Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS Gibside Hotel


Front Street, Whickham, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE16 4JG

Price From 156.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Cameron

  • November 2014


Great value for money

  • a hibbert

  • October 2014

nice comfy hotel

Stayed bed and brekkie, comfy bed and lovely fresh brekkie.

  • Eileen Wilson

  • October 2014

Whickham Village Gibside Hotel Gateshead.

I have stayed at this hotel several times.

Had my wedding reception there in 1987 and my silver anniversary there in 2012. Have used hotel for family occasions. Can only recommend this hotel. Very handy for many places of interest. Great views.

  • Vaughan W

  • October 2014

A very good pet friendly hotel

The staff were very helpful and friendly and our dog was well accommodated.

The room was a good size, the beds comfortable, and there were plenty of towels and hot water for the shower or bath. The hotel was just a short walk from the the town centre and local amenities. There weren't many car parks for the hotel itself, but there was very cheap all day parking very close by. The dinner my wife ate in the hotel restaurant could have been better; the prawn cocktail starter was not really a cocktail, just a lot of prawns (too many) and salad on a flat plate, not a glass dish; they needed a proper cocktail sauce. The roast potatoes were small and dry, and the roast lamb didn't taste very nice. These shortcomings might be explained by my wife having eaten shortly before the restaurant closed, so that the food may not have been freshly cooked. However the dessert was really lovely, she said. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it seemed expensive.

  • B Guess

  • September 2014

A very welcoming hotel with excellent staff although the layout is a challenge with lots of stairs

  • Craig D

  • August 2014

Never again

I have often looked at this hotel and thought it sounded good but reality was a shock we paid extra for an upgrade what for I don't know it was a very basic room with a shabby bathroom chocolate coloured paint on the walls made it seem even smaller the restaurant was closed on a Sunday so we ate in the bar.

awful tasteless and greasy unfortunately the bar comes alive at bedtime sand loud music bounced until 12 then people brawling at the back of the hotel until the early hours breakfast was average certainly not worth 12-50 I'm still waiting for the receptionist to ask how was our stay !

  • H Collins

  • July 2014


  • J Smith

  • July 2014

A hidden gem !


  • June 2014

Lovely hotel in nice place

  • M Miah

  • May 2014

Very happy