No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Rita Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
76-78 Alma Road Pennycomequick, Plymouth, PL3 4HD
Inexpensive, clean accommodation in a family run, family friendly hotel. Only a few minutes walk to the City Centre and shopping precinct (including the new shopping mall), the university and the train
station. Easy walking distance to the Barbican and seafront. Closest hotel to HMS Drake, convenient for HMS Raleigh. Closest hotel to Home Park Stadium
Closest hotel to the site of the new Life Centre.
Twin, triple and four person en suite rooms available, good rates for CONTRACTORS, early breakfast. A convenient departure point for Brittany Ferries. Single occupancy rates for our double rooms.

Picture of St  Rita  Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay.
Arrived Friday, staff were pleasant, ensured space was made for our car to be safely parked. Check in didnt take to long. The room was ground floor at the rear. Spacious with ensuite. There were clothes and other items in the drawers. The room smelt musty but generally clean. The toilet was like using one in a little old ladies house, with paper stuffed in holes in door to stop peepers. We were given two wifi codes but no connection was established. The towels were of average condition. We didnt eat breakfast as value our lie ins. The noise from other customers was quite loud and on occassion the hotel seemed like a hostel. Probably wont be goin back, would rather spend a few more pound on alternative accommodation. We had read previous reviews but gave it a chance.

Reviewed by
tim w

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Good Room with nice view but service at breakfast a bit lacking.

Reviewed by
Roy F

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice for a short stay
Stayed between Monday - Wednesday, was a nice hotel as a stop off point. Facilities in the room weren't great (lights not working, bed a bit tatty). Was informed that I may have to change rooms too which wasn't ideal but luckily I didn't have to. Staff were accommodating & the room was a decent size. For a cheap stay, this is ideal.

Reviewed by
A Sutton

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as thought it would be after reading reviews
I was nicely surpised of this accommodation big room and airly. Matresses are little hard and bumpy but happy with price. Location was good.

Reviewed by
paul a

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap but Awful
The room was stated as a 3* double on suite, although the bathroom was clean it was basic and small with no toothbrush tumblers or soap etc, the room however was more of a box room which had overloaded adapter plugs (fire hazard), cobwebs all over the ceiling, coffee splatter marks all over 1 of the walls, mattress was ripped down the side (springs visable) and unironed marked bed linen (the room was just not cleaned at all before our arrival), we were very disappointed and would not recommend or stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
M S H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
The hotel was lovely, on arrival we were greeted by a young man who was very polite and showed us to our room. However it had now been cleaned after the previous guests so we had to wait. Apart from this my stay was excellent and I feel that the quality of accommodation matches the price that I paid for the room.
I would without a doubt stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Nesbitt

From Northern Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caroline's and Rhys' stay, overnight 21st - 22nd June 2014
The proprietor does a very good job of running this hotel single-handed, and even went out to get bacon for my partner's breakfast, and was also at pains to ensure that my breakfast had been adequate. Rooms and beds very comfortable, and the other guests (or at least those we met!) were an interesting and varied bunch. Well done!

Reviewed by
C Holmes

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and tidy room, albeit it a little outdated. No digital Tv, for example. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful once I was able to get hold of them in the morning.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel owners
My plans changed at the last minute and was unable to stay at the hotel, phoned the hotel to tell them ans they phoned me back to say they would not charge me for the second room booked and the two cooked breakfasts ordered, first class hoteliers, will deffinately stay there when I next stay in Plymouth, can't thank them enough.
Regards Sean Hart

Reviewed by
sean hart

From Lee on The Solent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel

Reviewed by
andis l

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next