No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan at Streatley

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
High Street,Streatley , Streatley on Thames, RG8 9HR
On the banks of the river Thames, in a picturesque Berkshire village, The Swan at Streatley has been welcoming guests since the 1700’s. With 39 ensuite bedrooms , a modern English restaurant, relaxed riverside bar and terrace, as well as the Boat House Deli & Café, The Swan is a place to stay, eat great food, socialise and enjoy the river and countryside. Our gym with mineral pool, sauna, jacuzzi and treatment rooms is popular with both guests and local residents. The Hotel offers extensive conference and banqueting facilities and is a wonderful location for weddings in Berkshire and Oxfordshire.
Picture of The Swan at Streatley, Streatley on Thames at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan at Streatley
Excellent, especially the service.

Reviewed by
david c

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.

Reviewed by
D Wood

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business in January
The hotel has been taken over in the past year and there is a note in the room to say that refurbishments are planned. This is a comfortable hotel but it is dated and tired in its décor so new paint etc will help. Plumbing is very old fashioned. Staff are very friendly and courteous. The food is excellent and well priced.
My room was at the end of a long corridor on the first floor. It didn't seem that the hotel was very full so to have put me nearer the entrance would have been helpful; these small things can mean a lot. The very thick curtains stop the heating being effective at night. When the refurbishment happens, this would be a sensible consideration.

Reviewed by
kathy m

From Templecombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful Staff- Nice Hotel
This was a new years / birthday treat. There was a bit of a mix up with the dinner booking so we were quickly offered a discount. The staff were really helpful in sorting that out. Room was lovely with a little patio. Unfortunately overlooking the car park but as we booked later I understand all the rooms overlooking the river were taken. Spa was nice an relaxing, although the 'pool' is really for dipping and not swimming as its so small. Staff were extremely helpful although perhaps a little over-stretched at breakfast on New Years Day. Overall a pleasent experience.

Reviewed by
paul m

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Swan Hotel
The Swan is a very nice hotel in an idyllic location, right next to the Thames. The owners appear to be currently spending a lot of money on improving the hotel and its amenities, which seems to be well spent.

Reviewed by
Jon Fitzmaurice

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good in parts
We stayed for a wedding that was in the hotel which was lovely, we were pleasantly surprised our rooms were available when we arrived at 11.30 (wedding was at 12.30) The wedding breakfast was very good but buffet breakfast the next day was awful. The food was dried up and unappealing we had to ask for our tea and coffee butter sauces etc nothing was offered.Perhaps there were not enough staff for the numbers staying . Our room was tired, the furniture was falling apart but it was clean.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having read rather a lot of negative reviews we were very pleased to find that we had a wonderful room that was huge, clean and had 2 balconies looking over the gardens, even though we booked very late. The reception staff went out of their way to accommodate my requests. The spa was magnificent including delicious fresh fruit bowl to nibble on. The restaurant food was delicious, the wine menu short but excellent and the service was relaxed, friendly and very efficient. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
R Harlow

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bone to pick - pretty unusual at The Swan!
Stayed here many times and it really is the nicest hotel in the loveliest spot. On this ocassion, I was in one of the single rooms (nothing wrong with them - they are spotlessly clean and comfortable, they just never seem as nicely decorated or as comfortable as the doubles) and, as ever, front of house staff were faultlessly polite, bar and restaurant staff attentive and helpful, except for breakfast, which turned out to be a bit of a shambles. I had to wait a full 5 minutes until anyone appeared at the lectern to seat me and was then told I could sit anywhere. I had already tried to find myself a table but all the empty tables were covered in dirty crockery. I was then found a table but, whilst I was waiting for the waiter to get some bowls and milk for the cereal table, a wonderfully ignorant American couple took my table, despite the presence of my newspaper, glasses, room key and jacket. It even went downhill from there but I haven't got all day to write. I have never had this kind of experience at The Swan before and I imagine it was down to the fact that only two members of staff seemed to be on duty throughout. I will still be staying there in future however!

Reviewed by
Mike Lewis

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional stay!
The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was very well equipped and the bed was comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The care taken in making my best friends wedding memorable was out of this world. A truly stunning venue indeed :)

Reviewed by
Maxine G

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Creaky gem
The old place does creak, every corridor. But, hey - it's been around a few centuries.
One of the best locations for any hotel and still has that something. Breakfast service needs tightening up but overall, worth every penny.

Reviewed by
David Melville

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next