Reviews - BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel


Beamish, County Durham, DH9 0YB

Price From 324.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Martin A

  • April 2015

Great hotel in a great location

Quality hotel at reasonable prices, great restaurant and bar.

  • Martin A

  • April 2015

Great Hotel and Staff

This is a lovely hotel in great surrounding and my goto place for when I am in the area.

  • Jon N

  • March 2015

Very Impressive

Lovely looking mansion set in its own grounds, excellent rooms, good service and very nice restaurant with excellent food.

Only one gripe which is beyond the control of the hotel - mobile phone coverage is terrible.

  • Mike Anthony

  • February 2015

Lovely hotel.

Staff really helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room slightly small but very well presented. Only downside was the poor phone reception. Would certainly stay again. Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food.


  • November 2014

Best Value for money in over 10 years of hotel stays

For the money I paid and the room I got a deluxe double.

This is easily the best hotel I have stayed in worldwide for this value. I will recommend this to anyone in my circle and look forward to my next stay. Only moan is no signal for Orange mobile anywhere within 200 yards of the hotel.

  • David Bonser

  • November 2014

Nice and relaxing place to stay in superb surroundings

rooms clean and warm ,hotel 17th century so rooms furnished to continue this theme.

ie. old and wooden so everything creaks like the floor boards ,bed and wardrobe but not to much of a problem. Food -breakfast and dinner is superb .The hotel even as its own micro brewery ideal for real ale fans. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Jean E

  • November 2014

Unacceptably small so called double bed.

Despite being impressed by the beautiful grounds and the general quality feel of the hotel, we were quite taken aback to find that our "double bed" in a de-luxe room at £100 a night was only four feet wide.

I doubt if this fulfils the legal description of a double bed. The room itself and bathroom were very good but obviously we didn't sleep well. There was no other room we could be transferred to. When we repeated our complaint on checking out we were offered £50 off the bill which didn't compensate for lack of sleep. Don't accept room 251. If we stayed here again we would need to be sure we didn't get this room, which is the only one with such a small bed.

  • John R

  • September 2014

We had an enjoyable stay marred only by the heat in the rooms at night.

Despite mentioning this to reception and being reassured that it would be remedied our second night was uncomfortably hot once again . We had need of an electric fan throughout the night . Otherwise the stay was very enjoyable

  • Richard Bradley

  • September 2014

I use late rooms a lot, and have to say beamish hall has got to be the best hotel I have stayed in for setting and value for money, tottaly faultless

  • J Sim

  • September 2014

Noisy bathroom experience.

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.

Perfectly pleasant and helpful staff. Lovely food. All well you would assume. Until 1.30 a.m. when having flushed the toilet it continued to flush, and flush and flush. Upon investigation it would appear that the cistern had been held together inside by bits of wire, which had failed and the noise was extremely loud!!. We were moved to an apartment at the top of the building (it is 2 a.m. by now) which although spacious was somewhat chilly and did not smell particularly pleasant. Not conducive to a good night's sleep. Only sketchy apologies offered.