No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland , Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW
The Sporting Lodge Inns is situated within a short distance of Middlesbrough Town Centre, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Durham Tees Vally Airport and other surrounding areas.
The Sporting Lodge Inns is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas as it is within easy access to the A19, A174 and A1.
With 140 ensuite bedrooms we have room's to suit all your requirements wether your staying for business or leisure.
Whilst staying with Sporting Lodge Inns guests will benefit from free car parking, free WIFI and Complimentary use of the leisure facilities in the Escapezone Leisure Club. The Escapezone Leisure club offers a gym, 25m pool, sauna, spa and steam room.
You will also find The Old Poste House Bar & Restaurant offering excellent food and drinks served in a relaxed atmosphere.

Picture of Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very comfortable
The location and general appeal of this accommodation is second to none but for us personally it was let down by the most important bit the bed it was so uncomfortable we both woke with aches and pains the pillows were like slabs of concrete and the bed far to low and soft
Although there was free wifi the signal wasn't very strong and even the phones were loosing signal intermittently

Reviewed by
C Davies

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
The rooms are good, clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is a little shabby like the carpets, could do with newly doing but the rooms and facilities are nice.

Reviewed by
P Oakley

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice place
We stayed at the sporting lodge for one night to attend a party. The executive room was really nice very spacious and comfy bed. For the price we couldn't of expected more. The gym facilities looked great just a shame we did not have chance to use them. Breakfast was perfect you self served allowing you to have as much as you wanted from cereal, fruit, toast and full cooked breakfast items which tasted really good. We certainly will book again!

Reviewed by
Michelle W

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just okay
Room was very tired looking and dowdy. When we first entered the room all we could smell was the drains so we had leave the plug in the basin plug hole which seemed to sort the problem. The bed was very squeaky on one side which was irritating at night and the bath was clearly old and worn. The facilities (pool, sauna, steam room etc) were fantastic however. All in all if you're just looking for a place to stay for one night there are cheaper, more modern alternatives with newer beds, baths, decoration etc.

Reviewed by
Rob S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ticks all the boxes
I stay here about 10 nights a year and it fulfils my requirements
Gym and Leisure facilities are great, room service is efficient with good food.
Staff are pleasant, free WiFi and good breakfast for a fiver.
Some of the accommodation block could start to do with brightening up as looking a little dated but overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
carl h

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was of the same standard as premier inn although the room was cold on arrival.
The hotel was expensive particularly when taking into account breakfast was not included in the price which given the presence of a card "Eat Well" was somewhat dissappointing.

Reviewed by
Garry O

From York, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Letdown!
Paid for a room titled executive suite and couldn't be more wrong!.
Filler on the walls
2 out of 3 lamp shades where broken,
bleach stained with bleach
the bath sealant was moulded and black
personal locking cupboard had no key and yet again damaged
dust on the walls
seriously look into this reservation as i was really let down.
Even took photo and a video to prove lol.

Reviewed by
vicky jones

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good , but hey , you live and learn !
Booked this for my daughter and son in law , for overnight stay to visit us , executive room just looks like an average double room , smelt musty but never mind , my biggest complaint was the food , burger was asked to be well done , came rare with blood dripping from it and all over the bread roll they kindly took it back and it came back well done with the blood still on bread roll , cloudy sherry that's a first , we asked for sherry and it came discoloured and cloudy , please note we are in the wines and spirits business , so I suggest they remove that so called cloudy sherry From the said bar as they is no such thing , cloudy sherry indeed and the staff in charge still tried to convince us that's how it comes in the bottle , and to finish off no bill or receipt given on checkout , I apologised to my children and the expieriance won't happen again , thank you

Reviewed by
James T

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed for one night the room was quite nice and clean enjoyable stay nice variety for breakfast the following morning.

Reviewed by
Yasmin C

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Stay
My partner and I required a room at the inn for Christmas, not too far from family who live at Ingleby Barwick. The hotel has ample parking and is easily accessed from the A19.

Reviewed by
P Thornford

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next