No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan at Streatley

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
High Street,Streatley , Streatley on Thames, RG8 9HR
On the banks of the river Thames, in a picturesque Berkshire village, The Swan at Streatley has been welcoming guests since the 1700’s. With 39 ensuite bedrooms , a modern English restaurant, relaxed riverside bar and terrace, as well as the Boat House Deli & Café, The Swan is a place to stay, eat great food, socialise and enjoy the river and countryside. Our gym with mineral pool, sauna, jacuzzi and treatment rooms is popular with both guests and local residents. The Hotel offers extensive conference and banqueting facilities and is a wonderful location for weddings in Berkshire and Oxfordshire.
Picture of The Swan at Streatley, Streatley on Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Accommodation in need of refurbishment
Whole hotel had a very 'tired' feel to it. Room was very small and in need of refurbishment. Over bath shower had very little pressure. Vastly over-priced for the accommodation offered.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Warm night stay at this hotel
Service and everything as expected, although one down point and that was the temperature in the room, no air conditioning and no window to open for fresh air circulation, French doors needed to be left open which opened on to car-park giving us no security on the ground floor. As a result we did not book for a second night stay, which we considered on arrival.

Reviewed by
Richard G

From Llandeilo, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan at Streatley
I frequently stay a night or two at the Swan. On this occasion I noticed a decline in service at the restaurant. One evening waiter appeared to have had no training. Other waiters excellent, and I will stay there again.

Reviewed by
d cooper

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar and restuarant refurbishment is a big improvement. Rooms could also do with a make-over. Still expensive compared with other places in the area.

Reviewed by
Brian S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar/Restuarant has been refurbished. Rooms could do with redecorating.

Reviewed by
Brian S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Booked very much last minute following a work commitment. 20 minutes from Reading but very much in the country. Gym good, breakfast excellent. Everywhere clean and staff very friendly. One crticisim would be that the bathroom fittings could do with a spruce up but that's being very picky. Very much recommended.

Reviewed by
S Mcallister

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan at Streatley
Excellent, especially the service.

Reviewed by
david c

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.

Reviewed by
D Wood

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business in January
The hotel has been taken over in the past year and there is a note in the room to say that refurbishments are planned. This is a comfortable hotel but it is dated and tired in its décor so new paint etc will help. Plumbing is very old fashioned. Staff are very friendly and courteous. The food is excellent and well priced.
My room was at the end of a long corridor on the first floor. It didn't seem that the hotel was very full so to have put me nearer the entrance would have been helpful; these small things can mean a lot. The very thick curtains stop the heating being effective at night. When the refurbishment happens, this would be a sensible consideration.

Reviewed by
kathy m

From Templecombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff- Nice Hotel
This was a new years / birthday treat. There was a bit of a mix up with the dinner booking so we were quickly offered a discount. The staff were really helpful in sorting that out. Room was lovely with a little patio. Unfortunately overlooking the car park but as we booked later I understand all the rooms overlooking the river were taken. Spa was nice an relaxing, although the 'pool' is really for dipping and not swimming as its so small. Staff were extremely helpful although perhaps a little over-stretched at breakfast on New Years Day. Overall a pleasent experience.

Reviewed by
paul m

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next