No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aniversary break
This hotel as ideal for our needs five mins from town lovely and clean
Breakfast though not full English was plentifull with coffee on tap all day
We will be returning for the races next year as the hotel is on the race course
Grounds I must not forget the great friendly staff give it a try it won't disappoint

Reviewed by
paul wright

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester stay

Reviewed by
Joanna M

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value when races are over.
Holiday Inn Express at Chester racecourse is a great, central location for visiting Chester. It is often fully booked or relatively expensive for an Express but is superb value if you can catch an offer at a quiet time. The rooms are spacious and well designed. The breakfast area has been refurbished since our last visit and offers a good range of freshly prepared and frequently replenished choices.

Reviewed by
A Peters

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
This is the second time we have stayed here and it is convenient for the town centre without being in the middle of all the bars and comes with free parking. Breakfast served from 6.30 until 10.30 at weekend which is ideal, although the food was basic and not very hot. The staff are very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
J Platt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff
On arrival we realised our room faced the road and railway and that there was a lot of traffic noise, my hubbie went to ask if there was a room facing the back we could move to. He was told there wasn't but that we could prob move next day for our 2nd night. In the morning the reception desk was very busy so we decided not to bother and went out for the day. On return we found the staff had moved us to a room facing the racecourse and had even moved all our luggage etc. the reception staff were so helpfull and happy smiley people, lovely! Thank you

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course. I am delighted to read your review and see that our staff went the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing for you and your husband. It's always so nice to read our staffs hard working going unnoticed. Thank you for your overall rating of 5 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Rose, Front of House Manager

Reviewed by
C B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rude staff
When I was checking out, the staff (boy & girl) were very rude I realise they were busy but totally got I blanked by boy the when I asked if I owed any money towards my bill. He left me standing there for a while then he rolled his eyes then just said to another customer "yes" and left me standing there like a lemon.
Not a nice feeling.
Just before that a resident said to the girl can I check out although she was dealing with another customer she said abruptly "see him" nodding towards her colleague.
The maid knocked at 9:00am and then shortly after her boss knocked on the door saying to my girlfriend we had to be out for 10am. My girlfriend said @ we weren't aware of this" and the maids boss said "we left a note on your bed" we were not aware of this but we were ushered out anyway.
Although we had a great day at the races the hotel staff really spoilt our trip.

Reviewed by
P Yates

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

p Smith
Was very nice hotel very good next to race course

Reviewed by
p smith

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I mentioned when I was booking that it was our anniversary, and when we arrived there was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room which I thought was a lovely touch.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy
Good value for money

ManagementResponse

Dear Michael W. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. It's great to hear your positive feedback about your stay with us. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
michael w

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Racecourse

Reviewed by
J Shilliam

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next