You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel


Red Lion Lane, Basingstoke, RG21 7LX

Price From 123.25 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Donald Giles

  • October 2016

Love the Hotel

Hi i went for a school reunion, and all the staff at the hotel could not of been more polite or helpful.

They made sure that all needs were meet, and David and his partner made sure everything was catered for. David work behind the bar and served breakfast, the food was excellent and the chef cooked it very good

  • John B

  • October 2016

The Red Lion Hotel

Convenient, surprisingly quiet.

Fine for a short business stay.

  • Karen G

  • October 2016

Very comfortable stay and friendly staff

We had one night stay and would recommend.

Friendly helpful staff with excellent breakfast.


  • September 2016

The Red Lion Hotel

Always a pleasure to stay at the Red Lion.


  • July 2016

brilliant staff

We had a car breakdown on the way & informed Rachel the receptionist we would be late, when we eventually arrived & asked to book a further nights stay as the car was being fixed she couldn't have been more understanding, helpful & a friendly face than we could have asked for - excellent service.

After our traumas the deep bath felt like a spa room & was just what we needed. the central location was perfect with trains, buses & restaurants on the doorstep. Thanks for everything Red Lion Hotel xx

  • Clare D

  • July 2016

Cheap & Cheerful

Perfect for a single night stopover - my friend and I meet here every few months so we can have a catch up and a drink and then stay over.

  • kevin g

  • June 2016

Overnight Saturday stay

After booking our room the hotel e mailed us to say it was likely to be noisy and gave us an opportunity to cancel, we went ahead, yes it certainly was noisy and kept us awake, but we had been warned.

The room was fine, though paintwork and tiles in bathroom where dirty which we reported,and the showere could do with updating. We would not stay again due to lack of sleep from noise, we were using as stop gap from Gatwick to Cornwall it was however easy to find and had free parking.

  • Claire M

  • June 2016

tired smelly hotel

Reception staff lovely but hotel smelt old and mouldy, very tired decor

  • Jack B

  • March 2016

Fantastic Value for Money

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were tremendously friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the local area!

  • Clare D

  • February 2016

Very convenient location, clean and comfortable

Well situated in the older part of Basingstoke and convenient for local bars and restaurant plus 2 minute walk to Festival Place for more eating and drinking options.

Reception staff very welcoming and night porter was great too. The bar was closed when we returned after our night out, but he happily organised us a nightcap. Room clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. Room decor a bit dated, but since we were only using it as somewhere to sleep not a problem. The public areas of the hotel look lovely.