No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland , Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW
The Sporting Lodge Inns is situated within a short distance of Middlesbrough Town Centre, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Durham Tees Vally Airport and other surrounding areas.
The Sporting Lodge Inns is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas as it is within easy access to the A19, A174 and A1.
With 140 ensuite bedrooms we have room's to suit all your requirements wether your staying for business or leisure.
Whilst staying with Sporting Lodge Inns guests will benefit from free car parking, free WIFI and Complimentary use of the leisure facilities in the Escapezone Leisure Club. The Escapezone Leisure club offers a gym, 25m pool, sauna, spa and steam room.
You will also find The Old Poste House Bar & Restaurant offering excellent food and drinks served in a relaxed atmosphere.

Picture of Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking
Arrived about 7:30pm. Surprised to find such a good pool and gym for the price. Room was excellent but the bathroom was a little dated.
Will be back as I'm down that way a couple of times a month

Reviewed by
G Crawford

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied with this hotel
Location good, reception attentive, room and breakfast all okay. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
William G

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough
Great hotel, only small issue was the bed was uncomfortable and seemed a little old.

Reviewed by
Danielle A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be a very good place to stay.
The biggest problem with this hotel is that it is dated, worn and in need of a refresh. My room had gaffer tape on the carpet & cracked tiles in the bathroom. This is not a bad hotel, but its star rating is effected by the poor state of its interior. The hotel has lots of staff, they are welcoming, friendly and helpful . The gym which you are able to use, is a good facility. The bar and restaurant is very good, visually a completely different place from the hotel and the food is very very good. It isn't an expensive hotel but I couldn't say it was value for money as I've stayed in more modern Travelodge's for half the price. I'm an interior designer by trade and maybe I'm a little more critical than others on how things are represented visually, but for £170 for a 2 night stay, I expect better. Owners, please take note and invest, you could have a very good place to stay. I would recommend this hotel if you could get it cheap enough and if you can ignore the decor, there should be little to complain about.

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money

Reviewed by
S Donald

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate, but in a very basic way

Reviewed by
Andrea B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little break
Nice friendly hotel staff very good great service

Reviewed by
D Buchanan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like Crossroads!!
Pleasant staff, nice food but rooms are so very tired and not worth the £85 at all.
I think the rooms are in need of updating and bringing up to date.
My thoughts are the leisure centre is this places main priority, pub/bar 3nd and accomidation way down the list. I'd have thought the accomidation was worth £40 a room per night and people only book here because the local Premier Inns are full?

Reviewed by
Shaun B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bit of a let down
I dont normally leave negative reviews so I won`t do for this hotel,as all i look for is safe parking and a good clean room which this place does have along with many other hotels at much lower prices for 1 person in the area,the hotel was for me overated price wise,although the staff were very helpfull in the grill but again for me £26 for food for 1 course and 2 glasses of wine was a bit expensive for the amount of food on the plate,luckily for me I had brought some other snacks too eat after my main meal as i was still hungry and it was 10,30pm.no breakfast included in the main price for the room either,again other hotels offer this with lower prices.was ok but I wouldnt want to pay that much again for a nights stay.

Reviewed by
A CARTER

From parnac, France
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely good value for money
The hotel is looking a little bit tired, and the dining room is oddly positioned - it feels like, and it may actually be, in a building that has nothing to do with the hotel - but it is astonishingly good value, and has a swimming pool and an excellent gym. As I left at 10 am the next morning, there was a gymnastic class going out in the gardens. The hotel is very quiet. It is a bit of a hike from Middlesbrough - £11 in a taxi - but given how few hotels there are in Middlesbrough itself, this is my hotel of choice when I have business in the town.

Reviewed by
Simon Levene

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next