No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kelvingrove Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
944 Sauchiehall Street , Glasgow, G3 7TH
A warm and welcoming family run hotel situated adjacent to Kelvingrove Park in the city’s cosmopolitan West End. Close to city attractions including the SECC, Science Centre, renowned galleries and museums, Botanic Gardens and some of the best bars and restaurants.

All 22 versatile and well-appointed rooms boast en suite facilities, colour television, hospitality tray. The hotel is conveniently located just 10 minutes walk from the main city centre and some of the UK’s best shopping.

Please note check in is between 1.30pm and 10pm

PLEASE NOTE THE KELVINGROVE HOTEL DOES NOT ACCEPT STAG/HEN/PARTY BOOKINGS
Picture of Kelvingrove Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice from the outside, room not so great.
The hotel from the outside looks nice and the reception is nice & tidy (however, a staff member smoking outside the entrance did not give a good first impression when we arrived.) The reception area is small, but neat, clean & tidy. Was told by the man on reception that i should always book for 4 adults, not 3 adults & a child as i had done (even though the booking confirmation said the max age for a child was 14 and ours was only 12) and that we would be given a family room which had a double & 2 single beds (which is what the confirmation said anyway).
The room was very cramped for 4, we managed to push the beds together to give ourselves a bit of circulation space, but unfortunately this just highlighted how filthy the floor was!
The room was ok for a short stay, and was in a good location for our needs with plenty bars, restaurants nearby. The beds and the towels were fine.
The layout of the shower ensuite is not very good and the ceiling in the bedroom looked like there had been a leak from above (or a very bad joint papered over).
We were also told when we arrived that the wi-fi and television were not working in the hotel (speculated this was due to the Commonwealth games preparations) but that the engineer had been called. Free wifi was working the next day, but no tv at all for the 3 nights we were there.
The hairdryer didn't work. There was a small wardrobe and some very small bed side tables. (not really enough storage for a family of 4 for a longer stay though). The room just felt like it needed redecorating & good clean, but have to say that the cleaners did seem very busy & thorough in the corridors so maybe we just had a bad room.
Didn't pre-book breakfast and was told we couldn't add it at all for any days during our stay, so can't comment on the breakfast room or food.

Reviewed by
N Walker

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small and friendly
Adequate sized room, comfy bed, fabulous shower & friendly staff too.

Reviewed by
B Heath

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for location.
If you don't want anything too fancy this is perfect. Rooms are small, but hey ho, it was only £70 for the night!

Reviewed by
Taryn Provan

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
As I was travelling for a job interview I wanted to keep costs down, pretty central to Glasgow, it being a 25 minute walk, was made welcome, as I had gone for cheapest possible I didn't expect luxury, but what i got was pretty good! The only real downside about the room was the television reception was very poor, otherwise all round very happy and would stay again

Reviewed by
D Simpson

From Antrim, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very homely, service was very good, rooms were very clean, food was good, i would definitely recommend this to everybody.

Reviewed by
a basheer

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, central, reasonable accomodation
Very friendly and helpful welcome. Room good - clean and reasonable amount of space, no noise despite being on road facing side.

Reviewed by
simon b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Glasgow to see the eagles
we were greeted by a very friendly and professional chap on reception called Neil who couldn't do enough for us. I parked outside the door and Neil gave me a parking voucher for £2 which is a lot cheaper than the metre. The hotel is nipping clean and very well decorated and furnished. The shower was excellent and so were the rest of the facilities in the room. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice hot and cold. If you are visiting to go to the area then this hotel is only a 10 minute walk with plenty of bars and restaurants on route. Any future visits to Glasgow and I know where I am staying.

Reviewed by
jeff rutherford

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Niel on reception could not have been more helpfully,perfect location for west end and the hydro, we will be using this hotel again very soon.Fantastic too sum up.

Reviewed by
gerry g

From Grantown on Spey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
This is a lovely clean hotel. My room was the budget room, very narrow and small, and yet had everything you would need for your stay. It is in the basement at the front of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper this is not the room for you. Revellers could be heard outside until the early hours. You share the bathroom with one other person, in my case it was the hotel staff member. this is a great hotel, only a 10 minute bus ride from the city centre and a 5 minute walk to Kelvingrove Museum.

Reviewed by
K Simpson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A+

Reviewed by
Wayne Dickson

From East Calder , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next