No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Sheffield Road,Todwick , Sheffield, S26 1DJ
The Red Lion has a great new look just in time for Summer. There is a fantastic blend of the old and the new, alongside a rejuvenated bar, restaurant, function room and bedrooms. There is also a brand new food menu, with lots of tasty new dishes.

Originally a timbered farmhouse dating back to 1838, The Red Lion has retained much of its old character, with oak beams, flagstone flooring and real fires lit in winter. Situated just eight miles from Sheffield, this village inn has 30 comfortable en-suite bedrooms - plus a cosy bar, restaurant and terrace offering seasonal menus, with real ales, carefully selected wines, speciality teas and coffees
Picture of Red Lion, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again
1st stay here and was pleasantly surprised. Rooms have recently been refurbished so look clean, bright and fairly modern. Bar and restaurant were very busy when I stayed, a Thursday so there was a good atmosphere. Ate in the restaurant service was good but food was just ok.
Wi-fi is a bit hit and miss. It's fine in the room but not good at all in the bar area and phone signal is the opposite!
Despite these minor irritations I am staying again this week as it's very good value with breakfast included. I'd recommend the Red Lion.

Reviewed by
Marc A

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great quality, Great price
Booked online on the way up, received a call to see if we wanted to book a table. Very friendly staff, would revisit.

Reviewed by
Lance M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will stay next time up that way!!
5*all round

Reviewed by
mike lewis

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good value for the money.

Reviewed by
John W

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stopover visit back to sheffield from my new address in harwich
A very nice stay .It is much better now that the A57 has been moved across .You now have your own little road and the hotel is much quiter.It should do very well.Thanks very much we will be back.

Reviewed by
n wilson

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good revamp
The recent refurbishment has given the hotel a fresh, modern feel. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Breakfast waitress as ever is bright, efficient and friendly. Big plus for us is that check-out is now 11:00 rather than 10:00, and breakfast served until midday should you want it that late (although cold buffet ends at 10:00.

Reviewed by
Daniel M

From Ruthin, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean & comfortable
My husband and I enjoyed our 2 nights here, the large bed was extremely comfortable, the room clean and it was so nice to have hot chocolate and biscuits supplied as well as the usual coffee & tea in the room. No complaints at all about this accommodation.

Reviewed by
Pauline N

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
Nicely placed off the motorway. The room was bright, the bed enormous, the room clean, the food good and the reception staff very friendly. Thank you :)

Reviewed by
Michele Burton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The beds were huge and very comfortable. Bathroom clean and spacious. Only little niggle for me was I did put in Sheffield as the location and didn't realise the hotel would be a 30 minute drive away.

Reviewed by
Gillian D

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, food ok, service bit slow as was very busy, breakfast small but nice

Reviewed by
jade lucas

From stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next