No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lamb Inn

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Sheep Street , Burford, OX18 4LR

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "This informal, relaxed yet eclectic traditional inn bursting with character - don't miss the flower packed secret garden"

Winners of the CONDÉ NAST JOHANSENS 'Most Excellent Inn' 2009 & 2012
The Lamb Inn, Burford, is everyone's dream of what an ancient English Inn should be - complete with all modern comforts! Excellent service and award winning food blend to create a memorable stay. The Lamb dates back to the 15th Century, with its flag stone floors, gleaming copper, brass and silver reflecting the flicker of log fires and stunning antiques, it is like stepping back in time. Outside there is a stunning courtyard and walled garden, ideal for dining alfresco in the warmer months or to simply relax and unwind. An idyllic residence.
Picture of Lamb Inn, Burford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to find any fault with any aspect of the stay. Will definitely stay again.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The teddy on the bed was unnecessary and rather irritating!

Reviewed by
D Summers

From Bedale, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend
Just enjoyed a lovely weekend at TheLamb ,the one most thing were the staff excellent service ,suggested places to visit, nothing was too much trouble,for a three star thought the prices were a little high,food was to a high standard and good selection of wines.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall impressions
The hotel is situated in a quiet location of the main High Street. There is no real reception just the end of the bar converted into a "reception" area. Our superior room was pleasant with a large bed but the bathroom needed attention. The toilet seat was loose/broken and the toilet roll holder loose on the wall. These details should have been fixed before our stay and had been like this for some time. We reported this on leaving in Sunday.
The breakfast was of high standard, well cooked and plenty of food available to suit all tastes. On Saturday evening we requested, albeit late, a table in the main restaurant. However due to large parties from outside we had to wait until 8.30 for a table. This seems to fairly normal on Saturday evenings as the restaurant gets busy and in house guests need to be aware.
I specifically the manager asked and emphasised, for a rare fillet steak. As is often the case in England it turned out to be cooked medium. At no time did the manager, who passed our table often, asked if the steak was to my liking. Moreover the chef seems to be more interested in presentation a la noveau cuisine, with small, but nicely presented dishes rather than a degree of quantity as well as quality. All very pretty but if you are feeling hungry, beware, you may be disappointed!
Whilst the overall impression of the hotel was good, being in a lovely village with nice surroundings I would have expected a little more attention to detail for a price of £210 pppn .(NB: there is no car park on site having to share with a sister hotel down the road, or use on street parking) So if you are feeling in need some good helpings at the end of the day choose a local restaurant! elsewhere.

Reviewed by
R Sellar

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in the Cotswolds--The Prettys
The staff were excellent,really helpful,pleasant and professional. We had a superior room which was small we had to walk around our luggage. The room was directly above the front door and the lounge bar/check-in area and at night it was very noisy. The breakfast was very good,the dinner not so. We had spent the two previous nights at the Lamb's sister hotel The Bay Tree which was more roomy,lower cost for a bigger room and the food was better.

Reviewed by
A Pretty

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy feel, good lounge areas but not the best reading lights, warm and welcoming.
Excellent choice between restaurant and bar meals; the latter had good choices and were very reasonably priced. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
David F

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

third stay at the Lamb and a lovely stay as usual..
The rooms at the Lamb are beautifully kept..this is our third stay and we will be back again

Reviewed by
heather head

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Xmas break
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay between Xmas and New Year. We have stopped here many times and The Lamb Inn always makes us very welcome.All the staff are very friendly and helpful.The atmosphere is just perfect with 3roaring fires in the lounge areas.
The bedroom that we stopped in (The Barn) has been refurbished since we last stopped in it-it has been done with contemporary colours and furnishings(beams painted white etc) but to be honest we preferred it in it's original rich colours and tartan furnishings,more in keeping with the age of the property.Our daughters stopped in Windrush which was a lovely room.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a relaxing Cotswold break-just eating,drinking and reading!

Reviewed by
L Welsh

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.