No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland , Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW
The Sporting Lodge Inns is situated within a short distance of Middlesbrough Town Centre, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Durham Tees Vally Airport and other surrounding areas.
The Sporting Lodge Inns is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas as it is within easy access to the A19, A174 and A1.
With 140 ensuite bedrooms we have room's to suit all your requirements wether your staying for business or leisure.
Whilst staying with Sporting Lodge Inns guests will benefit from free car parking, free WIFI and Complimentary use of the leisure facilities in the Escapezone Leisure Club. The Escapezone Leisure club offers a gym, 25m pool, sauna, spa and steam room.
You will also find The Old Poste House Bar & Restaurant offering excellent food and drinks served in a relaxed atmosphere.

Picture of Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Used the hotel when visiting relatives, the décor is a little warn but overall the hotel is very comfortable, nice room (if a little warm!), comfort bed, clean bathroom, good shower. Staff were friendly and the 24 hour front desk useful as we arrived after midnight. Breakfast was also good and value for money as it was only £5 extra when booked with the room. Overall the hotel proved a good base and we will use it again

Reviewed by
D Moore

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel room pictures!
There are two types of rooms here- very modern decorated rooms, and 1970s old tatty rooms. I asked the receptionist which one I would be getting- she said she didn't know what kind of room it was (I asked for an executive double). It was in no way shape or form an 'executive double'. But it was indeed a very old room and certainly not as described or depicted on their website.

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value B&B .. just don't expect a great evening
If all you want is somewhere to sleep for the night, rooms are good and reception staff helpful. We will stay again as it is convenient for visiting our daughter who has no spare beds!
If you want a hotel experience then don't bother. We arrived late and went to the bar at just after 10.30 on Friday evening (opening hours "at discretion") hoping for a good wind down, a few beers and a chat. There was one lovely couple in there and we started chatting. As we bought our first drink we were then hassled out by the barman wanting to close the bar. We had to buy the drink and then take it to the reception area to sit and drink it. Not a good experience.

Reviewed by
Jaqui S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General review
All fine apart from the bed was lumpy and you could feel the springs protruding

Reviewed by
Stephen Johnson

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby accommodation
Rooms and corridors could do with a through update. Food well very different if not odd combinations and expensive!

Reviewed by
Sue M

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced food
Hotel is average,food is drastically overpriced for what you get,fish n chips 16quid,better quality and amount from any local chippy.

Reviewed by
John M

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel - in dire need of refurb!
Hotel was very tired - needs refurbishment! Room was clean apart from stain on carpet and yellow marks on bathroom ceiling. Reception staff not very helpful at all - was not advised of facilities or times of dinner/breakfast. Restaurant staff were friendlier. Trouble sleeping due to wedding reception taking place. Wouldn't stay here again.

Reviewed by
Claire L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not return
Having regular business in the area I was looking for somewhere that might be a 'home away from home' that could be my regular base for visits to the area. I chose an Executive room as I am prepared to pay a bit extra for a bit more comfort. I checked in and as soon as I walked from the reception to the rooms I saw the run down appearance. I did hold out some hope for the 'executive room' however these were dashed with a poorly made bed, a dowdy appearance of decor and furniture, a desk chair that had no padding in the seat, an antiquated shower and no wifi for the entire stay despite advertising free wifi throughout and me notifying the reception. I did ask reception what the difference between an executive room and a standard were and was told 'slightly more space but nothing else'. Hotels should make it very clear what the extra money on the upgrade is for.
Breakfast was sparse food-wise and fully self service which I don't mind but it would have been nice to be offered tea or coffee like some of the other guests.
Not worth the money at all and would class this hotel as a gym and pool with rooms and eatery as lack lustre add ons - pity as it actually gave a different impression on the website.

Reviewed by
S Price

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs ugent refurb
After feeling rather unwelcome by the desk receptionist who never even said hello can I help you or any greeting similar we were then left with an overnight stay at a very tired hotel. Old scratched furniture, outdated bathroom, dirty stained carpets throughout the hotel. I could go on but it really must have a refurb asap as best place was reception. We had hard pillows with worn sheets albeit clean, outside our door 2 pillow cases left when we checked in & still there when we went to breakfast. A wedding party was staying so was awake at 5a.m by a guest singing in a room close by for half an hour.We did not bother to complain as we had got the room cheap however other competitors at the same price are much cleaner & more updated.

Reviewed by
l rayner

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price for 4* Hotel.
Got a half price deal, £55 for a 4* hotel was good value. Room was clean & it had a shower & bath. Had chance to use the gym,sauna, swimming pool etc all included but didn't have enough time.

Reviewed by
mark blackett

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next