room found this to be a regular double room. Upon enquiry with the duty manager he changed our room without any fuss for what I'd booked, which was a very nice ensuite room with everything you would expect. We literally threw our luggage in the room and went straight out for tea at 7 pm ish, after double checking on the parking situation. On our return at 10 pm I again enquired with the same young lady and was told not to worry. We proceeded to enjoy our night out around Ambleside only to be woken at 9.45 by someone hammering on the door asking could I go and move my car! After doing so, I enquired about breakfast, but was told we'd missed it.
The hotel is nicely appointed with a very popular bar area especially at weekends. I would stay here again but I would certainly make sure the staff adhered to their own parking initiative and made sure I knew well in advance what the breakfast arrangements were.

Reviewed by
Paul Smith

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable guest accommodation. Third floor a bit of climb for older guests, with no lift. Excellent breakfast. Friendly service.

Reviewed by
E Rowlands

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal for short break
Good quality accommodation, good welcome and good food. Good value. Water pressure not good on top floor, but got hot water or bath eventually. (We had a bath with shower head, but not possible to shower, and no curtain anyway) Parking very tight-but that's usual in Ambleside.

Reviewed by
Ann G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lake district break
on the whole it was a very good accomodation in the the room its self my only problem was with the plumbing the sink didnt drain properly and the hot water took a few minutes to work , friendly and nice people there breakfast was fine , could do with better access to the car park rather tricky entrance .

Reviewed by
d jackson

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next