No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Sheffield Road,Todwick , Sheffield, S26 1DJ
The Red Lion has a great new look just in time for Summer. There is a fantastic blend of the old and the new, alongside a rejuvenated bar, restaurant, function room and bedrooms. There is also a brand new food menu, with lots of tasty new dishes.

Originally a timbered farmhouse dating back to 1838, The Red Lion has retained much of its old character, with oak beams, flagstone flooring and real fires lit in winter. Situated just eight miles from Sheffield, this village inn has 30 comfortable en-suite bedrooms - plus a cosy bar, restaurant and terrace offering seasonal menus, with real ales, carefully selected wines, speciality teas and coffees
Picture of Red Lion, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The beds were huge and very comfortable. Bathroom clean and spacious. Only little niggle for me was I did put in Sheffield as the location and didn't realise the hotel would be a 30 minute drive away.

Reviewed by
Gillian D

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, food ok, service bit slow as was very busy, breakfast small but nice

Reviewed by
jade lucas

From stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, Welcoming and Friendly Place to Stay
The room was large and well kept with only one minor flaw. The hot water in the wash basin was almost too hot, whereas the hot water to the bath waivered between warm and cool for some reason. We were doing a couple of long walks and look forward to a hot bath on our return so this was inconvenient. This is a small niggle in the scheme of things, The rest of our stay was very good and thoroughly enjoyed.

Reviewed by
Steven W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel.
Rooms excellent and when the night was over slept like a log .Breakfast freshly cooked.

Reviewed by
B Rowlands

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment
The place is going under refurbishment. Don't think they really needed it to be honest as it was good as it was. Nice hotel & very nice staff
Well done and keep up the good work

Reviewed by
Dave Scott

From Pocklington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Todwick
We had to cancel the original booking and re-book for a later weekend due to ill health of a family member. This was done with the help of the head receptionist of the Red Lion.
On arrival we were dealt with quickly and effeciently.
Whether going for meals or the reception we were allways greated with a smile.
Can not praise the staff highly enough for there efforts to make our stay comfortable.

Reviewed by
W ARCHMENT

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice big room with double bed, single bed in separate area and sofa. Decor a little tired but due for refurbishment in May. All staff were lovely and friendly. Good food. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
J Marsh

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best Pubs I've stayed at.
Got lost finding place from website route.It's actually on a roundabout a stone's throw from M1 junction! Staff very helpful -given a jug of fresh milk for room tea. Good choice of main breakfast - I had eggs royal. Very comfortable kingsized bed.

Reviewed by
Denise M

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing weekend ideal for a shopping trip and just to get away from the every day living

Reviewed by
wayne edwards

From north east lincs, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing night away
We stayed here for one night and, overall, had a very relaxing positive experience. The room was very well furnished and the bed was so big and very comfortable. The shower was over the bath but this didn't present a problem as it worked very well with a nice powerful shower head and plenty of hot water.
The only downside really was the time it took to get served food. The evening meal wasn't a problem for us but the people on the next table waited well over an hour. On enquiring, they were told that it was because they had asked for their steaks to be well done. However, the breakfast was disappointing. We asked for a pot of tea but weren't given any milk. The staff were very busy and thin on the ground so in the end I took some from the cereal milk. However, the tea was stewed and lukewarm. When I mentioned this, I was told that the water heater had broken down so they were heating water in a pan.
I had ordered a full English breakfast with a poached egg. Some 45 minutes later, it arrived. The food wasn't very hot and the egg was all broken up on the plate with the egg yolk all over the plate. Needless to say, it wasn't particularly nice.
I must mention that Jude on reception was extremely helpful and friendly and, overall, we had a lovely relaxing stay. Not a place to go if you're in a rush though!

Reviewed by
Joanna R

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next