Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Playhouse Hotels > Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
18 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh, EH7 5AQ
Located in Edinburgh’s city centre is the Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace with stunning views towards the Firth of Forth. The hotel is part of an impressive terrace of prestigious Georgian townhouses with many of the original features. Edinburgh Airport is 25 minutes by taxi from Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace . A short and enjoyable walk from the hotel leads you to Princes Street and the views of Edinburgh Castle or the Financial and Shopping District of George Street . The historic Royal Mile is also close by. Edinburgh Waverley Train Station is less than one mile away. The Terrace Restaurant offers a comprehensive selection of dishes showcasing locally sourced ingredients with Scottish flair. Enjoy a moment of tranquillity in our private tiered landscaped gardens. The ideal meeting and conference venue with a choice of three suites accommodating up to 100 delegates. The Adam Suite is the perfect setting for private dining or your wedding ceremony. Enjoy complimentary use of the indoor pool, steam room and gym. Stay in touch with free Wi-Fi throughout your stay. Crowne Plaza Edinburgh – Royal Terrace looks forward to welcoming you.
Picture of Crowne Plaza Edinburgh Royal Terrace Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and Great venue
Great location for seeing the best of Edingburgh. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. I would definately stay there again and recommend it to my friends and family

Reviewed by
Karen F

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh stay
Central hotel with a pleasant walk into the centre of Edinburgh.The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The rooms and public areas were very clean, modern and comfortable, a very good few days spent in a beautiful city

Reviewed by
c bennett

From swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation centrally situated room clean and staff very friendly and helpful Room was a bit smaller than we had anticipated swimming pool very good breakfast ok .i

Reviewed by
John C

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look Somewhere Else
We checked in and besides being a basement room, it looked like it was going to be a nice stay. Then as my companion was taking a shower, the tub began to back up and filled with sewer. Maintenance was sent up and after 10 minutes of trying, I went down to the front. I was told that the water to the hotel had been a problem for a few days (why weren't we told!) and also a walk-in customer was quoted a lower price than we received on this site. After argument and attempts to place us in a room with no curtains, we were given a tiny single traveler room (this is not what we paid for). No apologies, no attempts to correct the issue and no breakfast. It was clean and quiet, but very, very small so that two people could barely move around easily. The next morning we had no water and used the carafe to put water in the toilet. The water barely came on in the shower and we managed a quick shower and got out of there! When we departed, we were not offered any adjustment to our room. Later I filed a complaint and LateRooms refunded half the money. Crowne never even acknowledged my issues.

Reviewed by
L Dreed

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Had a great overnight in Edinburgh to celebrate friends birthday. Staff in hotel were very helpful and profetional. Hotel rooms were a great size and very clean. Would stay here again and recommend to friends/family.

Reviewed by
A Paterson

From Airdrie, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel, handy for train station and shops
had a lovely weekend at Edinburgh, Hotel was very nice, clean, tidy, spacious rooms, nicely furnished, simple touches, like bathrobes and extra facilities in room, but it ahead of a basic no frills hotel.

Reviewed by
a gray

From Cockermouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a good location , with friendly staff
Enjoyed my trip , should of brought my swim shorts !

Reviewed by
A HIGGINS

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely view and great food - room disappointing very uneven floors!
Lovely location handy for access to princes st and plenty of nearby bars and restaurants. Reception service was great no queues to get checked in/out.
The flooring in the bedroom and bathroom was very sloped and this was more evident when placing objects on bedside tables - they just rolled off! Bathroom was tiny and had hairs stuck to wall and in shower.
Whilst the pool was great being the only people to use the facilities before breakfast we had such a hassle trying to get into the changing rooms then through the doors the the actual pool, key card access on every door and the cards wouldn't work so had to ask at reception for access, other people we passed coming out of the swimming pool said they had same issue..

Reviewed by
Karin B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and central, good value, friendly staff
All good for a visit to Edinburgh, nice and central but just far away enough from the hustle and bustle if you fancy some quiet.

Reviewed by
Iain L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wish it had been longer stay
Fantastic location near the centre of Edinburgh with stunning view from our room across the sea. An old building but so lovely inside, two lovely big beds in the room and the receptionist assured my children they could jump on it!! :-)). Two happy bunnies who loved the room, the experience and of course the swimming pool. We were only there one night and although it seemed expensive it actually was very very good value for money. Superb service from all staff, very friendly, helpful and courteous with a sumptuous breakfast which kept us going most of the day. If we come to Edinburgh for a longer stay we will definitely try to stay there again.

Reviewed by
s hainsworth

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next