Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3

Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke, RG21 7LX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (46)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Pollard

  • August 2015

good hotel needs abit of updating

Room was clean and had all the ammonites that are advertised, the decore is alittle outdated if this was updated it would make the stay top quality, it is in a perfect location for festival place and the staff where vey helpful and courteous would stay again

  • Anthony N

  • July 2015

Enjoyable weekend

  • Sharon M

  • July 2015

Wonderful room; but breakfast?

What a nice room.

Large, clean, comfortable!. How nice to have the small sofa AND the small table and 2 chairs. Could have well spent a week there. However, 8.50 for English breakfast silly, esp. for a 68 and 70-year old!. Would have loved a hot bowl of porridge, but it was a dried instant packet that was offered. Please!

  • A Lewis

  • June 2015

2 nights in Basingstoke

We booked a room for 2 nights through laterooms.com.

On arrival at the Red Lion the staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was shown as a compact double room on booking and in my opinion it was very compact especially when there are 2 people sharing. It was more like a single room with a small double bed thrown in. But I went to reception and spoke to a very helpful young man who proceeded to allocate me to really nice room. The vine suite with a massive bed due to this our stay was very enjoyable. On the downside £7 extra for breakfast. WiFi only available in the bar. Anywhere else a cost was required. Advice take a dongle with you. All in all though not a bad stay would stay again although not in a compact double.

  • NICKY S

  • April 2015

Great hotel

Lovely hotel, central to the town centre.

Free parking.Rooms a good size and large bathroom. Good value for the price. Friendly reception staff very accommodating.

  • J Biddle

  • February 2015

Good location

Receptionist very helpful & good at her job.

Room compact but super clean. Had a meal for 5 people which good value for money. Bar staff & waitress also good. Breakfast excellent. Good all round hotel right in centre of town.

  • Andrew L

  • February 2015

Just *so* Old School

It's a quaint, rambly, organic building with poor infrastructure and in need of a bit of work here and there.

Your gran would love it. As a business traveller and a regular frequenter of branded "budget" hotels I found this to be more expensive than those brands for a poorer quality room. For the money I paid, I simply expected it to be better.

  • Philip B

  • November 2014

Great one night stay at the Red Lion

I stayed at the Red Lion for one night on business.

For the price, the room was great, with a lovely shower. I chose a small room as I was by myself and there was more than enough room for me. If I was here for leisure, I'd probably treat myself to a more expensive room.

  • Macala Stott

  • October 2014

Overall good

More detail to room cleanliness

  • W Carr

  • October 2014

Disappointing

The reception staff were welcoming and helpful.Our room had not been properly cleaned, it was dusty and when we put a bag down on the desk/ table it was covered in thick dust when we picked it up.

We were given 3 tots of milk for 2 of us and 1 packet of biscuits and the ceramic container used to store the teabags and coffe sticks was dirty with tea stains around the rim and had clearly not been cleaned for some time. In the bathroom the shelf above the sink was covered in dirty rings and marks from the previous occupant. After 10pm it was quite noisy as every time another door closed in the building we could hear it slam shut and we were above the car park and so could hear the conversations being held there while people presumably smoked - why else would they be having conversations in the car park late at night. I appreciate that the hotel staff cannot control what guests do in the car park but you asked for a review and that was our experience. When we went down for breakfast the restaurant staff insisted that we had not paid for breakfast - we definitely had and eventually apologised saying it was a fault in their system that this information did not come through from the late bookings website. This must have happened before so my question is why haven't they sorted such basic communication problems. Overall we felt that the general organisation was rather disjointed and that the staff were perhaps a bit young and inexperienced.