No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gloucester Place Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
55 Gloucester Place Marble Arch, London, W1U 8JQ
The Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel is a comfortable Georgian bed and breakfast hotel which offers ensuite rooms with private facilities and Discounted Standard rooms with shared facilities. All rooms have free Wireless internet, tea/Coffee & Biscuits. Situated in an ideal location in Marble Arch; close to London’s most famous sites such as Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Piccadilly Circus, London West End Theatres. It is a perfect venue for business and leisure. The hotel is also located next to the main Airport Bust stop and several underground stations serving all of London’s major destinations, and within easy reach of St Pancras Eurostar station. The Gloucester Place is just across the road from the peaceful garden of Portman Square. The building is a Georgian Town House which was once occupied by members of the French Royal Family who had fled the French Revolution of 1789.
The hotel has recently been fully refurbished and offers a high standard of cleanliness. The hotel is a Georgian listed building, There is no lift. However, staff will be happy to carry your luggage to your room.

The Gloucester Place Hotel is just a short walk from Madame Tussauds, Regents & Hyde Park and the shops of Oxford Street. The Planetarium and Wallace Collection can also be reached on foot.

The hotel is one of the Popular bed and breakfast hotels, offering good value central London accommodation with clean, tidy and cozy rooms in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere with many modern comforts needed to make your stay enjoyable.

Picture of Gloucester Place Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price, good location, great room.
Staying here for the night had been a great experience. The room was complete with many luxuries including a seperate bathroom/toilet, a double bed, a single bed, a TV, wardrobe, an office desk and chair, top of the range AC Unit, complimentary beverages (Coffee, Tea, biscuits), mini fridge, chest of drawers for placing items in and was a good location to the Central of London. I highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
G Williams

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb value, quiet hotel
Excellent value for money, well kept hotel and the road it's on is quiet even though it's very central.
Without question, a large sized room. T

Reviewed by
James R

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I actually stayed in a large family room for price of single. The carpets were clean, the room was good. The mattress made me feel like I was sleeping on a slope
The hot water in the shower was not hot enough, the force of cold water was rubbish. shower needs replacing

Reviewed by
N Singh

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid the basement room number 1 at this hotel
It was not made clear that the bathroom was shared and at £120 reduced from allegedly £240 you would not expect to share a bathroom. The bathroom was very small and was used by both the occupants of the room next door plus staff next to the reception / kitchen staff and customers on route to breakfast! The room was a reasonable size but had cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling and we also found a Beatle type insect crawling up the wall! The velvet decorative cushions and bed cover at the foot of the bed are clearly not washed as we found a white stain on one and smelt musky! We booked a double bed which turned out to be two singles pushed together and very uncomfortable. This couples with the road noise from a busy street and worse the water system and noise from above we didn't sleep well at all. Breakfast was a struggle as the room was very small for the number of guests and was hard to access squeezing past other guests.
I complained to the man at reception when he asked how out stay was but when I highlighted the above he merely said the noise is because next to the road and it was raining last night! We would definitely not recommend or stay at this hotel again and is certainly not worth the money.

Reviewed by
Justin I

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Had a one night stay at this hotel, the accommodation was old, but reasonably clean; the location is quite good as you only have a 10 minute walk to Baker Street tube and Regent Park is just another 5 minutes away. The down side was the amount of traffic noise, if your not used to this it could be a problem.

Reviewed by
Albert H

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed: high quality, clean, friendly and great value for money...willl be staying again!
Stayed for one night with a group of 4 women aged 23-34 after a night out and I have to say we were all incredibly impressed by the quality of the room and value for money. We had number 27 which had so much space along with a balony and bathroom... we all laughed that it was a shame we were only there one night!! The level of service was fantastic, we were shown to our room by a very friendly chap and the fact the Reception was 24hours was also great. Will definitely be staying again for our next London night out!! Only slight downfall was the quality of the breakfast the next morning, it didn't look at all appealing - which was a disappointment after a heavy night out! That said, Baker Street is directly opposite where there is no shortage of food like Pret, McDonalds, Canteen etc...

Reviewed by
Samantha G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room. Small breakfast room. Good food except for croissants.

Reviewed by
H van Harten

From Ermelo, Netherlands
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very large room, too many stairs for the wife...lol
Not a bad price for a room in Central London.

Reviewed by
Andy D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna in the city
The room was massive - two double beds and on single for 1 person?! Also incredibly hot and the noisy aircon unit didn't do much to reduce the temperature. Handy having a refrigerator in the room but again noisy during the night.
As the room was at the very top of the building not much water pressure in the shower.
A light bulb had blown and not been checked so I had no light when I arrived, also the free internet was non existent which was incredibly annoying as I had skype meetings to be at and couldn't despite asking specifically about the internet.
A useful location and expansive room but it cost me a lot more than the room rate in the business I couldn't do due to lack of internet. When I raised this again the next day I was told that it was free anyway and got a shrug of shoulder that there was nothing they could do about it. Not the greatest customer service, not the worst but much to improve as it could be a fantastic little place.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large room, big bathroom, decent breakfast
Although travelling alone, I was given a family room with 3 beds and a large bathroom with bath and showr over.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Being used to small London hotel rooms there was something almost un-nerving about a high ceilinged room with huge windows!
Although facing onto Gloucester Place the room was quiet enough.
The breakfast was better than many small London hotels, with cereal, toast, eggs.
The reception and breakfast room staff were polite and helpful.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next