The Swan at Streatley

0

High Street,Streatley, Streatley on Thames, RG8 9HR

Price From 212.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • d cooper

  • July 2014

Swan at Streatley

I frequently stay a night or two at the Swan.

On this occasion I noticed a decline in service at the restaurant. One evening waiter appeared to have had no training. Other waiters excellent, and I will stay there again.

  • Brian S

  • May 2014

Bar and restuarant refurbishment is a big improvement.

Rooms could also do with a make-over. Still expensive compared with other places in the area.

  • Brian S

  • April 2014

Bar/Restuarant has been refurbished.

Rooms could do with redecorating.

  • S Mcallister

  • March 2014

Great Location

Booked very much last minute following a work commitment.

20 minutes from Reading but very much in the country. Gym good, breakfast excellent. Everywhere clean and staff very friendly. One crticisim would be that the bathroom fittings could do with a spruce up but that's being very picky. Very much recommended.

  • david c

  • March 2014

Swan at Streatley

Excellent, especially the service.

  • kathy m

  • January 2014

Business in January

The hotel has been taken over in the past year and there is a note in the room to say that refurbishments are planned.

This is a comfortable hotel but it is dated and tired in its d├ęcor so new paint etc will help. Plumbing is very old fashioned. Staff are very friendly and courteous. The food is excellent and well priced. My room was at the end of a long corridor on the first floor. It didn't seem that the hotel was very full so to have put me nearer the entrance would have been helpful; these small things can mean a lot. The very thick curtains stop the heating being effective at night. When the refurbishment happens, this would be a sensible consideration.

  • paul m

  • January 2014

Helpful Staff- Nice Hotel

This was a new years / birthday treat.

There was a bit of a mix up with the dinner booking so we were quickly offered a discount. The staff were really helpful in sorting that out. Room was lovely with a little patio. Unfortunately overlooking the car park but as we booked later I understand all the rooms overlooking the river were taken. Spa was nice an relaxing, although the 'pool' is really for dipping and not swimming as its so small. Staff were extremely helpful although perhaps a little over-stretched at breakfast on New Years Day. Overall a pleasent experience.

  • Jon Fitzmaurice

  • January 2014

The Swan Hotel

The Swan is a very nice hotel in an idyllic location, right next to the Thames.

The owners appear to be currently spending a lot of money on improving the hotel and its amenities, which seems to be well spent.

  • Christine W

  • October 2013

Good in parts

We stayed for a wedding that was in the hotel which was lovely, we were pleasantly surprised our rooms were available when we arrived at 11.30 (wedding was at 12.30) The wedding breakfast was very good but buffet breakfast the next day was awful.

The food was dried up and unappealing we had to ask for our tea and coffee butter sauces etc nothing was offered.Perhaps there were not enough staff for the numbers staying . Our room was tired, the furniture was falling apart but it was clean.

  • R Harlow

  • September 2013

Having read rather a lot of negative reviews we were very pleased to find that we had a wonderful room that was huge, clean and had 2 balconies looking over the gardens, even though we booked very late.

The reception staff went out of their way to accommodate my requests. The spa was magnificent including delicious fresh fruit bowl to nibble on. The restaurant food was delicious, the wine menu short but excellent and the service was relaxed, friendly and very efficient. Thankyou for a lovely stay.