No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Red Lion Lane , Basingstoke, RG21 7LX
The Red Lion Hotel is a refurbished historic coaching inn with the comforts of a modern hotel. The only town centre hotel in Basingstoke, the hotel faces the old, traffic-free restaurant area of the town and the Festival Place shopping centre is metres away with Basingstokes restaurants, bars and theatres also very close.

The M3 motorway is within easy reach and trains run regularly from Basingstoke to Reading, London and Heathrow airport. The hotel is walking distance to the Train and Bus Stations and Business Parks.

The Red Lion Hotel has free on site parking and free Wi Fi. Of particulate note is the relaxed cafe bar and restaurant with a part covered court yard leading to the old traffic free part of Basingstoke. Chain Hollybourne Hotels.

Breakfast can be added for £7.00 PP for any room type after clicking BOOK NOW.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel , Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great one night stay at the Red Lion
I stayed at the Red Lion for one night on business. For the price, the room was great, with a lovely shower. I chose a small room as I was by myself and there was more than enough room for me. If I was here for leisure, I'd probably treat myself to a more expensive room.

Reviewed by
Philip B

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
The reception staff were welcoming and helpful.Our room had not been properly cleaned, it was dusty and when we put a bag down on the desk/ table it was covered in thick dust when we picked it up.
We were given 3 tots of milk for 2 of us and 1 packet of biscuits and the ceramic container used to store the teabags and coffe sticks was dirty with tea stains around the rim and had clearly not been cleaned for some time.
In the bathroom the shelf above the sink was covered in dirty rings and marks from the previous occupant.
After 10pm it was quite noisy as every time another door closed in the building we could hear it slam shut and we were above the car park and so could hear the conversations being held there while people presumably smoked - why else would they be having conversations in the car park late at night? I appreciate that the hotel staff cannot control what guests do in the car park but you asked for a review and that was our experience.
When we went down for breakfast the restaurant staff insisted that we had not paid for breakfast - we definitely had and eventually apologised saying it was a fault in their system that this information did not come through from the late bookings website. This must have happened before so my question is why haven't they sorted such basic communication problems.
Overall we felt that the general organisation was rather disjointed and that the staff were perhaps a bit young and inexperienced.

Reviewed by
W Carr

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good
More detail to room cleanliness

Reviewed by
Macala Stott

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
We were welcomed to our stay at the Red Lion Inn from the receptionist. Requests for more coat hangers in the room and the need for a bath mat in the bath were swiftly met and efficiently executed. All staff were welcoming and pleased to attend to any requests. Breakfast was adequate continental breakfast according to my wife was good, cooked breakfasts were just warm but we ate well and were not hurried at all. The use of the car park by visitors to us was much appreciated. Would have liked fluffier duvets and pillows but for our reduced price the hotel was good value. A good stay, thank you.

Reviewed by
B Whitaker

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly needs a little TLC
staff very nice but needs a little money spent on it to rejuvenate it to how it was7/8 years ago

Reviewed by
M Stott

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
Nothing special really but a good base near the city centre. Free parking was great. Room dated but clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
D Coates

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An awful hotel
The rooms are long overdue a touch up, bed covers tatty, blinds on the windows that don't actually fit, no curtains. The floor boards creaked lots, the bed was uncomfortable and the carpets dirty. The bathrooms suffered from mould build up in the corners of the bath, the shower covered in scale and the pedal bin in the bathroom rusted with no pedal.
At 01:45 I was woken by a loud bunch of drunken lads banging and shouting for over 45 mins.
The restaurant looked awful so I didn't bother eating an evening meal here and I’m glad as the breakfast was terrible - Breakfast was under a self-service hot hood. When I got the items I wanted to the table I realised at best the food was only just warm - the sausages were full of fat and as they were not hot it looked like puss was oozing from the sausage skins. My only hope form a poor room, being woken up at 01:45 and horrible food was the coffee might be nice.... even this was rubbish, a poor excuse for a coffee was served and I ended up in McDonalds which was better than this hotel.
On checkout the staff didn't even bother asking how my stay was although I told them anyway.

Reviewed by
Robert P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, central location, free parking etc, however food was pretty bad..... only one experience so this could be a one off, however fellow hotel guest said his food was of poor quality too

Reviewed by
R Shermer

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Although a little over priced in my opinion, the stay was a pleasant one. The room was very nice and clean, the service was very good, as was the food, including the breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Dunn

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old and tired
The rooms are clean but very old, and the finishes look very tired - needs a refurb

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next