No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gloucester Place Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
55 Gloucester Place Marble Arch, London, W1U 8JQ
The Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel is a comfortable Georgian bed and breakfast hotel which offers ensuite rooms with private facilities and Discounted Standard rooms with shared facilities. All rooms have free Wireless internet, tea/Coffee & Biscuits. Situated in an ideal location in Marble Arch; close to London’s most famous sites such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Piccadilly Circus, London West End Theatres. It is a perfect venue for business and leisure. The hotel is also located next to the main Airport Bust stop and several underground stations serving all of London’s major destinations, and within easy reach of St Pancras Eurostar station. The Gloucester Place is just across the road from the peaceful garden of Portman Square. The building is a Georgian Town House which was once occupied by members of the French Royal Family who had fled the French Revolution of 1789.
The hotel has recently been fully refurbished and offers a high standard of cleanliness. The hotel is a Georgian listed building, There is no lift. However, staff will be happy to carry your luggage to your room.

The Gloucester Place Hotel is just a short walk from Madame Tussauds, Regents & Hyde Park and the shops of Oxford Street. The Planetarium and Wallace Collection can also be reached on foot.

The hotel is one of the Popular bed and breakfast hotels, offering good value central London accommodation with clean, tidy and cozy rooms in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere with many modern comforts needed to make your stay enjoyable.

Picture of Gloucester Place Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't book basement rooms
In general, this is an ok place to stay, just don't accept a basement room as they are very noisy. I had room one which faced the road and had a shared shower room which was not great. I didn't get hardly any sleep due to the noisy road and rain. You hear everything in this room.

Reviewed by
Vince B

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad.
One of those old converted town houses. No lift. No lounge etc. The stairs get steeper the higher you go so travel light although the recxeptionist did offer to carry my small case. Room was quiet at the back of the hotel. Much larger than I booked and bed was comfortable. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
I Scott

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
The location is ideal, the room comfortable. There was a pair of socks, belonging to someone else between the wardrobe and the wall, day after day it wasn't attended to. Don't bother about breakfast, I tried but the dining room was full, you are forewarned about this, but why do a breakfast for X amount of people, when they can't be accommodated? Also, being on the 3rd floor, there were 60 steps to climb to get to the room! Not for the feint hearted! So, value for money? Not really.

Reviewed by
A Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay. Friendly staff. Just what we were after!

Reviewed by
Adrian F

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but highlights the ridiculousness of London prices
You can't fault the location,and compared to other options the hotel offers a cheap central London stay. However, sadly you get what you pay for.
In my case what I got was a room with a single-glazed window, sloping bed and a bathroom down the corridor. To be fair, the room was large, the bed not uncomfortable, and staff very friendly. However the road noise and the security guard standing literally outside my window chatting on his phone until 2am made it impossible to sleep, even with ear plugs. I left a day early to stay less centrally but to actually get some sleep.

Reviewed by
claire p

From Reading, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for Central London
Heaters on, and the room was too hot. Otherwise a good place to stay, very handy location in central London and fair price (relative to others in the area).

Reviewed by
Tim B

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was comfy enough, being on the street basement level it was a bit noisy. Good tea and coffee facilities in room, good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Clare H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine for what it is, but overpriced.
Whilst I wasn't expecting a cheap hotel on a bank holiday weekend, I was surprised that these two nice townhouses in Gloucester Place lacked proper air conditioning (a portable unit is not the same: too noisy, for a start!), but the room was clean enough and the service friendly enough.
What is unforgivable, however, is the £3 charge for a cooked breakfast. The laterooms.com site says clearly "free buffet breakfast", but don't believe it! For £139 per night (and even that with a discount), I think any extra charge for breakfast items is simply unacceptable.

Reviewed by
V Clements

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel, very high quality, supreme value for money

Reviewed by
Francis U

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money, location, staff
The hotel was good value for money in terms of the location and customer service. Ideally located for the shopping enthusiasts and those who don't want to miss London by travelling on the metro.
Walking distance from Oxford street and Edgware road made it accessible to a wide variety of shopping and eating options.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Our room was facing the main road so it did get a little bit noisy at night due to traffic otherwise the room was comfortable despite being a bit worn out.

Reviewed by
m jeetun

From Cardiff, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next