No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Park Grand London Hyde Park

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
78 Westbourne Terrace , London, W2 6QA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Close to the Hyde Park, Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington Station, Oxford Street, Marble Arch and Queensway. It is a new fully refurbished hotel, complete with luxurious features that our clientele has been expecting. It offers best value for money with brand new contemporary rooms, duplex suites with kitchenettes graced with the comfort of mood lighting, air-conditioning, complimentary broadband internet access from all rooms and public areas etc. The hotel is fully non-smoking. Please note - the hotel does not offer evening meals.

Please note: As a company policy we will take pre-authorization from your card for the first nights stay, 48 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of Park Grand London Hyde Park, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not a 4 star hotel
try to put us in a hotel across the road and give us a room in the basement. we were not very happy.

Reviewed by
t cox

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service was shocking considering they had charged me twice for the one night stay. There was no apology or smile. The receptionist Cristina was not helpful at all and I will not return purely for the appalling service I received from her.

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful value for money. Do not stay here if you want a good night's sleep!
I think the email of complaint I sent to the hotel (which after five working days they haven't responded to) sums up our stay...
"I'd like to take this opportunity to provide some feedback on a recent stay at Park Grand London Hyde Park and Shaftesbury Premier London Paddington.
My Mum and I were originally booked into the Park Grand Hotel last night, however on arrival we were told, without any explanation, that we would be staying at sister hotel, the Shaftesbury Premier, across the road instead.
Upon arrival at the Shaftesbury Hotel we were given room 002. This room was located at the front of the building right next to Reception/The Entrance. The bedroom door was located in a small hallway shared with only a door to the reception area, a door to the corridor of other ground floor bedrooms and the hotel lift. What this meant was that throughout the evening and night we were constantly interrupted or woken by guests either standing outside smoking and chatting or stood making arrangements with one another before heading into the lift, the lift shouting either 'Lift Going Up' or 'Lift Going Down' every time somebody got in and then music being played in reception this morning.
After entering the room last night (which was clean and comfortable but very small i.e. we had to move the room's armchair before we could open the wardrobe) the TV did not work, I had to go to reception twice and then wait for the Porter both times to bring an image back onto the screen, which he explained was due to loose cables behind the screen. The TV turned on at one point during the middle of the night and again stopped working before we left this morning.
Our room was a No Smoking Room however the bathroom along with the towels smelt of smoke as did the bedroom when other hotel guests were smoking outside the hotel entrance.
This morning during breakfast at 10am the staff although efficient looked miserable and seemed a lot more focused on bringing the breakfast session to an end at 10.30am than they were on ensuring guests were well looked after.
Finally, when leaving the Shaftesbury Hotel this morning and asked by The Receptionist if we had a good stay, upon my response about the room being incredibly noisy and small, she told me that I was wrong and the room was actually very big and was one of the best rooms in the hotel. This could well be case however I find it hard to believe having arrived home and looked at the gallery of guest bedrooms on your website.
To sum up our stay, I was heavily disappointed. I would have expected this from a 2 or 3 star B&B but would have hoped for a lot more from a 4 star Hotel costing £142.80 per night. The stay was a Christmas present for my Mum who does not live in London and what should have been a relaxing evening together was noisy, smelly and cramped."

Reviewed by
Gemma S

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel!
My mother and me stayed in Park Grand London Hyde Park for a weekend. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room nice and clean. We had a comfortable stay. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
M van den Berg

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we booked on Late Rooms ?
Arrived at our Hotel, 1900 hrs, after taking in Les Miserbles at the Queens Theatre.
Paid for our room, only to be told that we would not be staying at this hotel,but one across the road.
Had word with manager , that we were not happy, " will show a room here that has just been vacated"
Not impressed at this room at all. "will find you a nice room across the road" offered a drink from the bar, and free breakfast. things starting to look up ! After a moan all turned out to our satisfaction.
Staff went out of their way to see that we were looked after. Happy Birthday for my Lovely wife

Reviewed by
Douglas Willing

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Please do not use this so called hotel
First staff member we met was very friendly but also inadequate in her job. Room very small, parking terrible. Food was cold and trays empty, toaster broken coffee cold. Last staff member very very rude. We paid cash on arrival as reception requested this so paid our bill in full, had one drink from bar which was £3 I check out they charged £8, we were told this was for the drink when I showed receipt they said no it was for breakfast when I showed paid receipt they then said it was for parking when I showed receipt for this they then said we had been under charged for the room. I refused to pay as felt they were trying to bump up our bill with no valid reason. Will never stay there again.

Reviewed by
N Tompkins

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

How is this hotel 4 stars
My experience of this hotel felt a little fawlty towers-esque. I arrived late and found a pokey reception. I was immediately charged for my room but only given a card machine receipt not a normal hotel bill. My first allocated room had no working lights, then the second was behind a door next to reception (why would anyone want that noise) then finally my third room was ok. A little tatty round the edges and hot - air con (complete with 2 control boxes - which one to use??) not able to cool the double height room. How does this get 4 stars is beyond me.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quite central location with decent rooms
Booked a superior room at very short notice for reasonable price. Requested to have a single bed next to the double bed which we had to remind them about after arrival but the issue was quickly resolved.
Decent and clean bathroom and quite a tiny room but I guess this is true for most London Hotels. Only bummer was that they charged for parking additionally to the room

Reviewed by
Sebastian R

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great city centre stay
Very friendly. Parking available

Reviewed by
C Smith

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked a room at The Park Grand Hotel and upon arrival were told that due to a problem with water we were moved across the road to their sister hotel .I had booked a double delux room
and although our room was clean and tidy it was very small,but not as small as the shower I am
12 stone and fairly slim and just fitted if I had dropped my shower gel I would not have had enough room to bend down to pick it up.I dont know how true the story about the water was but there seemed to be plenty of other people staying.It was Easter weekend and I think that maybe they had over booked and were using the sister hotel as overflow.I am unable to give a review of The Park Grand as I did not stay in the Hotel I had viewed on line and booked.

Reviewed by
Andrew Stamp

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next