No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Roebuck Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Baldock Street , Ware, SG12 9DR
The Roebuck Hotel is located with easy access off the A10 close to London, Cambridge and Stansted Airport and offers complimentary on-site car parking.

The Hotel offers modern facilities with a homely feel. The 49 en-suite bedrooms each have a flat-screen TV with Freeview, work desk, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Our newly refurbished Honeymoon Suite offers a cosy seating area.

The restaurant is open Monday to Friday from 19.00-21.30. Restaurant is not available on Saturdays and Sundays. Hotel’s Management do apologise for any inconveniences caused.

Picture of The Roebuck Hotel, Ware at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and run down - don't bother
I've heard they want to pull it down and build flats. The sooner the better. Door knobs hanging off, no remote for the tv, no restaurant and a very tired building altogether. Standard of room was ok and clean, but was not worth £59 a night, room only.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired and run down
Although the staff are working hard to keep this hotel going, it needs a bit of TLC.. Ware in Hertfordshire is a good location but needs a good hotel at a better price.

Reviewed by
s davies

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price

Reviewed by
C Green

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Complimentary essentials
Lack of complimentary soaps etc a big minus we got room for a good price but if we had to pay the full price would not have been happy as soap is a must for hygiene in the bathroom.

Reviewed by
S Mahon

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wifi needs serious improvements

Reviewed by
J Holdaway

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not so cheap and not that cheerful
My room was a decent size. The bathroom needs an overhaul. Its clear that the housekeeping is not up to scratch. My towel was very frayed and the fittings over the bath were tarnishing the bottom of the bath. The chair by the window was dusty and needed a hoover plus no net curtains at the window. I suppose for a double room the price would have been ok if the room was up to standard. I was hoping to stay for 3 nights the following week but changed my mind at the end of the second night.

Reviewed by
S Nelson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jan 2014 visit to Ware
The accommodation is well located in relation to the family we were visiting. We have stayed there before and found it adequate, we only want a bed for the night. We arrive quite late and leave early without using any facilities.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We stayed for one night while visiting family in the area. The hotel is in need of refurbishment, our room was clean but there was a crack in the bathroom sink, the shower pipe leaked and the toilet did not flush properly. Overall though for a one night stay the hotel was perfectly adequate and good value for money as we had a cooked breakfast all included in the price. We would stay again if in need of a room for just the one night.

Reviewed by
J Lee

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

none
none

Reviewed by
Eric P

From Waltham cross, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor review
First room I stayed in 103 bed was comfortable toilet didn't flush after 1st flush, Slow water took over forty five minutes to run a bath and by the time I got in it was cold. Moved rooms to 108 even worse brown stains in bath, Cracked sink basin and wall paper coming away from bedroom walls third room finally much better smelt fresh, Clean bathroom but very uncomfortable bed and pillows. After speaking to the deputy manager who was helpful and polite offered us different room of an upgrade to apologise for the inconvenience was unfortunately unable to so we received a round of free drinks. Over all opinion was poor, Sleepless night banging and crashing around of other people staying and found out the receptionist shouldn't of even given us key to second room as it was out of bounds and decommissioned.

Reviewed by
Sophia C

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next