No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cliff Hotel and Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
GWBERT , CARDIGAN, SA43 1PP
Cliff Hotel and Spa boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Set in 30 acres of headland, the hotel provides spectacular views of the surrounding landscape, including rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands.

Under new ownership and in the process of being fully refurbished, the Cliff Hotel and Spa offers guests a range of accommodation, with all rooms having en-suite facilities and many having outstanding views overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Hotel's golf course.

A range of food is served throughout the day in our bar or conservatory, ranging from coffees and cake, light bites and snacks to more traditional bar dishes.
In the evening, the restaurant offers a mouth-watering ‘specials’ menu freshly prepared by our team of chefs. We also have private dining facilities for small groups on request. Traditional afternoon teas are available daily and are stunningly presented for guests wishing to enjoy something special during their stay.

Our luxurious Spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi, heated loungers and a gym. All facilities are free for residents staying in the hotel. A wide range of treatments are also available from our fully qualified therapists, though advanced booking is recommended.
Picture of Cliff Hotel and Spa, CARDIGAN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cliff Hotel and Spa
Recently refurbished so a much better experience than a few years ago. Double room was small bit clean and tastefully decorated. Very good breakfast with pleasant staff attending.

Reviewed by
Malcolm G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Revamped hotel is a revelation
I was a bit dubious about the Cliff hotel having looked at some photos online, it looked a bit dated stuck in the 80's. However I and my wife, who had previously been there, were very pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The reception was wonderfully airy and modern with a huge roaring fire to welcome us. They have obviously spent a large amount of money on updating the hotel and this coupled with the unbeatable location made it a very special stay. A number of my friends were staying at the hotel over the weekend as we were attending a nearby wedding, they had also previously visited and were greatly impressed by the revamp. Thoroughly recommended. As an aside, the Ceredigion coast path that passes the hotel has also had a huge amount of work done to it so the walk to Mwnt and it's iconic church (3.4 miles) is now definitely worth a stroll if time permits.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
This was a very nice hotel with friendly staff. My only complaint would be the ventilation system in the room which was a bit loud and which we could not turn off, but everything else was great, so I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Tiffany L

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
The entrance to the hotel has been refurbished to a very nice standard but unfortunately the room had not. I stayed in room 106. To reach it I passed through corridors that could have not been worse in a hostel for the homeless. The room itself was beyond belief. Large damp patches on the walls, furniture from the 1950's, a bathroom which was so small the toilet handle had to swipe across the cistern since there was not enough room to go it in the normal manner.to make it worse the room was between two fire doors, so each time someone passed through the corridor outside as they did all night, you were virtually catapulted out of the bed by the bangs. I took photos to show how truly awful this place was.i only ate breakfast at the hotel and that was ok. The room was clean so no reflection on the housekeeping.

Reviewed by
C Yates

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 11 Freshly refurbished - Great views - Helpful staff - Good location
Bit disappointing as so far from Cardigan & a long way from any coastal walking access.
Great place to Eat - Good Bar - Helpful & eager to please Staff

Reviewed by
Jack T

From Llanwrtyd Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel
Were allocated a room next to spa but when we opened the window it was so noisy from spa machinery. Given a second room which was much quieter but no wifi and very limited view

Reviewed by
Amanda D

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Location
This hotel is in a superb position with magnificent views. Hotel is very well run and the food and service is excellent. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
S Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location - Shame about the hotel
The hotel has some of the best views you are likely to find so its five stars for the location. The hotel is being refit so some rooms are very nice with new bathrooms, beds and carpets. Unfortunately the older rooms are quite depressing and very dated, the bathroom was disgusting (black mould, filthy broken skylight and pathetic shower) . The building exterior again is very dated, needs work and cleaning (windows were filthy). My original room had a broken keycard lock and it took nearly 45mins to sort out another room. When all the refurbishments are complete I imagine this will be a fantastic hotel - in the mean time I would definitely make sure you get a refurbished room if booking - if not find another hotel.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a difference a year and a change of ownership makes.
The first room I was allocated was dark and the ensuite had a stained bath and toilet. The second room was smaller, with only one small window with a very small en-suite. The shower was extremely small and had a very poor water flow. The hotel was undergoing renovations, I had to avoid electrical cables hanging from the ceiling and a light bulb which was very low along the corridor to access my room. The food was very poor. What a difference a year makes, I only booked this hotel as I had such a good experience last year.

Reviewed by
D Watson

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay lots of maintenance being done
My husband and I stayed at the Cliff on Sunday 8th June 2014. On arrival we were impressed with the reception, it was modern, clean, sleak and the reception staff very friendly. We could not fail to notice the bare plaster walls in other area's of the hotel, uneven floors, tiles uplifted etc due to renovation works. We were directed to our room on first floor along a couple of corridors which I think could have done with some art on the walls to break up how pale and cold the corridors loked and felt. On entering our room we were very pleased with the lay out and quality and of course the view was absolutely incredible overlooking Cardigan bay and Poppit sands. Our bathroom wasn't brilliant though, took about 3-4 minutes to get any warm water through the shower and the toilet seat lid was broken. Small things maybe but expected better. We enjoyed our time on the front terrace admiring the stunning view and scenery, bar staff were friendly. One thing that let the area down though was the ladies toilet area. 1 dank, dirty looking narrow room. Looked dirty. I overheard 1 lady say to another "Don't use that toilet through the bar it's awful." The hand dryer was aniquated and was very loose on the wall. Infact, when I touched the button to start it I thought it was going to fall off the wall. Not what I expected from somewhere with such a beautiful entrance and Spa facility. At 7pm we went through to the restaurant for our dinner and can only praise the young girl who was waitressing. She was smiling, polite, pleasant and happy to help in anyway she could. There was also a guy serving us who was lovely, constantly smiling and wanting to be of help. The food was beautiful, Hunters chicken with fresh steamed veggies and the vegetarian dish I had was incredible, tasty and satisying. Chick pea/vegetable tagine with cous cous. Wow!! Desert, Strawberry pavlova is always a winner. Breakfast was buffet or continental style. The spa facilities are beautiful and very relaxing. All in all a relaxing stay with beautiful scenery which will be made even better when renovations are complete and other issues mentioned are addressed. Yes I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next