You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3

Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke, RG21 7LX

Price From 179.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • ADRIAN B

  • September 2016

The Red Lion Hotel

Always a pleasure to stay at the Red Lion.

  • S HARVEY

  • July 2016

brilliant staff

We had a car breakdown on the way & informed Rachel the receptionist we would be late, when we eventually arrived & asked to book a further nights stay as the car was being fixed she couldn't have been more understanding, helpful & a friendly face than we could have asked for - excellent service.

After our traumas the deep bath felt like a spa room & was just what we needed. the central location was perfect with trains, buses & restaurants on the doorstep. Thanks for everything Red Lion Hotel xx

  • Clare D

  • July 2016

Cheap & Cheerful

Perfect for a single night stopover - my friend and I meet here every few months so we can have a catch up and a drink and then stay over.

  • kevin g

  • June 2016

Overnight Saturday stay

After booking our room the hotel e mailed us to say it was likely to be noisy and gave us an opportunity to cancel, we went ahead, yes it certainly was noisy and kept us awake, but we had been warned.

The room was fine, though paintwork and tiles in bathroom where dirty which we reported,and the showere could do with updating. We would not stay again due to lack of sleep from noise, we were using as stop gap from Gatwick to Cornwall it was however easy to find and had free parking.

  • Claire M

  • June 2016

tired smelly hotel

Reception staff lovely but hotel smelt old and mouldy, very tired decor

  • Jack B

  • March 2016

Fantastic Value for Money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were tremendously friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the local area!

  • Clare D

  • February 2016

Very convenient location, clean and comfortable

Well situated in the older part of Basingstoke and convenient for local bars and restaurant plus 2 minute walk to Festival Place for more eating and drinking options.

Reception staff very welcoming and night porter was great too. The bar was closed when we returned after our night out, but he happily organised us a nightcap. Room clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Room decor a bit dated, but since we were only using it as somewhere to sleep not a problem. The public areas of the hotel look lovely.

  • lenny r

  • January 2016

The Red Lion Hotel

lovely room great service reception staff fantastic everything you need is local fantastic stay everything is local shops etc being a town center hotel you will get some noise at weekends but nolthing major great stay

  • J B

  • January 2016

Central with free parking

Convenient stopping point, helpful and friendly staff, room okay with comfy bed, free parking on site a plus too.

Hotel has bar and restaurant (which we didn't use).

  • jo w

  • December 2015

If you like Alan Partridge...

Hotel is rather tired, if you stay a few times, never ever go for the cheapest room - always superior double...

and that's not even superior. Very tired, pretty noisy too - walls paper thin, so you can hear what the neighbours are getting up to, all......night..... long... beds too soft, generally tired - bathroom has sent better days (leaking tap, bad grouting, poor shower & I didn't even know they made hairdryers that stayed attached to the walls anymore), and water bubbling up the bath when others having a shower in another room... The staff are always lovely & helpful, which does soften things a bit... frustrating having to get a wifi code per device, every 24 hours... slowly seem to be attempting to update... good location & convenient to shops/station & basing view... Oh... and most importantly, don't bother attempting to drink any of the red wines they have in the bar... that was the most traumatic thing ever!. ;-)