No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lion Quays Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Moreton Nr Weston Rhyn, Oswestry, Oswestry, SY11 3EN
Lion Quays Waterside Hotel and Resort is an independently owned hotel, offering thoughtfully designed bedrooms and extensive on-site facilities to suit couples, families and business travellers. The 4 star hotel offers free WiFi in all public areas as well as in the bedrooms. There are twin, double, family rooms and the suite with crisp linen, LCD TV, power showers, complimentary toilets and rooms with views over the local countryside and Llangollen canal, some also have their own balcony.

Guests have a choice of restaurants on site; from a family-friendly traditional waterside restaurant offering a-la-cart dining, to a more intimate and contemporary dining experience at Nico’s Brasserie. Both restaurants offer a delicious range of British and European dishes and have outdoor areas to enjoy al-fresco dining.

Guests enjoy complimentary access to our country club facilities including, 25m swimming pool with poolside steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi and 75 station Technogym. Lockers and towels are provided during your stay. Lion Quays Spa has a thermal suite with hydrotherapy pool, steam room, sauna, experience showers and the UKs first snow cave. Guests enjoy discounted Thermal Suite rates. Full menu of treatments are also available, pre-booking is advised to avoid disappointment.
Picture of Lion Quays Hotel & Spa, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a valentines break!
Loved our stay at lion quays hotel, food was brilliant & staff were very polite and helpful

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Efficently run conference hotel
A little surprised at the limited size of the executive room and in fact had to check at reception that the correct allocation had been given based on the images on the website. The room was clean and an extremely large screen if you want to watch TV during your stay. Dinner was pricey in the restaurant so we ate in the bar.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Stay
Lovely clean, warm room with plenty of wardrobes and draw space. Would have liked a hot towel rail to dry towels for next use. Good quality bedding but awful soft mattress. Couldn't sleep properly felt totally beaten up by the morning. Actually my back has been hurting since.
Otherwise, good including good quality food in restaurant. Dippy young waitesses that don't listen to instructions. My husband asked for a black peppermill and the waitress brought him a peppermint tea. We also asked for poached eggs on spelt toast as the buffet only offered fried eggs. Another waitress brought us fried eggs on spelt toast.

Reviewed by
L Ware

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the canal
Very decent clean room with an excellent shower. Nice location in the country on the banks of a canal, which provided a lovely walk.
Generally quality of service was very good although reception staff allowed a big queue to build up on one occasion.
Breakfast was excellent and restaurant was pretty good.
Didn't use the gym but facilities looked good. Hotel was well located just off the A5.
Price was full.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed experience
Receptionist very pleasant throughout despite several problems encountered which we have left with the management. No pillows on 1 bed. No remote control for TV which still did not work after control was obtained. Bad crack in wash hand basin and extractor fan not working.
Breakfast buffet was good but cooked food was dreadful being rubberised scrambled eggs and rock hard bacon. Comments were given to waitress and others also left eggs uneaten.
Peacock in garden was lovely as well as Christmas lights. Bed was comfortable.That will do for you but other comments left with hotel.

Reviewed by
M C Nash

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Julie Mackay

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food lets hotel and spa down
My partner and I stayed in the hotel on a Saturday night. On arrival early that afternoon we were told the restaurant was already fully booked and we could only eat in the cafe/bar at the spa. This wasn't ideal but we decided to go for that because we went for a break and wanted to stay within the hotel. What made it worse was the fact the food was very poor. Although the staff were lovely and very helpful it was expensive and they said there was nothing could do. Having said that breakfast in the restaurant in the morning was lovely. The spa was amazing and the hotel room was spacious and clean although the bathroom was on the small side, but the food would put me off from going there again.

Reviewed by
J Mason

From Whitland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place
Arrived and was seen to stright away by a very friendly receptionist. Room was on the end overlooking the Canal and berths so was a nice surprise. Huge TV in the room. Booked a table for 4 on the evening and had a great meal that was very well presented and good value for the class of food offered and take that as a compliment as two of us in the party were retired professional Chefs.
Slept well and Breakfast was as good as I expected.

Reviewed by
Pete B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lion Quays Hotel & Spa
Very nice relaxing stay. Enjoyed it and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
g roberts

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very welcoming
Dinning room staff very courteous and extremely helpful very knowledgeable with what was suitable
for gluten free requirements . Nothing of any trouble for them . The service I can only say first class

Reviewed by
Thomas M

From West Linton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next