No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kelvingrove Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
944 Sauchiehall Street , Glasgow, G3 7TH
A warm and welcoming family run hotel situated adjacent to Kelvingrove Park in the city’s cosmopolitan West End. Close to city attractions including the SECC, Science Centre, renowned galleries and museums, Botanic Gardens and some of the best bars and restaurants.

All 22 versatile and well-appointed rooms boast en suite facilities, colour television, hospitality tray. The hotel is conveniently located just 10 minutes walk from the main city centre and some of the UK’s best shopping.

Please note check in is between 1.30pm and 10pm

PLEASE NOTE THE KELVINGROVE HOTEL DOES NOT ACCEPT STAG/HEN/PARTY BOOKINGS
Picture of Kelvingrove Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

twin room seemed to be ok perhaps needing some tlc ..but one bed creaked and there was aloud droning noise every so often ....think it was another room`s bathroom fan.Would have asked for another room if we had been staying any length of time but we were only staying there the one night. Breakfast was well cooked and was such a large potion we did not need lunch! Staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
Catherine R

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Ok for a night room at back so nice and quite but no view

Reviewed by
J mcmillan

From carradale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole a good place to stay. My room was below the level of the street which meant I had to keep my blinds partially closed for privacy. The decor wasn't first rate - curtain holders falling off wall and some wallpaper damaged. I did have a double and two singles just for me, but that meant more biscuits! Can't fault the staff and breakfast was pretty good too.

Reviewed by
HEATHER L

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good price and area
Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean rooms, although our room had a slightly musty smell, probably due to the nature of an old building and the rooms are positioned in the basement.. . Purchased a £2 pass for parking outside the hotel instead of the metered rates. Ideal position for Kelvin Grove museum and good value.

Reviewed by
Kim A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I am used to.
The Hotel was chosen for it's location which was ideal. The staff were all pleasant but the room was a let down. It most certainly did not look like those on the website! It was very small and dusty. The bathroom was worse! Every time you pulled the flush or ran the tap it sounded like a volcano erupting! Wont be rushing back!

Reviewed by
F McLaughlin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Pleasant helpful staff, room comfortable and clean, just a little gripe about the tv on the wall - you would have to be stood in the wardrobe to watch tv comfortably as it was not in front of the bed or on a pull out stand. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast was excellent. Car parking outside the hotel or on nearby streets and you can get a voucher from the hotel rather than paying exorbitant meter prices. Well located for Kelvingrove art gallery and the university. Will certainly stop here again on our next visit.

Reviewed by
kay n

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice from the outside, room not so great.
The hotel from the outside looks nice and the reception is nice & tidy (however, a staff member smoking outside the entrance did not give a good first impression when we arrived.) The reception area is small, but neat, clean & tidy. Was told by the man on reception that i should always book for 4 adults, not 3 adults & a child as i had done (even though the booking confirmation said the max age for a child was 14 and ours was only 12) and that we would be given a family room which had a double & 2 single beds (which is what the confirmation said anyway).
The room was very cramped for 4, we managed to push the beds together to give ourselves a bit of circulation space, but unfortunately this just highlighted how filthy the floor was!
The room was ok for a short stay, and was in a good location for our needs with plenty bars, restaurants nearby. The beds and the towels were fine.
The layout of the shower ensuite is not very good and the ceiling in the bedroom looked like there had been a leak from above (or a very bad joint papered over).
We were also told when we arrived that the wi-fi and television were not working in the hotel (speculated this was due to the Commonwealth games preparations) but that the engineer had been called. Free wifi was working the next day, but no tv at all for the 3 nights we were there.
The hairdryer didn't work. There was a small wardrobe and some very small bed side tables. (not really enough storage for a family of 4 for a longer stay though). The room just felt like it needed redecorating & good clean, but have to say that the cleaners did seem very busy & thorough in the corridors so maybe we just had a bad room.
Didn't pre-book breakfast and was told we couldn't add it at all for any days during our stay, so can't comment on the breakfast room or food.

Reviewed by
N Walker

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and friendly
Adequate sized room, comfy bed, fabulous shower & friendly staff too.

Reviewed by
B Heath

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for location.
If you don't want anything too fancy this is perfect. Rooms are small, but hey ho, it was only £70 for the night!

Reviewed by
Taryn Provan

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
As I was travelling for a job interview I wanted to keep costs down, pretty central to Glasgow, it being a 25 minute walk, was made welcome, as I had gone for cheapest possible I didn't expect luxury, but what i got was pretty good! The only real downside about the room was the television reception was very poor, otherwise all round very happy and would stay again

Reviewed by
D Simpson

From Antrim, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next