No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion Lane , Basingstoke, RG21 7LX
The only town centre hotel in Basingstoke. Adjacent to Festival Place shopping mall, restaurants, bars and very close to Theatres. Walking distance to Train and Bus Stations and Business Parks.

The Red Lion Hotel has free on site parking and free Wi Fi. Of particulate note is the relaxed cafe bar and restaurant with a part covered court yard leading to the old traffic free part of Basingstoke. Chain Hollybourne Hotels.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly needs a little TLC
staff very nice but needs a little money spent on it to rejuvenate it to how it was7/8 years ago

Reviewed by
M Stott

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
Nothing special really but a good base near the city centre. Free parking was great. Room dated but clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
D Coates

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An awful hotel
The rooms are long overdue a touch up, bed covers tatty, blinds on the windows that don't actually fit, no curtains. The floor boards creaked lots, the bed was uncomfortable and the carpets dirty. The bathrooms suffered from mould build up in the corners of the bath, the shower covered in scale and the pedal bin in the bathroom rusted with no pedal.
At 01:45 I was woken by a loud bunch of drunken lads banging and shouting for over 45 mins.
The restaurant looked awful so I didn't bother eating an evening meal here and I’m glad as the breakfast was terrible - Breakfast was under a self-service hot hood. When I got the items I wanted to the table I realised at best the food was only just warm - the sausages were full of fat and as they were not hot it looked like puss was oozing from the sausage skins. My only hope form a poor room, being woken up at 01:45 and horrible food was the coffee might be nice.... even this was rubbish, a poor excuse for a coffee was served and I ended up in McDonalds which was better than this hotel.
On checkout the staff didn't even bother asking how my stay was although I told them anyway.

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, central location, free parking etc, however food was pretty bad..... only one experience so this could be a one off, however fellow hotel guest said his food was of poor quality too

Reviewed by
R Shermer

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Although a little over priced in my opinion, the stay was a pleasant one. The room was very nice and clean, the service was very good, as was the food, including the breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Dunn

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and tired
The rooms are clean but very old, and the finishes look very tired - needs a refurb

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Good stay except 2 issues. Shower water pressure very low and shower head would not stay in correct position. Also payment was taken 6 weeks before my arrival even though it says no payment would be taken off the card

Reviewed by
Paul Spargo

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty rooms / blood on hotel room door
Our hotel room appeared to have blood on the front door and on one of the walls inside. The bathroom was not clean, hairs on the floor and very unclean behind door. We had a pint of 1664 in the bar which tasted like the beer lines hadn't been cleaned for a while and also tasted flat. The staff were polite apart from the cleaners who seemed a bit rude and obviously, by the state of our room, didn't seem to be very effective! Would not stay here again.was over priced for what we got massively.

Reviewed by
Steven S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms a little tired in place

Reviewed by
Sean Carroll

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!
Staff on reception are really cheerful and helpful. In fact every member of staff I met was delightful! Room had everything I needed, clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Lynn M

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next