No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion Lane , Basingstoke, RG21 7LX
The only town centre hotel in Basingstoke. Adjacent to Festival Place shopping mall, restaurants, bars and very close to Theatres. Walking distance to Train and Bus Stations and Business Parks.

The Red Lion Hotel has free on site parking and free Wi Fi. Of particulate note is the relaxed cafe bar and restaurant with a part covered court yard leading to the old traffic free part of Basingstoke. Chain Hollybourne Hotels.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service, shame about everything else
The room was seriously old fashioned, needs updating. The food was poor quality both for evening meal and for breakfast. I would not want to have a wedding here which is what is advertised, the only good thing was the location as right in the middle of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, which was nice bearing in mind the situation.

Reviewed by
Sarah Coulson

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, lumpy bed in an old hotel
This hotel is very conveniently positioned.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room i stayed in was very dated. The bed had seen it best years some several years previous to my stay.
The bathroom was again dated, the fixtures and fittings had seen better days and in need of some replacements and repairs.
The room itself was a blast form the 90's the most modern thing in there being the television.
The hotel does not even offer free wifi to guests in their rooms, something that even mcdoanlds now provides.
Lovely building let down by a lack of investment.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average but overpriced
Only after booking I was sent an email saying there might be street noise which was annoying as there was no cancellation. Ordered full breakfast online only to find out at reception it started at 8 am where I would have to be at work by 7:30 so could only have continental in room. Room was clean but only 2 pillows on a double bed, mattress was hard but that is a personal opinion. Average stay but very over priced, I have stayed in budget hotels that provide a better standard. Only good side is that it is near town centre with decent parking.

Reviewed by
Sean H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Hotel
Basic hotel. Great location, very reasonable priced and though a warning of possible night noise was given, perfectly quiet and peaceful nights sleep.

Reviewed by
C Whiteley

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, pleasant hotel, centrally located

Reviewed by
Marianne v

From Amsterdam, Netherlands
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a hotel!!!
Have stayed here twice this month, great staff, great room can not fault it in any way!!

Reviewed by
James Dewar

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
Had a lovely short stay but would book again in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by
Nicola S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Bedroom was a nice size and clean apart from some stains on the curtains. The bathroom was fine but getting close to needing a bit of an update. One small thing was the milk for hot drinks had gone off even though it was UHT so must've been there for some time. Overall a pleasant stay with a nice cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smoky room & wet carpet
I stayed in a non-smoking room, and woke up to feel like I had smoked 20 cigarettes. The room reeked of smoke, making me feel quite ill. I think it was coming out of the extractor fan in the bathroom as the smell was even stronger within the bathroom. I opened my wash bag later when unpacking at home and a lovely waft of smoke came out! I've had to air it before putting it away! As a non-smoker this was particularly unpleasant, on talking to the receptionist she said if I'd had the window open the smokers area smoke could have wafted up, as it was I hadn't had the window open, but it appears in room 6 you wouldn't win! The receptionist could only offer me a free breakfast as compensation, but by that time I felt quite sick and just needed fresh air! To add to the experience the carpet in the room was very damp, making my feet wet - all I could hope was that it had been washed and not dried out, although it was only the area by the bed...Generally not a great stay unless you are smoker!

Reviewed by
Tanya P

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family weekend
The room and very comfortable with a clean bathroom. The only complaint was the mould on the window frame. This was brought to the attention of the receptionist. There was quite a lot of noise from people outside the hotel until the early hours of the morning.

Reviewed by
P Clark

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next