No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lion Quays Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Moreton Nr Weston Rhyn, Oswestry, Oswestry, SY11 3EN
Lion Quays Waterside Hotel and Resort is an independently owned hotel, offering thoughtfully designed bedrooms and extensive on-site facilities to suit couples, families and business travellers. The 4 star hotel offers free WiFi in all public areas as well as in the bedrooms. There are twin, double, family rooms and the suite with crisp linen, LCD TV, power showers, complimentary toilets and rooms with views over the local countryside and Llangollen canal, some also have their own balcony.

Guests have a choice of restaurants on site; from a family-friendly traditional waterside restaurant offering a-la-cart dining, to a more intimate and contemporary dining experience at Nico’s Brasserie. Both restaurants offer a delicious range of British and European dishes and have outdoor areas to enjoy al-fresco dining.

Guests enjoy complimentary access to our country club facilities including, 25m swimming pool with poolside steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi and 75 station Technogym. Lockers and towels are provided during your stay. Lion Quays Spa has a thermal suite with hydrotherapy pool, steam room, sauna, experience showers and the UKs first snow cave. Guests enjoy discounted Thermal Suite rates. Full menu of treatments are also available, pre-booking is advised to avoid disappointment.
Picture of Lion Quays Hotel & Spa, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second visit!!!! nice and relaxing.

Reviewed by
Tim Clarke

From Ledsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another good stay
Have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. Had a problem with bed side lamps and reception, within, minutes, replaced them. Only down side did email hotel prior to stay with a query and they did not respond!

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special birthday break.
The hotel was excellent, staff very friendly. Rood very nice, felt a bit steep in price for upgrade though. Food very good, breakfast fit to feed a king, drinks prices as expected.
Spa centre very good, would recommend a spa day, if in the stay package.
Good value for money with breakfast and evening meal included.

Reviewed by
Edward Garland

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent spa and food
The receptionist when we arrived was unfriendly and not pleasant. She did not explain the services the hotel offered or if we needed help with our bags or when or where breakfast was. But this is not reflection on all the staff as most of them were very friendly and helpful.
The evening food was excellent as was the spa . Breakfast was good although bacon was bit fatty. Also no air conditioning as it was broken. Overall a nice stay but not four star.

Reviewed by
S Marten

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and relaxing break.
Nice enjoyable stay!

Reviewed by
Tim Clarke

From Ledsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was good I just wasn't overly excited about the menu choices in the spa. Hotel clean, and decorated to a good standard. Staff incredibly helpful. Lovely grounds, great facilities.

Reviewed by
Kirsty G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spa weekend treat
The spa was fantastic we loved every minute, as for the hotel the room could been better but the breakfast was great .All in all we had a great weekend

Reviewed by
michael owen

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for golf & National Trust
Our special requirement for a room close to reception was met and this was very helpful to us. We have stayed before and were very happy to return and would choose again for a break in this area. Golf courses nearby and 3 National Trust properties. My only criticism of the room was that the air conditioning was not working and it was difficult to get fresh air as the room was on the ground floor and the "window" was a door into the garden which we did not want to leave open at night. On the last evening the weather turned cooler and reception kindly obtained a free standing heater for us. My husband enjoyed the pool and sauna and it is great having these extras available.

Reviewed by
Ann L

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for rmoney
Although well used and worn in places the room was clean and very comfortable. The staff in all areas of the hotel were welcoming and helpful. The evening meal was of excellent quality. Despite it being Mother's Day and the restaurant being very busy the staff were attentive and the service was very good. The breakfast was first class.

Reviewed by
L Pritchard

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All we could have ever wishes for
We went for an unwinding from stress break. Lion Quay was more than we hoped for. Whatever we needed was there. In our room there were toiletries, clean towels, hair dryer, bottled water and even a tea pot. At the resort the exercise lessons were also included as well as unlimited time in the pool, sauna, steam room etc. The changing rooms had hair dryers, the showers had shower gel and shampoo and you were given a towel for swimming or for a shower after exercise. It was perfect for us and the staff, and people there were very friendly.

Reviewed by
L Ashworth

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next