No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prested Hall

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
PRESTED HALL, PRESTED HALL CHASE , COLCHESTER, CO5 9EE
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport.

Partially surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions.

With 11 attractive en suite rooms and an additional 6 one and two-bedroom serviced apartments (please see our separate listing for 'Peresteda Apartments'), an adjacent health club and established events facilities, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality.

Hotel guests will find helpful staff and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms, breakfast house specials and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings.

Resident guests at Prested Hall also receive a 20% discount on treatments booked in our Elemis Spa.
Picture of Prested Hall, COLCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, good location and service
Good, simple, clean, easy access to most places. Good use of sports next door. Wifi a bit up and down but they have 2 connections.

Reviewed by
Richard P

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
A bit of a mixed bag, but left me feeling distinctly underwhelmed!
Plus points - very comfortable bed, lovely large modern bathroom
with big fluffy towels, food in leisure club bistro very good and reasonably priced.
Minus points - room smelled like a charity shop - really fusty - had to have the windows open all the time (just as well as the room was very hot), very loud 90s pop music blaring away in empty restaurant until I had to ask Reception to turn it off at midnight so that I could get to sleep, had to walk over to the leisure centre at other side of ground to eat dinner in the leisure club bistro - no dinner available in the hotel itself, breakfast on day one was so awful that I did not even bother on day two. Worst of all when I commented on this to Reception on check-out all I got was a very grudging apology.
This hotel is trying to be something that frankly it is not - they charge for a top end country house hotel, but really need to smarten up their act if they really want to be in this bracket. Suggest they learn lessons from real Country house hotels (Swinfen Hall and Netherstowe House spring to mind). Horribly overpriced - very glad that I was on a Laterooms deal or would have felt very aggrieved. Bottom line - at this price you can do better elsewhere.

Reviewed by
C Bennett

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely break!
Everything was lovely from the moment we got there! Lovely hotel, lovely staff.

Reviewed by
J Pryke

From Witham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We only stayed for a night, we got an upgrade to a superior room, the room was very well presented, the bed was huge, the bathroom was lovely with a fantastic shower.

Reviewed by
L Mitchell

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Setting for a quiet evening
Lovely setting & close to A12, great place to relax after a long day

Reviewed by
C Morten

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous room
Huge bed which was soooo comfortable. This room certainly impressed with original beams and antique furniture. Bathroom was large and very modern with a double ended bath for those romantic moments. The only downside was it didnt have a shower, only a shower attachment on the bath. Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The leisure centre had a excellent size pool, sauna and steam room which we made full use of. The Bistro was excellent for snacks with freshly prepared food. The only downsid,e if there was one with this hote,l was lack of full restaurant facilities, but we went out for dinner at the local village where there are some excellent pubs. Breakfast was excellent with a a wide choice from smoked haddock to full english. I would certainly stay again in I was back in the area.

Reviewed by
cheryl klietz

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location basic accommodation bed uncomfortable hot room unable to open window due to restrictor breakfast ok

Reviewed by
john d

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb value for money
Although I booked and arrived late, everything was in order and first rate. The room was clean and airy and the facilitiies were marvellous. This was the best vaue for money ever.

Reviewed by
Tony K

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely venue - needs a lovely restaurant
This is a fabulous old building set in lovely grounds. The hotel is furnished in keeping with its character and would make a great romantic venue (it is v popular for weddings). Staff were friendly and polite and helpful.
Perhaps because I booked online I hadn't realised that the hotel does not have a restaurant as such. The "bistro" (complete with huge TV) is in the sports club, and in any case is not open on Sunday evening, so I ended up driving into Colchester to eat on both nights. I often travel alone and would not stay here on one of those occasions.
The quality of food at breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

work
Excellent room and breakfast

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next