No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion Lane , Basingstoke, RG21 7LX
The only town centre hotel in Basingstoke. Adjacent to Festival Place shopping mall, restaurants, bars and very close to Theatres. Walking distance to Train and Bus Stations and Business Parks.

The Red Lion Hotel has free on site parking and free Wi Fi. Of particulate note is the relaxed cafe bar and restaurant with a part covered court yard leading to the old traffic free part of Basingstoke. Chain Hollybourne Hotels.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and tired
The rooms are clean but very old, and the finishes look very tired - needs a refurb

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Good stay except 2 issues. Shower water pressure very low and shower head would not stay in correct position. Also payment was taken 6 weeks before my arrival even though it says no payment would be taken off the card

Reviewed by
Paul Spargo

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty rooms / blood on hotel room door
Our hotel room appeared to have blood on the front door and on one of the walls inside. The bathroom was not clean, hairs on the floor and very unclean behind door. We had a pint of 1664 in the bar which tasted like the beer lines hadn't been cleaned for a while and also tasted flat. The staff were polite apart from the cleaners who seemed a bit rude and obviously, by the state of our room, didn't seem to be very effective! Would not stay here again.was over priced for what we got massively.

Reviewed by
Steven S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms a little tired in place

Reviewed by
Sean Carroll

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!
Staff on reception are really cheerful and helpful. In fact every member of staff I met was delightful! Room had everything I needed, clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Lynn M

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red lion
Location great for shopping and restaurants close to all amenities, clean comfortable rooms with lots of hot water.

Reviewed by
V Watson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service, shame about everything else
The room was seriously old fashioned, needs updating. The food was poor quality both for evening meal and for breakfast. I would not want to have a wedding here which is what is advertised, the only good thing was the location as right in the middle of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, which was nice bearing in mind the situation.

Reviewed by
Sarah Coulson

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, lumpy bed in an old hotel
This hotel is very conveniently positioned.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room i stayed in was very dated. The bed had seen it best years some several years previous to my stay.
The bathroom was again dated, the fixtures and fittings had seen better days and in need of some replacements and repairs.
The room itself was a blast form the 90's the most modern thing in there being the television.
The hotel does not even offer free wifi to guests in their rooms, something that even mcdoanlds now provides.
Lovely building let down by a lack of investment.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average but overpriced
Only after booking I was sent an email saying there might be street noise which was annoying as there was no cancellation. Ordered full breakfast online only to find out at reception it started at 8 am where I would have to be at work by 7:30 so could only have continental in room. Room was clean but only 2 pillows on a double bed, mattress was hard but that is a personal opinion. Average stay but very over priced, I have stayed in budget hotels that provide a better standard. Only good side is that it is near town centre with decent parking.

Reviewed by
Sean H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Hotel
Basic hotel. Great location, very reasonable priced and though a warning of possible night noise was given, perfectly quiet and peaceful nights sleep.

Reviewed by
C Whiteley

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next