No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland , Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW
The Sporting Lodge Inns is situated within a short distance of Middlesbrough Town Centre, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Durham Tees Vally Airport and other surrounding areas.
The Sporting Lodge Inns is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas as it is within easy access to the A19, A174 and A1.
With 140 ensuite bedrooms we have room's to suit all your requirements wether your staying for business or leisure.
Whilst staying with Sporting Lodge Inns guests will benefit from free car parking, free WIFI and Complimentary use of the leisure facilities in the Escapezone Leisure Club. The Escapezone Leisure club offers a gym, 25m pool, sauna, spa and steam room.
You will also find The Old Poste House Bar & Restaurant offering excellent food and drinks served in a relaxed atmosphere.

Picture of Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little break
Nice friendly hotel staff very good great service

Reviewed by
D Buchanan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit of a let down
I dont normally leave negative reviews so I won`t do for this hotel,as all i look for is safe parking and a good clean room which this place does have along with many other hotels at much lower prices for 1 person in the area,the hotel was for me overated price wise,although the staff were very helpfull in the grill but again for me £26 for food for 1 course and 2 glasses of wine was a bit expensive for the amount of food on the plate,luckily for me I had brought some other snacks too eat after my main meal as i was still hungry and it was 10,30pm.no breakfast included in the main price for the room either,again other hotels offer this with lower prices.was ok but I wouldnt want to pay that much again for a nights stay.

Reviewed by
A CARTER

From parnac, France
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely good value for money
The hotel is looking a little bit tired, and the dining room is oddly positioned - it feels like, and it may actually be, in a building that has nothing to do with the hotel - but it is astonishingly good value, and has a swimming pool and an excellent gym. As I left at 10 am the next morning, there was a gymnastic class going out in the gardens. The hotel is very quiet. It is a bit of a hike from Middlesbrough - £11 in a taxi - but given how few hotels there are in Middlesbrough itself, this is my hotel of choice when I have business in the town.

Reviewed by
Simon Levene

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience
Beautiful well decorated clean and spacious room.

Reviewed by
Angela H

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money

Reviewed by
d monaghan

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value B&B .. just don't expect a great evening
If all you want is somewhere to sleep for the night, rooms are good and reception staff helpful. We will stay again as it is convenient for visiting our daughter who has no spare beds!
If you want a hotel experience then don't bother. We arrived late and went to the bar at just after 10.30 on Friday evening (opening hours "at discretion") hoping for a good wind down, a few beers and a chat. There was one lovely couple in there and we started chatting. As we bought our first drink we were then hassled out by the barman wanting to close the bar. We had to buy the drink and then take it to the reception area to sit and drink it. Not a good experience.

Reviewed by
Jaqui S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel room pictures!
There are two types of rooms here- very modern decorated rooms, and 1970s old tatty rooms. I asked the receptionist which one I would be getting- she said she didn't know what kind of room it was (I asked for an executive double). It was in no way shape or form an 'executive double'. But it was indeed a very old room and certainly not as described or depicted on their website.

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Used the hotel when visiting relatives, the décor is a little warn but overall the hotel is very comfortable, nice room (if a little warm!), comfort bed, clean bathroom, good shower. Staff were friendly and the 24 hour front desk useful as we arrived after midnight. Breakfast was also good and value for money as it was only £5 extra when booked with the room. Overall the hotel proved a good base and we will use it again

Reviewed by
D Moore

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General review
All fine apart from the bed was lumpy and you could feel the springs protruding

Reviewed by
Stephen Johnson

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby accommodation
Rooms and corridors could do with a through update. Food well very different if not odd combinations and expensive!

Reviewed by
Sue M

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next