Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel


Front Street, Whickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG

Price From 159.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Christopher L

  • November 2013

My views

The Gibside is quite far from Newcastle City Centre but handy for the A1M.

The rooms were good, free wi-fi and above expectation for the price. The meal I had in the bar was just terrible, almost inedible - terrible and beyond reproach. Hard to believe how you can get scampi and chips soooo wrong.

  • Antony L

  • November 2013

Good standard of accommodation in easy reach of newcastle, will book again and would recommend

  • E Knowles

  • November 2013


  • David Haslett

  • October 2013

The perfect hotel

The staff really were friendly and so helpful.

I would definitely recommend the Gibside to my friends. I will definitely be back to the Gibside again.

  • Theresa B

  • October 2013

A hidden gem

The external appearance of this hotel is poor.

However the servcie was excellent, the room comfortable and the price was great. The staff in the restaurant were courteous and friendly and the food was of a good fact it was the best steak I've had in years.

  • Paul C

  • October 2013

Surprisingly good, last minute booking, would stay there again.

  • Paul N

  • October 2013

Booked as a surprise night away for me and my fiancee.

All staff were very friendly and helpful. We had the best nights sleep in the most comfortable bed we've both ever slept in. Would recommend and can't wait till the next visit

  • David Turner

  • October 2013

Beautiful, warm and friendly Hotel

Had a great stay as part of wedding weekend

Could not fault a single part of the stay

At the Resteraunt downstairs, Paco took good care of us all and made a huge fuss over all of his guests, he took great pride in his Job and made our stay memorable