No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Low Lane,Thornaby,Stockton-On-Tees,Cleveland , Middlesbrough, TS17 9LW
The Sporting Lodge Inns is situated within a short distance of Middlesbrough Town Centre, Stockton on Tees, Redcar, Durham Tees Vally Airport and other surrounding areas.
The Sporting Lodge Inns is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas as it is within easy access to the A19, A174 and A1.
With 140 ensuite bedrooms we have room's to suit all your requirements wether your staying for business or leisure.
Whilst staying with Sporting Lodge Inns guests will benefit from free car parking, free WIFI and Complimentary use of the leisure facilities in the Escapezone Leisure Club. The Escapezone Leisure club offers a gym, 25m pool, sauna, spa and steam room.
You will also find The Old Poste House Bar & Restaurant offering excellent food and drinks served in a relaxed atmosphere.

Picture of Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough, Middlesbrough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel and great value for money

Reviewed by
S Donald

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed

Reviewed by
a telford

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed on business
Stayed here for 4 nights. Nothing actually wrong with the hotel, but it has nothing exceptional about it. The decoration is very tired and feels like it is from the 1970s. The place is very clean but the room I stayed in was very small. All the doors are very light and the bathroom very small. The shower was fine, decent water pressure. The bed was comfy but the rooms don't have any air con so can get warm (in summer!). Car parking is very good apart from the huge crater like potholes in the tarmac. Didn't get told about the gym etc so never used it. Ate in the on site restaurant for the first night, didn't do it again after! The food was ridiculously priced, cost over £18 for a beer and burger! The food was no better than McDonald's. The pint of beer was good.
Overall nothing wrong with the hotel just nothing that makes it stand out. For £10 extra a night I could have stayed at a premier in but this place looked decent. Not worth the £50 ! Night I paid. I definitely wouldn't pay any more!

Reviewed by
Matthew P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for the price, great location friendly staff.

Reviewed by
e walker

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent comfy room
Really enjoyed the stay, the room was well equipped, clean and spacious. Only downside was a limited menu in the Restaraunt, menu print quite small and faint, quite dark in there too. Hotel couldn't fault, Restaraunt not as good. Would stay again but properly eat out.

Reviewed by
Nicola S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute booking
big football tournament in redcar, we booked the hotel at the last minute to avoid early start. middlebrough seemed fully booked and we felt lucky to get booked here. the room was clean but old fashioned really. the hotel is massive, almost an old butlins feel to it, creaky, uneven floors, very long corridors, a long walk with the bags to our room. but it served its purpose well like I say it was clean and comfy, the pool looked nice and the gym well equipped, the breakfast was nice and there was lots to chose from hot and cold. the bar on the night stayed open late 2am I think!!! and children were welcome. if it was just the mrs and I, I would book in to something nicer/more modern but if its for families then this will do fine, next year were gonna book the full footy team here and it will do us fine. staff were all friendly polite and helpful, honestly no issues apart from the lack of modernisation and no extractor in the bathroom !!!

Reviewed by
jason w

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value fof money
Public rooms very good but bedrooms worn out.Nice and clean and for the price no complaints.Evening meal lovely but expensive considering close to a variety of pubs.Could be why it was quiet.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Room in general ok, however my partner has an habit of stripping the bedding on last day. We discovered yellow stains on undersheet and the duvet must have been on it's last legs months ago!!! If we had known the condition prior to sleeping in the bed we would have complained.

Reviewed by
R Kelly

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
Basic but comfortable, whole place could do with refurbishment and brightening up.

Reviewed by
SYLVIA V

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and tidy but needs modernising. It was a little tired looking although all the necessary facilities were in there although very old fashioned.

Reviewed by
Jean Downes

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next