No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lion Quays Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Moreton Nr Weston Rhyn, Oswestry, Oswestry, SY11 3EN
Lion Quays Waterside Hotel and Resort is an independently owned hotel, offering thoughtfully designed bedrooms and extensive on-site facilities to suit couples, families and business travellers. The 4 star hotel offers free WiFi in all public areas as well as in the bedrooms. There are twin, double, family rooms and the suite with crisp linen, LCD TV, power showers, complimentary toilets and rooms with views over the local countryside and Llangollen canal, some also have their own balcony.

Guests have a choice of restaurants on site; from a family-friendly traditional waterside restaurant offering a-la-cart dining, to a more intimate and contemporary dining experience at Nico’s Brasserie. Both restaurants offer a delicious range of British and European dishes and have outdoor areas to enjoy al-fresco dining.

Guests enjoy complimentary access to our country club facilities including, 25m swimming pool with poolside steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi and 75 station Technogym. Lockers and towels are provided during your stay. Lion Quays Spa has a thermal suite with hydrotherapy pool, steam room, sauna, experience showers and the UKs first snow cave. Guests enjoy discounted Thermal Suite rates. Full menu of treatments are also available, pre-booking is advised to avoid disappointment.
Picture of Lion Quays Hotel & Spa, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Julie Mackay

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food lets hotel and spa down
My partner and I stayed in the hotel on a Saturday night. On arrival early that afternoon we were told the restaurant was already fully booked and we could only eat in the cafe/bar at the spa. This wasn't ideal but we decided to go for that because we went for a break and wanted to stay within the hotel. What made it worse was the fact the food was very poor. Although the staff were lovely and very helpful it was expensive and they said there was nothing could do. Having said that breakfast in the restaurant in the morning was lovely. The spa was amazing and the hotel room was spacious and clean although the bathroom was on the small side, but the food would put me off from going there again.

Reviewed by
J Mason

From Whitland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place
Arrived and was seen to stright away by a very friendly receptionist. Room was on the end overlooking the Canal and berths so was a nice surprise. Huge TV in the room. Booked a table for 4 on the evening and had a great meal that was very well presented and good value for the class of food offered and take that as a compliment as two of us in the party were retired professional Chefs.
Slept well and Breakfast was as good as I expected.

Reviewed by
Pete B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lion Quays Hotel & Spa
Very nice relaxing stay. Enjoyed it and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
g roberts

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very welcoming
Dinning room staff very courteous and extremely helpful very knowledgeable with what was suitable
for gluten free requirements . Nothing of any trouble for them . The service I can only say first class

Reviewed by
Thomas M

From West Linton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value and no room service
The rooms here are decorated to Travelodge standard and so are over priced. I arrived at 11pm and ordered form the room service menu. The message came back that there were only cheese or ham sandwiches available. I decided that the Shell service station up the road would do a more interesting and better vale sandwich. Overall a disappointing experience.

Reviewed by
Keith W

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
A very nice and pleasurable stay, can and would highly recommend. Spa facility's were also excellent.

Reviewed by
Luke D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An amazing time
The staff were very friendly and courteous. The hotel grounds were lovley and you would never think you were a stones throw away from a Bypass. The pool and sauna/steam rooms were a much welcomed part of the package too, Very relaxing, The food was amazing too. Not much choice but we chose the steak and it was delicious. Another visit is planned very soon.

Reviewed by
lesley thorn

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful and friendly . Spa was lovely. Breakfast excellent . Bedroom a little worn and tired. Canal setting very pretty but road noise is a shame but unavoidable and does not take away from the hotel

Reviewed by
N Millar

From Y Felinheli, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3* rooms in a 4* hotel

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next