Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough


Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland, Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW

Price From 167.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (132)

55% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Gavin B

  • September 2015

Good facilities

The gym is enormous and the pool area is great.

The changing rooms are a bit shabby and could do with refurbishment. Rooms are clean and a good size but again could do with a lick of paint etc in a few areas. All in all, good value for money if you've got time to enjoy the pool and gym.

  • Tina R

  • September 2015

Sporting inn Middlesbrough

On arrival met by girl with no customer service finesse.

Didn't explain about breakfast or anything I had to ask. Junior suite was large but dated. But the most annoying thing was the shower which was a dribble!!. Couldn't wash the shampoo out of my hair it was so bad, never seen a "shower" like it before-appalling. Wouldn't go there again

  • J Hammerton

  • September 2015


On arrival it was very busy as this is a operational gym and pool open to the public.

Staff at reception was ok I can't say more than that because she just talked like a robot nothing personal, she didn't explain anything about the hotel or how to use the facilities.

Onto the accommodation basic but didn't expect more for what I paid, so was value for money. There was no information in the room about the hotel and the facilities which I would of expected, room was clean but could of been cleaner with dust around and stains on the carpet. I had a twin room and one of the beds was broken leaving this uncomfortable to sleep in. Walls were very thin could hear everything leaving my sleep distrupted.

On a good note very easy to find location and value for money

  • R Fletcher

  • September 2015

Poor show

First bed the linen had not been changed from previous guest ALARMING

The second single bed had one castor missing from base and was lying at an angle

The sliding windows backing onto car park on ground floor room were unable to be secured ALARMING

All in all a somewhat aged hotel requiring significant upgrade to accommodation section

  • M Sanderson

  • September 2015

Sporting Lodge

The room was basic no curtains just blinds.

There were stains on the walls by the bin and peeling paint in the bathroom. No extraction unit. Uneven floor in corridor.

  • James G

  • September 2015

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

Hotel is looking old needs some tidy up work.

  • Nigel C

  • September 2015

Very dated and poorly managed

I booked an executive room at £80.

I stay in hotels several nights a week and this was the poorest room I have seen in a long time. The room was clean but the furnishings were old. The shower was a trickle and the hand basin was blocked. The soap dispenser in the shower was empty so I had to step out of the shower to use the dispenser over the handbasin.

A full English breakfast was a very reasonable £8-95, however there were no glasses for the juice, no milk for cereal and the choice of fruit was a small bowl of mainly watermelon. I served myself coffee after waiting (I normally have decaf but it wasn't available) and the wholemeal bread near the toaster and the fried eggs had run out and not been replenished. The bacon was dry after sitting under lights for a while. A waitress was busy cleaning a fish tank so dirty plates were left on the tables. On a positive note, all the staff I spoke to were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very dated however what it is more in need of is managing properly so the small niggles are resolved.

  • Phil N

  • August 2015

Wedding party

Good venue for wedding, great grounds


  • August 2015

shabby but not chic

receptionist most unhelpful with a view to our situation on arrival (baby who broke his leg on route).

tried to upgrade from twin room to second family room to be told there werent any available.

Checked into family room that had a strong smell of urine, complained and were moved 5 doors along corridor to a refurbished room. (but all rooms were booked up the rec told me earlier). on arrival were told both rooms booked were close, but they couldnt have been further apart.!!. twin room was upgraded also due to the state of the room. A staff member in the pool advised that they give people the 'shabby' rooms and only upgrade them if they complain. shabby was how the room was described by the receptionist.!!!

  • J Austin

  • August 2015

Mid week break

A well located hotel.

The room was well appointed and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was great to have a swimming pool and hot tub to unwind in.