No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland , Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW
The Sporting Lodge Inns is situated within a short distance of Middlesbrough Town Centre, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Durham Tees Vally Airport and other surrounding areas.
The Sporting Lodge Inns is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas as it is within easy access to the A19, A174 and A1.
With 140 ensuite bedrooms we have room's to suit all your requirements wether your staying for business or leisure.
Whilst staying with Sporting Lodge Inns guests will benefit from free car parking, free WIFI and Complimentary use of the leisure facilities in the Escapezone Leisure Club. The Escapezone Leisure club offers a gym, 25m pool, sauna, spa and steam room.
You will also find The Old Poste House Bar & Restaurant offering excellent food and drinks served in a relaxed atmosphere.

Picture of Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was of the same standard as premier inn although the room was cold on arrival.
The hotel was expensive particularly when taking into account breakfast was not included in the price which given the presence of a card "Eat Well" was somewhat dissappointing.

Reviewed by
Garry O

From York, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Letdown!
Paid for a room titled executive suite and couldn't be more wrong!.
Filler on the walls
2 out of 3 lamp shades where broken,
bleach stained with bleach
the bath sealant was moulded and black
personal locking cupboard had no key and yet again damaged
dust on the walls
seriously look into this reservation as i was really let down.
Even took photo and a video to prove lol.

Reviewed by
vicky jones

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed for one night the room was quite nice and clean enjoyable stay nice variety for breakfast the following morning.

Reviewed by
Yasmin C

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not very good , but hey , you live and learn !
Booked this for my daughter and son in law , for overnight stay to visit us , executive room just looks like an average double room , smelt musty but never mind , my biggest complaint was the food , burger was asked to be well done , came rare with blood dripping from it and all over the bread roll they kindly took it back and it came back well done with the blood still on bread roll , cloudy sherry that's a first , we asked for sherry and it came discoloured and cloudy , please note we are in the wines and spirits business , so I suggest they remove that so called cloudy sherry From the said bar as they is no such thing , cloudy sherry indeed and the staff in charge still tried to convince us that's how it comes in the bottle , and to finish off no bill or receipt given on checkout , I apologised to my children and the expieriance won't happen again , thank you

Reviewed by
James T

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

functional
Stayed here over Christmas whilst visiting family. Cleanish functional room. Bedrooms, function rooms and corridors all in need of redecoration/general maintenance. Bedrooms have a TV, hairdryer, trouser press and kettle. Only provided with one teabag but this seemed to be an oversight that the friendly staff were happy to rectify.
Unfortunately a bit of a depressing experience overall but convenient for visiting family and friends.

Reviewed by
Helen G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Stay
My partner and I required a room at the inn for Christmas, not too far from family who live at Ingleby Barwick. The hotel has ample parking and is easily accessed from the A19.

Reviewed by
P Thornford

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking
Arrived about 7:30pm. Surprised to find such a good pool and gym for the price. Room was excellent but the bathroom was a little dated.
Will be back as I'm down that way a couple of times a month

Reviewed by
G Crawford

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied with this hotel
Location good, reception attentive, room and breakfast all okay. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
William G

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough
Great hotel, only small issue was the bed was uncomfortable and seemed a little old.

Reviewed by
Danielle A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be a very good place to stay.
The biggest problem with this hotel is that it is dated, worn and in need of a refresh. My room had gaffer tape on the carpet & cracked tiles in the bathroom. This is not a bad hotel, but its star rating is effected by the poor state of its interior. The hotel has lots of staff, they are welcoming, friendly and helpful . The gym which you are able to use, is a good facility. The bar and restaurant is very good, visually a completely different place from the hotel and the food is very very good. It isn't an expensive hotel but I couldn't say it was value for money as I've stayed in more modern Travelodge's for half the price. I'm an interior designer by trade and maybe I'm a little more critical than others on how things are represented visually, but for £170 for a 2 night stay, I expect better. Owners, please take note and invest, you could have a very good place to stay. I would recommend this hotel if you could get it cheap enough and if you can ignore the decor, there should be little to complain about.

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next